Skip to content

Turkey on my plate.


The other day I was asked

whether I planned on doing an entire

turkey-themed food month.

At first, I laughed.

Turkey-themed food…

All month long?

But when I made this for lunch yesterday:

I knew I was screwed.

It’s all I think about now.

Any food I’m eating,

I wonder how I can turkey-ize it.

I live,

dream,

eat,

sleep

turkey-themed food now.

So why fight it, you know?

I’m embracing my inner

vegan turkey.

Heck, I’ll even teach a class on it.

Here’s what my syllabus will look like:

I don’t think I will ever be able to

eat normal food again.

So bring over your children to my house

because I think they are the only ones who can

truly appreciate a turkey quesadilla!

(among the many turkey foods being whipped up over here)…

WHAT YOU’LL NEED: 

Not pictured:
2 black bean eyes
1 bell pepper triangle beak
1 bell pepper wattle slice
Daiya cheeze for the insides
Earth Balance butter (to get that lovely brown crisp on the tortilla)

ASSEMBLE AS PICTURED.

Raise your hand if you are too lazy to post all the directions.

(No one can see my hand up, can they?)

I just figure the picture explains it all…

Aren’t those wittle turkey fweet ador-wable?

Oh goodness.

It’s official.

I’ve gone mad turkey over here.

30 Comments Post a comment
  1. haha! yessss! I’m excited to see all of the rest of the turkeys. You should name them all!

    I think it’s funny that there are only two black beans on your Quesadilla, even though I know it’s for the eyes. You didn’t just cook two black beans for this did you? 🙂

    Your theme for December should be making food into santa claus or christmas trees or reindeer..or gingerbread…or something.

    November 8, 2011
    • HAHA!! Oh Isobelle, you crack me up! Name them all? Sounds like a challenge…that I gladly accept 🙂 <–that was easy wasn't it? And no, I didn't cook two black beans just for that (though that would be hilarious and a wee bit extreme all in the name of turkeys!) I had leftovers and was trying to deviate from the typical black olive…
      I'm thinking that I am going to make you come up with my themes every month. I like that idea…

      November 9, 2011
      • Ohhh, ok. I probably would have cooked just the two black beans. For laughs. I wonder how long it takes to soak and cook two black beans anyway..

        I don’t know…I’m thinking a payment would have to be part of the deal if I came up with your themes 🙂 not really. I couldn’t care less about money.
        But yeah, do itttt. I was thinking about doing a month of different gifts (baked things) but I really can’t. It’s too much work for me and it requires too much planning. I’ll leave the themes to you!

        November 9, 2011
        • HAHAHA!! If you ever soak and cook 2 beans ever, please blog about it. I must know!
          Yeah, yeah, yeah, stop being so bossy, will ya 🙂 I really think you should keep that theme, however. You don’t have to do it everyday but it’s a fabulous idea. Now, DO IT!!! <–bossiness rubbing off…

          November 10, 2011
  2. Lou #

    hehehe, LOVE it. You make turkeys look cute (seriously, they are the most hideous looking creature!)

    November 8, 2011
    • They definitely are not ranking top 5 in the “Cutest Animals in the World” category, this is true, Lou! haha.

      November 8, 2011
  3. i love this theme.. keep them turkeys comin!

    November 8, 2011
    • Encouragement to keep me going. I was just thinking whether or not I can keep up with this theme. But…when requests like this occur, it’s the fuel that keeps me going. Thanks Richa!

      November 8, 2011
  4. Brilliant! LOL.

    November 8, 2011
    • It’s kinda hard not to giggle like a little kid while looking at these 🙂

      November 8, 2011
  5. Hey I kinda know what Laurel is saying…Uhm what did you carve these beaks with anyway huh huh? Now I grossed myself out. I love daiya and tortillas and peppers, btw.

    November 8, 2011
    • Just close your eyes 🙂

      November 8, 2011
  6. I’m not a kid and I appreciate all of the turkey cuteness! 🙂

    November 8, 2011
    • Then these are just for you, Amanda! 🙂

      November 8, 2011
  7. Laurel #

    I’d love to except I’m allergic to corn and bell peppers. So sad. Did I hear the world’s smallest violin playing AGAIN?

    November 8, 2011
    • Faintly. Was that YoYo Ma?

      November 8, 2011
  8. Laurel #

    It is really adorable but I’m kinda grossed out by the fact that you expect me to eat its eyes and beak and legs and stuff. Eww… 🙂

    November 8, 2011
    • Quit your complaining and eat it, Laurel!! ha

      November 8, 2011
  9. Dude. I totally have almost everything to make this. Alls I need is the tortillas. And, hey! Lookit! It’s grocery day! I do believe my boys will be snorking one of these down for lunch today. I take it back, you’re not a candy blog. You’re a kid’s food blog! *box, box, box* This time, it’s wrapped in brightly colored, hand-drawn wrapping paper.

    November 8, 2011
    • I’m suffocating. I can’t breathe. Need. To break. Free. From. Labels. You better take a picture of it this time and send it to me or else I will sic my shifty eyed pumpkin muffin on you…

      November 8, 2011
  10. Marlene #

    Really cute!

    November 8, 2011
    • Thank you Marlene! xo

      November 8, 2011
  11. I have to tell you, I was secretly hoping for more turkeys!!

    November 8, 2011
    • You weren’t secretly because you are the one that put that thought into my head 🙂

      November 8, 2011
      • Ha ha… no, see, it was so secret that I put the thought into your head without even realizing I was doing it!

        I made an apple turkey because of you, and all night long afterwards, the Emperor kept shouting I WANT TO EAT TURKEY! I WANT TO EAT TURKEY!

        November 8, 2011
        • And the picture/post is where??? And the picture of the Emperor shouting I WANT TO EAT TURKEY is where????
          P.S. Have you thought about working for the C.I.A. with mad secret skills like that? 🙂

          November 8, 2011
          • The turkey picture is in my blog post from yesterday, after all the pictures of my kitchen!

            November 8, 2011
            • Doh, look who is slacking!! Going there right this second…

              November 8, 2011
  12. that is such a cute idea!!!

    November 8, 2011
    • (((And a tasty one too))) 🙂 Thanks Gloria!

      November 8, 2011

Leave a comment