Skip to content

Raw Whipped Cream

What happens when you combine super hot weather with a place that is null and void of air conditioning? You get one sweaty beast, that’s what. And by beast, I mean me. I’m melting, friends.

It’s the kind of hot where, while sitting on a chair, you are nervously afraid to stand up in fear of seeing the sweat stains you leave behind…and who sees it. Don’t act like you don’t know what I’m talking about. When you can feel those sweat beads drip down your kneepits and you wonder how in the world does your stomach collect so much water. Ugh, this heat makes me crabby.

Thank goodness for eating your way out of a bad mood though. And believe me, this raw macadamia nut whip cream is just the thing to cool you down and perk you right back up. Chop up some fruit, drizzle it with coconut, and chopped almonds and dip your heart away with this non-dairy whip cream. You will forget that your armpits are wet like a swamp.

Macadamia Nut Whip Cream Recipe

Gluten, egg, dairy, and refined sugar-free

INGREDIENTS

  • 3/4 c. macadamia nuts, soaked in 1/2 c. water for 30 minutes
  • 2 Tb agave nectar
  • splash of vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS

  1. Place all the ingredients (water included) into a blender and mix for a good 5 minutes until whipped and smooth.
  2. Serve with fruit.

 

74 Comments Post a comment
  1. Will this last in the fridge?

    November 21, 2012
    • Yes!! I can only say it will last up to 3-5 days (not sure if I ever allowed it to sit in my fridge longer than that because I usually devour it upon making…) 🙂

      November 21, 2012
  2. Yum. Ok – the worst is the sweat that runs down between your breasts and tickles, but you can’t wipe it away because, well, then you’d either be sticking your hand down your shirt or creating a big wet streak on your shirt right between your boobs. Hate that. 🙂

    August 28, 2012
    • Ohmygosh, this made me laugh so hard Deanna!!!! You are too funny…wishing you a boob sweat-free day 🙂

      August 29, 2012
  3. Oh this is gooooodddd….. and so pretty with your photos!
    Thanks for ‘bringing’ it to the Potluck ;D
    xoxoxo

    July 27, 2012
    • I was so happy that I had it on hand to bring! xo

      July 29, 2012
  4. I HAVE to try this, it looks so so SO amazing Cara….and I bet those swampy armpits smell pretty fabulous 🙂

    July 26, 2012
    • Can I just say how OBSESSED I am with this recipe??? So yes, yes you HAVE to try it soon!! xo

      July 27, 2012
  5. Haha – anything to help me forget how damp my underarms are!! I’ve seen a lot of vegan whipped cream made from coconut, but never from macadamia nuts… it looks perfect! So light and smooth. Will definitely have to give this a try. 🙂

    July 25, 2012
    • Yeah, I am not a big fan of the coconut whip cream so this is perfect for me 🙂

      July 27, 2012
  6. This looks so deliciously light and refreshing! I didn’t think there was anything that could make summer berries better, but clearly I’ve been proven wrong!

    July 22, 2012
    • I think ice cream could also improve summer berries, right? And chocolate. And more macadamia whip cream 🙂

      July 22, 2012
      • Those are all excellent points. This is going to take some ice cream/whipped cream/chocolate trial and error to really know for sure.

        July 22, 2012
        • Okay, I will have to experiment, take extensive data, and come up with a hypothesis. I will let you know 🙂

          July 22, 2012
  7. Look at you, you little raw foodie! I’ve got a bag of cashew whip in my fridge, and I’ve been putting it on E V E R Y T H I N G. Also, your package is packaged up. But now I have to motivate myself to walk a mile in the heat to the post office. OYYYY! Eff the heat.

    July 22, 2012
    • I’m learning from the best 🙂

      July 22, 2012
  8. Cara, you are just so amazing! Your supply of creativity is endless!

    I’m thinking this would be great on the waffles you made this week (when it cools down). 🙂

    July 21, 2012
    • YOU JUST SAID THE MAGIC WORD!!

      Waafffffffllllleeeeesssss 🙂

      July 22, 2012
  9. My mind has kicked into overdrive thinking about what I could put this on, or with. Which is silly, because I know deep down I would probably just eat it straight up, off a spoon 🙂 Gorgeous!

