Skip to content

Persimmonable cookies.

Pardon me, dear friends, as I quickly sing through this song.

I still have a little bit of time to study before my final

and I need every last minute available.

So without any further delay, here we go:

Now I might not be a genius, but I can tell you this:

If you eat 6 of these cookies upon immediately coming out of the oven,

you can guarantee you will have a tummy ache for

the remainder of the day.

And this time, I’m not just saying that I ate 6 of these

just to be funny.

I’m serious.

I ate 6 of these.

SIX!

That outta tell you a little something about

how incredibly good a cookie stuffed with persimmons tastes.

Though they might not look the most appealing,

in fact, go check out Brooke’s original version for a better idea

of what they *should* look like,

these are surprisingly on the top of my favorites list.

Did I mention I ate SIX???

***EEK! I JUST NOTICED AN ERROR!!! IT’S 1/2 C. BROWN SUGAR *NOT* 1 CUP!!!****

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Cream Earth Balance and sugars together with electril mixer until creamy.
  2. Add tofu. Mix. Add persimmon pulp and vanilla. Mix well.
  3. Combine dry ingredients together (except for the nuts and dried fruit) in separate bowl.
  4. Add to wet mixture. Fold in nuts and dried fruit.
  5. Drop onto parchment-lined cookie sheet by small spoonfuls.
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for 12 minutes.

Once “The 12 Days of Christmas Cookies” ends on Friday,

I am going to miss having a new batch of cookies in the oven every day.

I just might have to do the “365 Days of Christmas Cookies”…

52 Comments Post a comment
  1. Delta #

    Just so happened today, it my Bountiful Basket, I received, ohhhh about a million of these persimmons. 45 yo and never had one. While getting my basket someone said, now someone needs to find a recipe for these things. I knew, I just KNEW, that you would have one! So I will be trying these out, prob tomorrow using the flax sub for tofu.

    I do wonder though, how do you know when they are ripe vs unripe? lol Since I’ve never had one, I would have no idea how they tasted either way.

    December 8, 2012
    • Delta #

      oops, and make them GF of course 🙂

      December 8, 2012
  2. What would be the substitute for a nerd allergic to tofu? I keep hearing wonderful thinks about persimmon and I think I’m going to have to break down and try one.

    December 14, 2011
    • Try: 1 Tb flaxseed meal + 3 Tbs warm water or Ener-G egg replacer (which is just a bicarbonate product).
      Do it! Do it! Do it! 🙂

      December 15, 2011
      • I’m violently opposed to flaxseed anything. It’s more because when I belch later, I will spend the rest of my day trying to figure out when I encountered a fish.

        December 15, 2011
        • I have cornmeal?!?!

          December 15, 2011
        • Eeeewww, really? Well, now that I think about it, I guess I can understand what smell you are tasting. But I promise you can’t taste it in baked goods. Did I convince you at all? 🙂

          December 15, 2011
  3. Good lookin’ cookies, Cara!

    December 14, 2011
    • You can gladly preview them on the fat on my gut because that is where they all went to 🙂 Thanks, MJ!

      December 14, 2011
  4. those cookies look great.. and i havent had a persimmon either.. hmm i should rectify that.. though my local farm doesnt have them availlable right now.. got a bunch of satsumas to use up.hmm maybe i’ll make a satsuma cookies. and 6 I cannot eat! i love the dates and walnuts in there!

    December 14, 2011
    • I think I am hearing a challenge… Make those cookies and see how many you can shove into your belly 🙂

      December 14, 2011
  5. I have to admit.. I’ve never had a persimmon. This may be a great way to try them out!

    December 14, 2011
    • Just don’t sample it when they are unripe. You will have the strangest sensations going on in your mouth, if you do 🙂 Now I want you to eat an unripe one, actually, just so you know what I am talking about. hehe

      December 14, 2011
      • now I want to try an unripe one as well. I know curiosity killed the cat and all.. but geez.. now I need to know.

        December 14, 2011
        • It’s seriously the most bizarre feeling…

          December 14, 2011
  6. As I am reading this I am asking myself why I never ever had persimmons before – looks like my first time should be these cookies!

    They look and sound ah-mah-zing! mmm hmmm

    December 14, 2011
    • Don’t feel too badly–my first persimmon was when I was 27 years old. We are never too late to try new things 🙂 When you make these, can I come over and eat 6 more??? Oh, and I want some cinnamon rolls waiting for me, too (wow, look who just got bossy!)…

      December 14, 2011
      • come over and you can eat like 12 more if you want – although that may = a major tummy ache,

        still thinking about those cinnamon rolls – me too!

        I wouldn’t call it bossy – I would call it planning in advance 🙂

        December 14, 2011
        • Man, do I like the way you see things!!
          P.S. You have totally convinced me to make cinnamon rolls for Christmas. It’s all I can think about now (especially since I am done with finals)…

          December 14, 2011
  7. Wicked, they all look absolutely awesome! So pretty.

    December 14, 2011
    • That is so kind of you! Thank you so much for all your comments! Plus, I hear it with a male British accent so you could say anything and I would *still* thank you for your comments. haha

      December 14, 2011
  8. YUM!

    December 14, 2011
  9. Oh you sound like me when I bake a batch of cookies 🙂 another one of the million reasons I adore you!
    Oh how id love 365 days of cookies- you could write a book after that!!!!
    Persimmon cookies intrigue me…love the idea! I’ll have to make some soon! Do you purée the persimmon pulp or chop it?
    Good luck studying!!! Thinking of ya and ur big test!

