Skip to content

Cornucopias are for lovers.

Time to change things up here a bit,

put the turkeys aside and

add new types of:

that you can serve this Thanksgiving,

whip up for your kids,

or just for yourself.

See?

A little bit for everyone.

I’m a giver.

These are so simple to make,

it will make you wanna slap your momma.

(Not sure what that expression is supposed to mean, really).

I don’t want to slap my mom, nor do I want you to slap yours…

Moving along:

Berries and “Cream” Cornucopias

Berries and “Cream” Cornucopia Recipe

Makes 5 coruncopias

INGREDIENTS:

  • Gluten-free, vegan Goldbaum’s ice cream cone
  • vegan chocolate chips, melted
  • Handful of berries
  • Vegan whip cream recipe (I used Cybele Pascal’s recipe from The Allergen-Free Baker’s Handbook)
  • mint for garnish, optional

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Coat ice cream cones with thin layer of melter chocolate. Allow to cool on wax paper for 25 minutes.
  2. Stuff cornucopias with 1-2 Tb vegan whip cream. Add berries. Top with mint.

These little stunners

make a great and light dessert for anyone.

Plus, these cornucopias come with an edible, built-in bowl.

What more can you ask for?

They are just too adorable for words.

So much so that I have no more words here.

So I will leave you on a pictorial note:

Bon appetite! 

41 Comments Post a comment
  1. What camera and lens/es do you use, if you don’t mind me asking? Beautiful photos.

    October 13, 2012
    • Honestly, these photos were taken with a basic digital camera. I have since then minorly upgraded to a very basic Nikon starter camera with no fancy lens what-so-ever 🙂

      October 13, 2012
  2. OMG I *LOVE* this idea. You could stuff it with vegan ice cream too… It’s super easy and yet looks spectacular. Perfect for a dinner party. I will definitely do this. I pinned this on Pinterest, by the way XX

    November 16, 2011
  3. This is so cute!

    November 15, 2011
  4. HOLY HELL. Gluten-free ice cream cones? I know what I’m going to search for tomorrow! Then I’m going to coat ’em in chocolate and fill ’em with banana soft serve. Thanks, in advance, for expanding my waistline. You wench.

    November 14, 2011
    • Oh it is so my pleasure you dirty ho! 🙂 hehehe This is fun.

      November 15, 2011
  5. Love these! And I just blogged about some of your Halloween ideas I used!

    November 14, 2011
    • I just read it (thanks for the shout out) and absolutely loved what you did with that food–another genius feast by you, Jenny! xo

      November 14, 2011
  6. what a great idea Cara!!! I love the cones, they look so cute and festive.

    November 14, 2011
    • Hi Amey!!! Thank you 🙂

      November 14, 2011
  7. Your biggest fan! #

    What’s up with all this momma bashing? 🙂 No, seriously, you know I love you more than my luggage! These look so yummy. I’m going to have to make them. I’m sad that I won’t be there to spend your big day with you and Greg won’t be there either 😦 I’ll blow out a few candles for you. Listen for the ring ring. XOXOXOX

    November 14, 2011
    • I’m sad you won’t be here either 😦 Can’t wait to get that early morning phone call, mom 🙂 I’m expecting you to be the first so don’t disappoint… xoxo

      November 14, 2011
  8. AWWW! Now THESE are adorable Cara! super creative — AGAIN!
    Someone special’s bday is coming up…..TOMORROW! Gettin’ excited? 🙂 XOXO

    November 14, 2011
    • I just made myself a cake 🙂 I’m trying to keep a positive attitude–Greg won’t be here which is really sad (in fact, he’s been gone for a month now and won’t return for *another* month due to business). I honestly feel a little lonely 😦 But I’m always excited to celebrate ME once a year so it won’t be too bad! You coming here tomorrow to deliver that cake??? hehehe

      November 14, 2011
  9. Laurel #

    So cute. I didn’t even know they made GF cones. Just as well really because that gives me more room for ice cream! I have Cybele’s book here on the bed with me, looking for a pie crust for Banoffee Pie. I don’t even know what that is but toffee and bananas sound awesome. So what is this thing you’ve got with Danny DeVito anyway?