    July 20, 2012
    • I say gather up all of the foods that it could pair well with and just take a spoon and dig in 🙂

      July 22, 2012
  10. Ew I KNOW – I’m such a sweaty beast too (I actually have hyperhydrosia which means my palms/soles of my feet literally DRIP in hot weather…. I leave some wicked puddles 😉 ) Yip, it’s super embarrassing! Ha. At least I can laugh.

    YUM macadamia JOY JOY…. this sounds amazing, Cara, love the richness of macadamias (except when you eat them whole, they kind of “squeak” against your teeth, or am I the only one that thinks this!?)

    July 20, 2012
    • I have hyperhydrosia in my armpits so we are twins 🙂 haha

      July 22, 2012
  11. its still in low 70s here :D.. well it will get hot soon and i will start cribbing. till then i am eating a load of ice creams and maybe will make this whipped cream to top my latte smoothies!

    July 20, 2012
    • Latte smoothies??? Um YES PLEASE!! I will get on the next plane up there to enjoy the cool 70s and bring the macadamia whip cream…

      July 22, 2012
  12. Gorgeous! I’m so trying this soon. YUM! Sorry you don’t have air conditioning. I think I would die with these non-stop triple digits. You are super woman.

    July 20, 2012
    • Let me know what you think when you try it, love! xo

      July 22, 2012
  13. Rachel #

    oh man, i was so jealous when i started reading this and then i remembered that i ate it! bahahaha another delish dessert for this biatch to stick her fingers in. thanks 🙂

    July 20, 2012
    • You better not be sticking your freaking fingers in this behind my back!! I will cut you…

      July 20, 2012
  14. I never use macadamia nuts because they are so pricy but daaaaamn I want to make this so bad! Next time I have a need to make a special dessert, you can bet I am making this!

    Don’t melt Cara! I’d miss you too much 🙂

    July 20, 2012
    • I think a bag of macadamia nuts will make enough whip cream for the rest of the summer. Sounds like it’s worth the price to me 🙂

      Sticking myself in the freezer so I don’t melt!

      July 22, 2012
  15. Heather @ Better With Veggies #

    This looks like a great alternative to coconut milk, I’m guessing it has a much better nutritional profile!

    July 20, 2012
    • I’m not a big fan of the coconut milk method so I needed something different 🙂 Plus, it tastes so creamy with the macadamia nuts. So good…

      July 20, 2012
  16. Laurel #

    Ooh, I just came across a recipe for fresh fig ice cream. I knew you’d been showcasing your ability to buy fresh figs for a reason.

    July 20, 2012
    • WHAT??? Where is it? I need it Laurel! I NEED IT!!!

      July 20, 2012
      • Rachel #

        Another reason we (read: you) need an ice cream maker!

        July 20, 2012
        • HAHA!! Thank you for the subtle translation 🙂 We DO need an ice cream maker!

          July 22, 2012
  17. Somer #

    Dude, swampy armpits and knee pits are definitely made better by that delicious shiz! Tell me, when you blend it for 5 minutes, does the whip warm up and then have to be refrigerated? My blender would turn a smoothie into hot soup if I blended anything for that long.

    July 20, 2012
    • Mine wasn’t too bad in terms of warm but you can definitely cool it off in the fridge. In fact, you could join the whip cream in there as well…that might help with the swamp pits 🙂

      July 20, 2012
      • Somer #

        Great idea. I used to work in a bakery that had a huge freezer. Worshipped it in the summer time….

        July 21, 2012
        • Is the freezer available??? Me thinks I need to sleep in it…

          July 22, 2012
          • Somer #

            It’s now a Subway restaurant, but maybe if you bring them some gluten free bread for the masses, they will let us have a sleepover in there!

            July 23, 2012
  18. oh my gosh Cara, that sounds just divine!! I could probably eat a whole bowl! haha hope you have a great weekend!

    July 20, 2012
    • I wouldn’t tell anyone if you did 😉 Hope you have a beautiful weekend also, Caralyn!

      July 20, 2012
  19. So wait, you eat it, right? You don’t smear it under your arms or anything? Because I have a feeling I’m going to want to bathe in this…

    July 20, 2012
    • I’m sorry, I cannot hear you. Do you know how difficult it is to read comments when you are in a tub full of raw whip cream??? Oops, I just swallowed some…mmmmm!

