Skip to content

Raw White Chocolate

The pumpkin is carved, my costume is ironed, and the candy is ready for passing out to kids…

…And now the tastiest raw white chocolate recipe has just been created.  Finally!  I am ready for Halloween.

These Raw White Chocolate Bones give a whole new meaning to having a freezer full of bones. What? Is it just me who has actually been able to use this expression?

Raw White Chocolate Recipe

{Raw Vegan} Gluten, egg, and dairy-free

Makes 1/2 cup of melted white chocolate

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 c. melted raw cacao butter
  • 1/4 c. cashews, soaked for an hour
  • 4 Tb agave
  • 2 tsp water
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
DIRECTIONS:
  1. In a high-speed blender, mix the cashews, agave, water and vanilla until completely smooth.
  2. Add the melted cacao butter and pulse until combined.

To make Raw White Chocolate Bones:

Makes 20 Bones

  1. Use half of the Fudgy Brownie Recipe for the bones.
  2. Shape with your hands into 3″ bones.
  3. Place in freezer for 5-10 minutes to allow to set.
  4. Coat with melted white chocolate recipe.
  5. Freeze.
  6. Coat again to fully cover bones.
  7. Freeze again for 5-10 minutes.

Or try using the white chocolate coating to make Banana Ghosts.

What are you going to be for Halloween?

33 Comments Post a comment
  1. Caroline #

    Hi Cara just converted your recipe for using in the Thermomix… About to post photos etc on my fb page https://www.facebook.com/ThermoBlitz
    However ! Mine has not come out as white as yours ? I did use Maple syrup as there is a lot of discussion about the use of Agave…(so I don’t have any) but I have read a few raw white choc recipes and they use maple syrup also….
    How did you get yours so white !
    Yours is the only one Ive seen so white 🙂

    November 16, 2012
    • Hi Caroline! I want to so borrow your Thermomix–I’m jealous 🙂 Honestly, I didn’t do anything differently than what the recipe says I did. I think what made it so white could be the fact the agave I used is more light in color? That is the only thing I can think of. Plus, I did 2 coatings of chocolate and maybe that had something to do with it? I wish I had a clearer answer but that is all I gots 🙂 xoxox!

      November 16, 2012
      • Caroline #

        Hi Cara, they are just the best .. If you check out my page on fb that I posted above I have now posted photos of the completed chocolate.
        However.. is raw white chocolate softer than raw dark chocolate (or chocolate in general ?)
        When you used 1/2 cup of melted cacao was that half a cup of cacao and then melted or an amount of cacao and then that equalled half a cup ?
        lol if you get what I mean
        I used 90g of hard cacao which was a smidge under half a cup but pretty much near it

        November 16, 2012
  2. A.Bee #

    Does this white chocolate coating dry hard? I’d like to make peppermint bark this year and am looking for vegan white chocolate recipes that will harden (and stay that way at room temp).
    Thanks!

    November 14, 2012
    • You know, it gets a little melty still. I am trying to figure it out myself and find something that you can make into bark as well. To be continued…

      November 15, 2012
  3. Adeline #

    Hello!

    Came across your recipe while looking for ways to make vegan white chocolate. Loved your recipe but I was just wondering how long this would keep since its got cashews in there. Also, I was wondering if the white chocolate would be safe for dogs (cos I’ve got 2 in the house and we occasionally treat them to whatever we’re having)?

    November 5, 2012
    • Hi Adeline!
      Not sure about the safe for dogs question. My gut answer is no since it’s made with cacao butter (which is the oil of cacao) and I’m thinking maybe that is still bad for dogs? Or is chocolate harmful to dogs for a different reason than just due to the cacao? No clue though so don’t trust my opinion 🙂 ha. Let me know what you find out! I’m curious now… xo

      November 6, 2012
  4. me want white chocolate bones… tons of them! way to end mofo!!

    November 1, 2012
  5. I love this idea! Those bones are so dang cute, er, I mean, um, scary. I will definitely be trying this white chocolate recipe!

    October 31, 2012
  6. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways…. One boney woney, two boney woney… 🙂

    October 31, 2012
  7. this white chocolate looks delicious, lady.

    October 31, 2012
  8. For Halloween, I’m going to be the one sitting on the couch watching The Great Pumpkin while scarfing down a bowl of popcorn with hot sauce. If I were closer to you, I’d be the one sneaking your white chocolate. yum yum yum.

    October 30, 2012
  9. Mrsmurry #

    That looks really good! I have to try that.

    October 30, 2012
  10. This looks wonderful! I can imagine many uses for it this winter. 🙂

    October 30, 2012
  11. Laura #

    I wonder if this would work with coconut oil instead of cacao butter… seems a bit cheaper to me…
    That would be worth a try!

    October 30, 2012
    • It might Laura, however, the cacao is what gives it that rich chocolate-y flavor that you will miss out on if you use just coconut oil. Give it a try and let me know your findings! xo

      October 31, 2012
  12. I really need some cacao butter. I have yet to play with it.
    Costume…haven’t dressed up since third grade. Goes with my dislike for your favorite holiday 😉

    October 30, 2012
  13. Rik #

    Stop unsubscribe stop sending!!!!!

    October 30, 2012
    • Hi Rik. You can actually unsubscribe with the emails you receive. On the bottom there should be a place where it says “Unsubscribe.” Unfortunately I cannot control this.

      October 30, 2012
  14. Yay! This looks yumazing. I’m thinking of all sorts of uses for this!!!! Thanks.

    October 30, 2012
  15. I remember trying to create a healthier white chocolate with cocoa butter…but I learned the hard way white chocolate is a confection not to be recreated with cocoa butter (which is a very rich dark chocolate taste.This recipe looks good in its own right, I am eager to try with the raw cashews, super creative!

    October 30, 2012
  16. This is so cool! I’m always looking for interesting vegan recipes that ingredients that are easy to find. I can’t believe that it’s primarily cashews and cacao butter that make this consistency.

    October 30, 2012
    • Crazy huh? This is why I am just so loving raw desserts. Not only do they taste so freaking amazing but it’s so simple to make and easy to find. Hope you like it!

      October 30, 2012
  17. I have never liked white chocolate, but yours looks delicious with cashews. I can see really liking this coating. It isn’t made with chemicals and crap like most white chocolate. Your bones look delish!

    October 30, 2012
  18. Love it! they are so cute….the banana picture though…ahh thy mind is always in the gutter! 😛

    October 30, 2012
    • Well, you and I are of same mind, however I was thinking about that for the bones…haha!

      October 30, 2012
    • Lou #

      Hehehe, my mind is always in the gutter. Then all this talk of bones. They do look delicious though, but now I say that, my mind is straight back in the dirty old gutter. Ha.

      October 31, 2012
  19. Delta #

    you already know I LOVE your white choc recipe! thank you again!!! I love these bones too, gonna have to try them soon!!

    October 30, 2012
    • I should name this white chocolate after you since you were my inspiration for getting my butt in gear! 🙂 xo

      October 30, 2012
      • Delta #

        lol no ma’am, I still bow to you! my versions were horrible, yours were awesome. I take no credit what so ever! 🙂 btw, my kids love them, I’ll let you know how the school kids feel about them tomorrow.

        October 30, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. White Chocolate Pumpkin Gingersnap Truffles - Keepin' It Kind Keepin' It Kind
  2. Ein kleiner Gruß aus der Küche… « foodsandeverything
  3. foodsandeverything

Leave a comment