Skip to content

How to fail at baking and Economics.

Virtual Advent Calendar

It’s days like these that I am so glad I went to therapy back in the day.

Though I am not always perfect at distinguishing between the two,

I am still far ahead from where I used to be

in regards to finding my worth not in what I do but who I am.

Had I not paid thousands of dollars to cry on a couch,

I think yesterday would have broken me.

Let us sing “The 12 Days of Christmas Cookies” song

before I go into my day:

So my final began at 8:00am

but because my professor thought it would be “fun” to:

1). Be late for the first 10 minutes of class.

2). Chat for 15 minutes on top of him being late.

3). Hand us an Exit Exam. You know, a test before a test sort of deal.

Um, excuse me???

I have never in my previous college experience ever had that before.

4). Spend another 30 minutes going over said Exit Exam.

5). Call on me for all of the answers.

Which, of course, I didn’t really know the answers because I was so pissed off at how

he was wasting my time that I couldn’t even focus.

Did he not see the wrist brace???

Drawing and labeling graphs was not an easy task for me with that thing on.

This 71 question + 8 graph test was going to take forever for me.

And now you have wasted an hour and 15 minutes that I could’ve used towards the final??!!

Now I’m angry.

So I know I did poorly on the final.

It just wasn’t pretty.

It’s not a topic that comes naturally to me,

in fact, my entire major (Accounting) is not something that comes naturally to me.

I have spent the past year in an Accounting firm

and I listen to the thought process of each person there and all I think is:

I am so different from these people.

I think abstractly.

They are logical and linear.

I am not going to be a good accountant at all…

So I come home to make another batch of homemade cookies:

A vegetarian’s version of mincemeat.

…And I completely failed in my mission.

These are not only not pretty but they didn’t taste good either.

Please note that the problem was in my execution, not the recipe!!

I thought I’d take a short cut but instead all I got was a major flop.

I’m getting too cocky for my own good.

 

(((Go to Brooke’s blog for the recipe and the real way to make these cookies!

For GF and vegan, sub an all purpose GF flour mix + 1 tsp xanthan gum,

use Earth Balance instead of butter, and use 1 Tb blended tofu as the egg replacer)))

Thank God for quotes like:

I am enough.

I have enough.

I do enough.

If I didn’t believe that, I would be in some serious doo-doo today..

46 Comments Post a comment
  1. Silo #

    Cara, have you had a chance to remake these? Did you do anything different – say, with the flour? PS thanks for your blog and your recipes!

    December 20, 2012
    • I never did, Silo–sorry! 😦

      December 21, 2012
  2. Your Econ professor sucks. Big, hairy.. I think you know where I’m going with this. But you’re going to be a good accountant – don’t let Econ get you down! It’s a tricky subject for most people. Myself included, and it’s my freaking major.

    I heart yoooooooou.

    December 16, 2011
    • You are scrumptulescent. Thank you for the love/encouragement/being the cutest thing ever 🙂

      December 16, 2011
  3. Your biggest fan! #

    According to Wikipedia: “Economics is the social science that analyzes the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services.” As long as I’ve been following your blog (and I knew this to be true BEFORE you ever started blogging!), your comments pages are full of the love from others for your productions of goods for consumption and your absolutely fabulous distribution to the delight of all of your goods and services! Your prof sounds like he’s quite full of himself.
    **You start talking, then go to law school and sue his butt off. **…
    Keep your chin up! He can’t take this away from you.
    I’m glad you’ve got Greg back for awhile.
    XOXOXO

    December 15, 2011
    • This is why you are the world’s greatest mother. You always have the right thing to say at the right time. Wishing you were here. sniffle. sniffle…

      December 15, 2011
      • Your biggest fan! #

        P.S. Dave says an economics prof in the state of CA is an oxymoron! HA!
        Wish I was there, too!

        December 16, 2011
        • Good point, Dave! And hopefully your Christmas gift will make you feel as if I am there with you 🙂 xoxo.

          December 16, 2011
  4. Nina #

    I’m sad to hear you had a crappy exam, crappy time wasting teacher and not-so-good baking experience to top it all off.
    I think the learning of accounting (been there, done that myself) is far tricker than the ‘doing’ of accounting. And, for the record, Economics, in my opinion, is a bi#%h of a subject. I only passed the subject myself because my (then boyfriend) husband taught me the whole subject in 2 weeks!
    Don’t be hard on yourself. Often we think we’ve done worse than we actually did. I know I have pretty high expectations of myself, and frequently do not realise/reach them.
    You are lovely (yes I know I don’t ‘actually’ know you, but I kinda do), you are witty, you are creative and I bet you’ll make a damn fine accountant!