      July 20, 2012
      • Holy cow, Mama this is awesome! Unfortunately it’s not warm enough here to warrant armpit slathering, but that just leaves more for my facial…

        July 28, 2012
        • Yay! I’m so happy that you like it!! Woo hoo 🙂

          July 29, 2012
  20. It’s been in the 90s and close to 100 basically for three weeks here in Michigan. It’s ridiculous. I’m also crabby. Maybe this whipped cream will help…feed your feelings!

    July 20, 2012
    • Yes but do you have air conditioning? Because if so, you are already 10 times better off than your Fork friend over here. Let’s be crabby together and feed each other fruit dipped in raw whip cream 🙂

      July 20, 2012
      • I have a window unit that helps, but it was still 85 in my living room for a good week. Better than nothing though!

        July 20, 2012
        • Note to self: get a window unit 🙂

          July 22, 2012
  21. Laurel #

    I just laughed out loud not because the concept was funny but because I’ve been advising the use of the very same nut. They are expensive but they are so full of useful fat. In fact, I have some soaking right now to see what kind of raw lemon curd they might make.
    Anyhow, here’s how you deal with the heat (as I found my first record breaking summer in TX). A. Cold Shower B. Stand in front of fan, naked. C. Cold Shower. Repeat as necessary.
    I also appreciated your delicacy in not mentioning the other place, a bit higher than your stomach that seems to accumulate all that sweat. Now go put a window A/C on lay-away or something

    July 20, 2012
    • Lemon curd? Get the hell out, Laurel! Again, when are you moving here and becoming my boss??? Damn that time machine…
      BOOB SWEAT!!

      July 20, 2012
      • Laurel #

        Got it in one. I always knew you were smart. ❤

        July 20, 2012
        • Hey, I’m rather privvy to boob sweat 🙂

          July 22, 2012
  22. Your photos look amazing! I love that you chose macadamia nuts. They are so underused–except in those sickeningly sweet white chocolate cookies, which have never been my thing. Three cheers for the macadamia!

    July 20, 2012
    • I couldn’t agree with you more, Britt! Hip hip…HOORAY 🙂 xo

      July 20, 2012
  23. Oooh. That looks tasty.

    It is so hot here, too. I honestly don’t remember a heat spell that has lasted this long or been this hot. And it just keeps getting hotter every day. Ugh. And dry, too. Ugh. But I have air conditioning. You poor baby!!!!! Have you tried sticking cold strawberries in your pits? That could help, except for the short-lived cooling effect, and the residual sticky mess. Ha. Ha. Ha.

    July 20, 2012
    • Okay, so the cold strawberries are in my pits…now what do I do??? 🙂 haha

      July 20, 2012
      • Are they still there? If so, you gotta start looking into working with fermented foods, girl. Ha. ha. Ha.

        July 23, 2012
        • Wait, I was supposed to take them out??? Eeeeeew, now I’m all sticky…AND sweaty.

          July 23, 2012
  24. Love the simplicity. Looks beautiful and tastey. Yummmmmmo!

    July 20, 2012
  25. ooooh. this looks delicious. i have had macadamia nuts only a couple of times(they are so expensive!), but i can imagine how amazing this whipped cream would taste. i make something very similar with cashews and dayv loves putting it on his ice cream!

    ps- it’s really hot here, too ;(

    July 20, 2012
    • Okay, time to exchange non-dairy whip cream recipes, friend! 🙂

      July 20, 2012
  26. JL #

    Beautiful! Bookmarked and pinned!

    July 20, 2012
  27. This looks incredible. I love combining fruits and nuts in general, and the idea of a raw vegan cream with the macadamia nuts is brilliant. Certainly good for too-hot days!

    July 20, 2012
    • Why, thank you LotusArtichoke! I guarantee that this recipe will *not* disappoint 🙂 xo

      July 20, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Gluten & Caffeine Free, Vegan Tiramisu – why not? | Roll With It
  2. Daily Ingredient: Pumpkin | juicygreenaura
  3. Crowdsource Recipe Testing | Raw Vegan Recipes The Unintentional Vegan
  4. A Typical Week of Summer Eats {WIAW} - Better With Veggies

Leave a comment