Skip to content

Happy Halloween!

This is it!

The day we have all been waiting for…

A day of:

Spooking.

Haunting.

Frightening.

Thrilling.

Candy-eating.

Ghouling.

Witch-hunting.

Spell-binding.

Costuming.

(okay, you get the point…)

So the end of the month has approached us.

And in honor of this special day,

I bring to you an oh-so-special

Fork & Beans

post!

Let us first celebrate this day with

a test tube filled with tomato soup

and a monster head grilled cheese sandwich, shall we?


The perfect ending meal for the most perfect month ever.

A frightful sandwich of Daiya cheese packed between 2 slices of Gluten Free & Vegan bread, topped with green olive eyes.

(((Make sure to slather on the Earth Balance butter in order to get that beautiful dark brown/crispy exterior on the bread)))

…and…

Any vegan tomato soup of your choice will do just fine

inside this test tube.

Wanna make your own stand, as shown here? Stayed tuned for instructions…

I promised you a surprise, 

and a surprise you shall receive!

I hope it puts as big of a smile on your face

as it did for me during the make of it….

 

 

Thank you for all your support this month, my friends!

See you tomorrow for the November build-up towards:

THANKSGIVING!

(and the madness continues…)

What? Did you think it would end?

NEVER!

60 Comments Post a comment
  1. Rose #

    And the Oscar goes to….Cara and Cara! Brilliant I say!! I can’t believe you and Greg did all of that by yourselves — so hilarious and cute…reminded me of Back to the Future when Biff has scenes with his older self…great job editing!!

    November 1, 2011
    • Let’s give credit where credit is due. Greg filmed me running away and the scenes of me hiding. That is it. He thought my idea was even a little ridiculous…that is until he saw the finished product. Oh ye of little faith. “I wanna thank everyone for their support, even my manager Rose…”

      November 1, 2011
  2. haha you’re so cool to make a video. it was hiliarious! thanks for a great month of halloween foods and candy, you are truly so creative 🙂

    November 1, 2011
    • Thank *YOU* Rachel for all your love and support this month! Hope you come back for more for Thanksgiving 🙂 xo

      November 1, 2011
  3. Awesome. As if I weren’t already incredibly jealous of your blog, now, this?

    Gift, indeed! 🙂

    XOXOXOXO!!!
    Dawn
    Vegan Fazool blog
    Dedicated F&B fan!

    October 31, 2011
    • Thank you, dedicated Fork and Beans fan (also known as Dawn) for all of your love and support, truly 🙂 You deserve that gift, indeed!

      November 1, 2011
  4. Gah! That was so cute. Thanks for all your inspiring treats this month!

    October 31, 2011
    • Thank you Andy for that! And you are so very welcome–it was all my pleasure! 🙂

      October 31, 2011
  5. The Sister #

    Is it just me or does Dracula kinda look like…um….your sister???? Haha. I want to show this video to everyone!!!! It is hysterical…even saw Robert chuckle a little bit. 😉

    October 31, 2011
    • Are you saying that I look like you? Because if you are, then I must say, I was thinking the same thing while editing it. haha. Wow, Bobert chuckled too? Must be good then. Hey, ask him if he’s ever seen “The New Guy”…

      October 31, 2011
      • The Sister #

        Well, you look like me … minus the whole the Dracula costume! Lol

        November 2, 2011
        • BAHAHAHA!!! Shall I start calling you Shercula?

          November 2, 2011
  6. Acting Lessons!!! LOL!!! You Crack me up!!!!

    October 31, 2011
    • In the famous words of Ferris Bueller, “Never had one lesson…”

      October 31, 2011
  7. You’re so rad!

    October 31, 2011
    • Oh Isobelle, you know I’m a sucker for radical words 🙂

      October 31, 2011
  8. Your biggest fan! #

    OMG!!! If I could get those letters any bigger here they’d be a foot high! Got an email today at work that asked…”have you seen your daughter’s blog today?” Couldn’t wait for all those little gouls and goblens to be done so I could finally get here (crazy day!) and check it out myself. What a hoot. Your talent is amazing and so much fun! Have had a great time with all of your October entries and looking forward to November, especially aroung the 15th 🙂 Love you Miss Wings!

    October 31, 2011
    • Hi mommy! Thought you would get a big kick out of the video 🙂 All that money spent on acting lessons really paid off…wait a minute, I never took acting lessons. That explains a lot.

      October 31, 2011
  9. Laurel #

    Whoa. Cara’s Halloween Extravaganza including DIY: How To Make Mad Scientist Supplies (the test tube holder), Action (cross country chase) Politics (Making peace with another species) and California travelogue all rolled into one incredibly fun, amazingly creative treat for all. The only thing I missed was Drew Barrymore scrunching her face and burning things. You’re amazing and fun and adorable and I’m so glad you popped up on my MoFo crawl. Now I have somewhere really special to go every morning. Thank You!