    December 14, 2011
    • I attempted to puree the pulp. Didn’t work out that great (which is why you see some chunks in the pictures) but I don’t think it made a difference. They were great. In fact, all this talk about persimmon cookies makes me sad that I threw out the last 3 in the attempt to not make my grand total of cookie eating to 9 yesterday… How can you stop when they are warm out of the oven, though???

      December 14, 2011
  10. Awwww…. I sorries ooh hads a stummy ache! 😦 But I’m glad you liked the cookies! 😀 365 Days of cookies is giving me heart palpitations already… I’m going to be glad to get back to my once a week posting thing next week! *twitch!*

    December 14, 2011
    • You get used it though. Until it becomes a natural part of your day that you cannot live without. Not posting daily gives me heart palpitations. Does that make me a bit psycho?

      December 14, 2011
      • There are lots of things that make you a bit of a psycho, but being a dedicated blogger isn’t one of them… That makes you a bit of a geek…

        December 14, 2011
        • I’d be careful calling the psycho a psycho. I know where you live 🙂

          December 14, 2011
  11. Laurel #

    Six? You only ate six? I never thought I’d see the day when I could outperform you. So sorry about the tummy ache though. Really, only six? Not another six when putting up the leftovers? Really? O.K. then.
    365 days of cookies sounds good. I just saw a cookbook that proclaimed 300 cookie recipes were to be had within. It’d probably be boring after 100 days or so and new challenges would taunt you. How about a cookie a day for Winter? A bunny cake with long ears and a bow tie to celebrate Spring could be fun. Or you could sign up for more classes.
    P.S. Ace that sucker today!

    December 14, 2011
    • I have been out-cookied. What is your cookie eating record? I must hear this one now…
      And I think you are right about it getting old. But maybe they would make a movie about it, like “Julia and Julia” or whatever. It could be called “Cookie Monster”
      I totally failed the final, p.s.

      December 14, 2011
      • Laurel #

        Aw. Not really? Say it ain’t so. Sorry.
        My cookie eating record? Seriously an entire package of oreos or Pepperidge Farm Milanos or Thin Mints and that was before I started baking my own. You need to get a block and tackle to get me away from my sweets. Seriously. I’d like a “Cookie Monster” movie a whole lot more than “Julie and Julia.” I was all like yeah? So? Not to mention the guy was like a saint and the real girl looks like she eats. But yeah, total letdown. Sorry to anyone who thinks it was the best movie ever made.

        December 14, 2011
        • “And the real girl looks like she eats”…hahahaha!!! That gave me a good chuckle to hold on to for the rest of the day 🙂

          December 14, 2011
  12. I’ll keep my fingers crossed! Lucky me I never had to take economics classes… Already hated it in school.

    December 14, 2011
    • Cross your toes and eyes too! I need more luck 🙂

      December 14, 2011
      • I crossed even my hair! (and all the forks and beans I have in my kitchen) I hope it helped!

        December 14, 2011
        • I have a feeling that I needed a miracle rather than luck. That was one of my worst test-taking experiences… Thank you for all the love though!

          December 14, 2011
  13. Yummmmmmm… I love persimmons so much. In baked goods or elsewhere! Sometimes I keep already pulped persimmon in the freezer for using in baked stuff the same way some people use applesauce… it’s a surprisingly good binder (probably because of that weird slimy texture it has) and has such a nice mild flavor. Love that stuff.

    There is no amount of cookies I cannot eat. I laugh in the face of your six! But sorry to hear about the stomach ache. Hope your final goes really well!

    December 14, 2011
    • I had no idea about persimmons! You have been holding out on this secret information… Then again, my first taste of one was when I was 27 🙂 How do you get it to blend nicely? My only came out in chunks, which still made for a delicious cookie, but not attractive looking what-so-ever.
      Do I hear a cookie-eating challenge being called???

      December 14, 2011
      • Hmm… you have to wait til they’re really ripe and then put them in the food processor. They should buzz up nicely!

        For baking it’s usually better to use hachiyas… they’re the ones that are pointy on the end, kind of heartshaped, and super super super super bitter if you try to eat them unripe. When they’re soft enough to use, basically showing them a picture of a food processor or menacingly waving a knife at them is enough to make them totally disintegrate into pulp.

        Fuyus look like squat orange tomatoes and are delicious straight up or baked in things… but they never get as soft and can stay chunky!

        December 14, 2011
        • That explains why my persimmon mockingly laughed at me…
          You are my persimmon guru 🙂 Thanks for that, Nikki!

          December 14, 2011
  14. hahaha you make me laugh, Cara! Well, 6 is better than…7. And hey, they look pretty tasty so I’m sure you enjoyed every bite 🙂 I love the snowflakes falling from everything on your blog, how cute!

    December 14, 2011
    • Thanks Leanne! 🙂 The shame stopped me from eating 7…
      Isn’t the snow so much fun??? Times like these, I just love wordpress for fun features like that… xo

      December 14, 2011
  15. What beautiful photos—am casting my vote for the 365 Days of Christmas Cookies—excellent New Year’s resolution!
    xx

    December 14, 2011
    • hahaha!! Can you imagine??? What if you did a “Bake a different cookie every day of the year” challenge for precisely one year? Is it possible to have 365 different kinds of cookies? Listen to me, I am actually contemplating this, NO!

      December 14, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Let the Holiday Cookie Extravaganza Begin! and a Recipe for Vegan Butter Pecan Rum Balls « Farmers Market Vegan
  2. Merry and Bright « Inside & Out

Leave a comment