    November 14, 2011
    • Danny DeVito. snickering. You know, I actually saw him and Rhea Pearlman at Knott’s Berry Farm, years back. It’s no joke–that dude is short! 🙂 And Banoffee Pie? I don’t know what that is either but why do I feel like I must eat it now as well???

      November 14, 2011
      • Laurel #

        I’m tripling the recipe. On faith alone. ❤ ❤ ❤

        November 14, 2011
        • Bon Jovi was right, we *are* half way there; living on a prayer 🙂

          November 14, 2011
  10. Sarah C #

    Ok, these are the cutest yet! LOVE (and want the vegan whipped cream recipe, frankly; I’ll have to find that book). I have to tell you THANK YOU again for the soap giveaway – I am loving this soap. And I was right about the lemongrass ginger scent being the perfect thing (for me) to wake to! YAY for giveaways (and yay for winning!).

    November 14, 2011
    • Oh I am glad to hear that you received it! I was just thinking about you today and was going to email just to make sure it was sent–YAY! So happy you are satisfied with your choice too, Sarah. xox

      November 14, 2011
  11. Oh…it’s a movie? Here I was talking literally…;)

    November 14, 2011
    • Don’t confuse the blonde now, GiGi!

      November 14, 2011
  12. These are so beautiful that I want to throw my mamma from the train!

    November 14, 2011
    • Thank the Lord someone knows this movie! 🙂 hahaha

      November 14, 2011
  13. another awesomely unique creation! I just ordered more gf cones (LOVE them!!) that I LOVE to fill with a coating of chocolate – I will have to reverse it and make some of these, YUM!

    November 14, 2011
    • Which cones do you buy Kris?

      November 14, 2011
      • I think I’ve had the Goldbaum kind before, but I think it was a large one, like a waffle cone almost? there’s an organic brand I can’t remember right now?? (might be let’s do organic?)

        November 14, 2011
        • Ooooohh a waffle cone?? Sign me up for that! There is a local dairy and gluten free bakery over here that sells the Goldbaum’s brand, and it wasn’t until writing this post that I realized they have a wider variety! Must buy these now…

          November 14, 2011
  14. Very pretty! They look super yummy and simple!

    November 14, 2011
    • Indeed, my friend, indeed.

      November 14, 2011
  15. Oh My Goodness!!! Adorable!!! GF Cones???
    You really are the Indiana Jones of Amazing Food!!!!

    November 14, 2011
    • Now I have the theme song in my head. HA! Is there any way that I can get that to play as I run errands around town??? How funny yet amazing would that be?! 🙂

      November 14, 2011
  16. Cuuuuute! Berries + mint + a crunchy ice cream cone… sign me up for that.

    But you know, you could use these as feathers on a turkey… or perhaps one as a beak on a HUGE turkey with the berries as a hidden treat. I’m still seeing turkeys everywhere!

    November 14, 2011
    • Oh no, Nikki! You have the bird flu like I had. hahaha.

      November 14, 2011
  17. Those are lovely! Fresh fruit makes a great dessert.

    Off topic – movie…Drive Me Crazy. Watching last night and betting that you’re a fan 😀

    November 14, 2011
    • HA!! I saw this movie in the theater–I remember it quite well because I was in college and my friends and I thought we were so cool that we skipped our class to watch this. I have only seen it a few times since (and I do remember really liking it!) however, do I admit it now that I have been an avid watcher of “Sabrina the Teenage Witch” for a long time? Like, my boyfriend and I get excited at 8am when it comes on, kind of avid? hehehe

      November 14, 2011
  18. i haven’t had an icecream cone in ages! i remember my favorite were the ones coated with chocolate. i love everything about this, and makes me want to get the allergen free handbook just to get the whipped cream recipe!

    November 14, 2011
    • That book is pretty awesome! It includes all things vegan and gluten free with beautiful pics! I haven’t used it that much as I should but I was really impressed with the whip cream recipe! It was light and fluffy, just like the real thing. Get it! Get it! 🙂

      November 14, 2011
  19. Babs #

    These are Great!!!

    Can’t wait to try these…I think you might have to make these for me when I get back home.

    🙂

    Can’t wait to see all the other items you were talking about.

    Yummmmm

    November 14, 2011
    • I had a feeling you would like them! A dessert right up your alley 🙂 xo!!!!

      November 14, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Thanksgiving Kid-Friendly Desserts :: Holidays | Love Every Detail

Leave a comment