    December 15, 2011
    • Can you move in with me and I can access all of those amazing compliments whenever I need them? hehehe. Thank you SO MUCH for your consistent kindness towards me–wishing you lived over here because then we could go out for coffee. I already know I like you as a person 🙂

      December 15, 2011
      • Nina #

        Oh that’s so sweet of you to say. I was thinking the same thing myself. If I ever make it to the States I will definitely be contacting you before I leave so we CAN have that coffee. Alas kind words are the best I can offer from Australia. If I was closer, I’d give you a hug (and not in a weird, ‘internet stalker’ kind of way – cause I don’t want to be giving off THAT sort of vibe). At least I know you are only a few ‘clicks’ away.

        December 15, 2011
        • It’s a deal! Same goes for me (my boyfriend and I have always talked about Australia being our next destination spot). And I am getting absolutely no weird internet stalker vibes so no worries 🙂 hehe

          December 16, 2011
  5. Big hugs!

    I am sure you will find a way. I am so impressed with all the ways you find when you are cooking, I cannot believe you won’t find anything half that creative concerning economics.

    I don’t want to put a bee in your bonnet, but I just _know_ when you really exercise this you will write the most fantastic, understandable and creative economics textbook ever (of course we won’t be able to allow you to start this project before finishing your very own cookbook…)

    Have fun with Greg!

    December 15, 2011
    • Nooooooooooooo!! No Economics textbooks at all!! That would be a cold day in hell if I ever became an Econ expert. haha. But THANK YOU for the love Cara! And yes, I’m the most happy girl with Greg home 🙂 <–biggest smile ever!!!

      December 15, 2011
      • but your textbook would be AWESOME! You could explain economics with cookies, so even I would buy this book (and I am the kind of person that puts the economics part of the newspaper aside…) and I would love to read it 😉

        nah- really – everything you write turns out funny and perfectly compelling, so in fact economics textbooks would be a waste of talent…

        December 15, 2011
        • You are so so so sweet to me, Cara! Thank you just doesn’t cover it. But really, I think I would die attempting to write an Economics book. I mean, think about it, would YOU wanna do it???

          December 15, 2011
  6. oh noooo.. that was one crap day… i dislike your professor..in fact all those smarty pants professors who think they rule the world.. i once had a professor who gave me a Zero on some test, coz he has seen me the day before, hanging out with my bf.. he was old school so he was like.. u got time to frolic around right b4 your exam.. means u dint study,.. so i dint bother going thru your paper.. ha!.. i went to his office..demanded to see my paper.. made him go thru it.. and got almost all answers correct.. 😛 back at him…(for some context.. in india, you cannot be seen even chatting alone with a guy in undergrad, without creating a big bruhaha)

    and yay that greg came back.. hope today is super fun! take care!

    December 15, 2011
    • Are you kidding me??? That isn’t even legal, is it? Good for you for sticking it to him–that will show him not to be a jerk like that in future! I cannot even believe that he tried to pull that on you. That would not fly here in the States–he would have been sued. haha xoxo

      December 15, 2011
      • its not necessarily legal but not that a big deal. its a cultural thing. luckily he dint know my parents… else he would call them up and out on me in the choicest words like.. your girl is out of your hands.. she keeps going out with a useless chap on his stupid bike. and doesnt study and blah .. hehehe..

        December 16, 2011
        • Here in the States it would be a *big* deal! 🙂

          December 16, 2011
  7. Brooke #

    Love you friend. 🙂

    December 15, 2011
    • Love you too and thank you for the chat the other night! xoxo

      December 15, 2011
  8. Laurel #

    Don’t be silly. Of course, you are enough! You’re wonderful. Why do you think we keep coming back? Your professor now, needs to be reported to admin and you probably have enough of a complaint what with his behavior and your wrist brace to DEMAND a re-test. In the old days there were set amounts of time for finals. You not didn’t get your allotment, you have a disability. Americans With Disabilities Act. Go use some of that misdirected anger in the correct place. With the head of the Accounting Department.
    I don’t know how those cookies taste but they look like cookies to me and if you’re worried about the original version as in mincemeat pie? They had actual minced meat. Yours didn’t. I call that success!

    December 15, 2011
    • You are always so witty and clever, Laurel. Your comments always make me smile and laugh 🙂

      December 15, 2011
  9. Awwww… I’m sorry I caused you undue stress and emotional damage! You’re good enough. You’re smart enough. Doggonit! People like you! (Especially me!) You are beyond awesome for even trying to convert ONE of these cookies much less 12. And as far as the the econ final, I really hope you did better than you think you did! How exactly is an exit exam different from a final? They sound like they should be the same thing… But then, I was an English major with an art minor. Let’s talk about non-linear thinking, shall we? Squirrel!

    December 15, 2011
    • Oh stop, you didn’t cause any of it–it was just one of those days, you know? Whatever though, I have my beau back by my side so I’m the happiest girl 🙂

      December 15, 2011
      • Yay! 🙂 But really, what’s the difference between an exit exam and a final?

