Skip to content

Gluten-free Thanksgiving Stuffing

I am trying my best to come up with something interesting to say but the truth of the matter is…

I AM SICK! I have a birthday to be healthy for and then I have a special trip this weekend with a certain someone that I count and thank my lucky stars every day for. I must get better–I MUST! (A big thank you to all of you on Facebook who have given me some great tips on feeling better–you guys are awesome!)

So while I am coughing my brains out, please enjoy the pictures of this lovely gluten-free and vegan Thanksgiving stuffing. Now if you’ll excuse me, I have a date with a late morning nap.

Gluten-Free Thanksgiving Stuffing

Gluten, egg, and dairy-free

Serves 4

INGREDIENTS:

  • 6-8 pieces gluten-free bread (use more if your loaf has small slices like GF bread often does), broken into bite-sized cubes
  • 5 celery pieces, thinly sliced
  • 1 large onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 Tb margarine
  • 1/2 c. dried cranberries (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat over to 325 degrees.
  2. In a rectangular bake pan, place bread, herbs, and salt together.
  3. Sautee onions and garlic with margarine for 1-2 minutes. Add celery and cook until translucent.
  4. Pour onion mixture into the pan with the herbed bread and mix well. Stir in half the chicken broth and cover with tin foil.
  5. Bake covered for 20 minutes.
  6. Take foil off the top, stir and bake another 15 minutes. **If using the dried cranberries, add before stirring.
  7. If the stuffing is too dry for your liking, add more veggie broth for the 1/4 c full.

14 Comments Post a comment
  1. What brand of gluten free bread do you use my dear? I’ve tried my hand at baking my own and it turned out like a brick. All the brands I saw at the store had egg. 😦

    November 20, 2012
    • There is a gluten and dairy free bakery around where I live that happens to have some egg free options as well. That is where I get mine. Not helpful for you, I know… sorry friend 😦

      November 21, 2012
    • Kristyn #

      Ener-G makes a few gluten free, dairy free, egg free options: a tapioca loaf, or white and brown rice loaves. I find them at Whole Foods. Hope that helps!

      November 21, 2012
      • This GREATLY helps, Kristyn! Thank you for the heads up. I had no idea that Ener-G had egg-free options…

        November 24, 2012
  2. Feel better!

    November 15, 2012
  3. Oh no! Feel better soon- I’m sending you healing vibes!!

    This looks delicious by the way- so simple but I bet the flavours are amazing!

    November 14, 2012
  4. Feel better soon sweetie! *curative hugs* 🙂

    And thanks for this awesome recipe! I’m going to pass it on to my friend who is gluten intolerant. She’ll be so happy to have stuffing again!

    November 14, 2012
  5. Herbivore Triathlete #

    Ooh, I love stuffing! Quick question though, looks like fresh cranberries in your pictures and the recipes says dried?

    Feel better quick, I swear by Coldeeze and hot tea.

    November 14, 2012
  6. I hope you get well soon! We are also fighting sickness at my house.

    November 14, 2012
  7. A beautiful post, a wonderful stuffing! Happy happy healthy birthday!

    November 14, 2012
  8. This looks lovely! Feel better soon, Cara!

    November 14, 2012
  9. This looks beautiful! I am not surprised… you made it! Get well soon xxx

    November 14, 2012
  10. mmm…stuffing. Feel better sweets ❤

    November 14, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A Gluten Free Thanksgiving | Pure Herbalist

Leave a comment