        December 15, 2011
        • Apparently, an exit exam is 10 questions (and you have to write whether the question was easy, moderate or difficult) and then a review of the answers follows. The final was 71 questions plus drawing graphs and no review. Lame AND Lame. haha

          December 15, 2011
          • What the heck is the point of the exit exam?! This seems all kindsa stupid…

            December 15, 2011
            • Girl, you could not have put it more eloquently 🙂

              December 15, 2011
  10. Aww man! How ridiculous is your professor?!? That is completely unheard of! I’d be completely thrown off my game too…especially when you’re ready to go and already anxious.
    Amen, thank the Lord you find your worth in you and that you’ve learned tests and failed cookies do not ultimately matter…though a couple failed recipes are just part of the GF and vegan baking journey, which always makes me really appreciate the successes!!!
    On a super positive note– YAY YAY YAY that Greg is finally home!!!!! Just what the doctor ordered! Xoxo

    December 15, 2011
    • I think the worst catastrophe could have occurred and I’d *still* be happy because Gregory is home 🙂 Aaaaaahhh, 2 weeks of bliss until he leaves again…

      December 15, 2011
  11. Your value comes from the fact that you are you!! It is frustrating but I hope today is a better day!! ❤

    December 15, 2011
    • Amen to that, sister! Thank you for the reminder. xo

      December 15, 2011
  12. Aw. Big hugs. What a nightmare of an exam… I would cry if a professor did that to us. I am someone who likes to get there, get it done, and get out before all of the facts fall out of my head. (Who *doesn’t* feel that way?! On the upside… maybe there will be a curve.)

    And I hear you on feeling like you are just so bizarre alongside your co-workers. Doesn’t mean you’ll be a bad accountant or that there’s not a spot for you out there somewhere. My pollyana side says it’s important to bring different viewpoints to ALL fields…

    You’re a good (vegan tofu) egg, and one bad exam/one bad batch of cookies doesn’t change that.

    December 15, 2011
    • YES! Me too! That is why I was so angry–it was all freshly in my head; don’t confuse me by adding more and then calling on me for answers. Ugh-uh. That was infuriating!! And NO curve, can you believe it????!!!
      Thank you for the encouragement, Nikki!! xo

      December 15, 2011
  13. oh no, cara! that sounds like an awful way to start your day. i swear, professors love to torture their students sometimes. i always hated those exit exams, too.

    that stinks about mince meat cookies. i never had mince meat before OR after being a vegan. should i give them a shot?

    and, ps- that is SO interesting that you are an accounting major! is it something you enjoy?? accountants tend to be a bit stuffy, are self righteous, and have dry senses of humor(i used to work at a cpa’s office). you’re not like that AT ALL!

    December 15, 2011
    • I have 2 previous degrees and I have never had an exit exam before! Ridiculous.
      Is accounting something that I enjoy? Hmmmm, I have loved the challenge of it and when I understand it, I enjoy the satisfaction of understanding it. I wanted a career that was “stable” and since my dad and brother are both CPAs, I thought I could do it. My dad even said he always thought I’d make a good CPA–which I think I would too if I worked real hard at it… At least I have some time to strike it rich with the lottery before I have to buckle down 🙂 haha

      December 15, 2011
      • what are your other two degrees in?

        December 15, 2011
        • My bachelors is Christian Education (I was a Youth Pastor waaaaaaaaaayyyyy back in the day) and my masters is a mix of Psychology, Philosophy, and Theology–it is called “Spiritual Formation” which I am certified Spiritual Director (ie: counselor of some sort). Kinda makes no sense about the Accounting, now does it??? haha

          December 15, 2011
  14. I’m so sorry you had a crap day. 😦 Here’s to hoping today is much better!

    December 15, 2011
    • Thank you, Jacqui! Despite the terribleness of yesterday, it was a great day because Greg *finally* came home from being gone for 2 months!!! That made me very, very happy 🙂

      December 15, 2011
      • yay! I’m so glad your day turned around.. and in an awesome way!

        December 15, 2011
        • Good grief, me too! 🙂 That would have been bad if I didn’t have some glimmer of hope… haha
          Thanks for the love, Jacqui. I appreciate it so much.

          December 15, 2011
  15. Accounting needs a non-linear thinker too! (actually probably more than they are aware of…)
    Thank you for being you and reminding me that it is these hard days that serve to make us strong. Without the flops the good wouldn’t be so delicious right?
    xoxo

    December 15, 2011
    • I definitely agree that accounting needs different types of thinkers, you are so right Reid! There are times, however, when you have to ask yourself, Is it even something that fits me? And when I am around other accountants I start to feel like “Which one of these is not the same?” 🙂

      December 15, 2011

Leave a comment