    October 31, 2011
    • Oh Laurel, you and your sweet words! How nice was that comment??! *blushing* So happy to have met you via blogging MoFo-ness and now through all of our crazy ideas for world domination 🙂

      October 31, 2011
  10. That is super cute! You are super cute! Love your vampire dress and your acting so much!

    Thank you for your wonderful MoFoing. It was a great read. I had so much fun reading your blog, looking at your wonderful pictures, I will definitely come back daily to follow your Thanksgiving stuff (even though we do not party Thanksgiving over here).

    Thank you so much for making me laugh and slobber every day this month!

    October 31, 2011
    • HAHA! Thank you, Cara 🙂 So glad to be the cause of drool… hehe

      October 31, 2011
  11. Ha ha ha… I am so glad that MoFo brought me to your blog! I love the video. I watched it while waiting in the exam room for my doctor to come in and laughed so hard that I’m sure the receptionists could hear me and were like “freakin’ crazy pregnant ladies!”

    Happy Halloween!

    October 31, 2011
    • Better laughing than sobbing hysterically right??! Yay, I am so glad to have your blog as well, Nikki!! I really really really hope that we can connect this week. How fun would that be?

      October 31, 2011
  12. Haley #

    So cute!!! You’ve officially been added to my google reader ‘love’ section 🙂

    October 31, 2011
    • Yay! New friends. Hi Haley!!! xo

      October 31, 2011
  13. Lizzie #

    You are a crazy person.

    🙂

    October 31, 2011
    • Absolutely. 100%! 🙂

      October 31, 2011
  14. Could you be ANY CUTER and MORE AMAZING?!?!? I think NOT!!!! You are “my kind of people” (so they say) – SO fun, goofy and creative – I LOVE THIS and I want to give you a huge hug! What a fabulous Halloween post and such a great way to wrap up this month – I am craving a grilled cheese with tomato soup right now! I could watch this video over and over – I make faces just like that hahahaha! You made my day love, I am SUPER excited about what November has in store! 🙂 XOXOXO

    October 31, 2011
    • Man, I should make videos more often with responses like these 🙂 I’m glad you find me cute because I just see a plain ol’ dork. hehe. I AM your kind of peeps, fo sho! This is why I like you so. And yes, come give me a hug. I will be waiting in my cape…

      October 31, 2011
  15. how cute are YOU!!???? What a great video! Hee hee! Also, soup in test tubes is fun! 🙂 thanks for the halloween video!

    October 31, 2011
    • You got it, Amey! I’m just so happy to have met you on VeganMoFo! You are so awesome and I look forward to hopefully connecting.

      October 31, 2011
  16. Ok, so this was freaking AWESOME. Will you consider me a stalker if I watch the video for a third time?! Also, you just crack me up endlessly, love your sense of humor and crazy creativity. Soup out of a test tube WITH stand?! Dude. And dual personalities of sweet & cute girl versus tomato soup eating vampire?!?! A vegan vampire no less?! Now this story is getting rather nuanced!

    Splendidly done and what a victorious month of Halloween kissed yum. You go!

    October 31, 2011
    • I will consider you 100% stalker material, absolutely! 🙂 Thank you Jenn for your sweet words!! Seriously. You are making me blush! Cannot wait to chat. This time I promise to have a clearer understanding of Central vs. Pacific Time 🙂

      October 31, 2011
  17. OH. MAH. GAH. That was freakin’ AWESOME!! Unfortunately, now I know you’re way too cool to be my friend. You ROCK!! I totally lol’d at Caracula hiding behind the leaf! 😀 My 3 year old said, “She must have gone Frick-er-Freatin’ at Daddy’s work, too!” Hah! Also, I am absolutely, totally, 100% making that grilled cheese for my boys today. We’ll see if a vampire comes and steals any… Awesome. Happy Halloween!!

    October 31, 2011
    • Okay, if after watching that you actually believe that I am cool, we have problems Brooke. And I *LOVE* Caracula. Damn you and your genius ideas–how do you come up with these??? I also about peed my pants when I read “frick-er-freatin”–hahahaha!!! I just might have to put on that widow’s peak and head up to Washington…

      October 31, 2011
      • Typing…. This… Between… Bites… of… Soup… and… Sandwich… Nom… Nomm… My boys loved it, btw! If a soup-sucking vampire shows up on my porch tonight, she’ll get a homemade crayon shaped like a pumpkin. And she would officially be the first frick-er-freater we’ve had at this house. It’s like a 10 mile driveway straight up hill in the dark! 🙂 And yes, I think you’re cool. Creativity is always cool in my book, and that was one creative, funny video, my friend. 🙂

        October 31, 2011
        • I want a grilled cheese now!! Might have to make one too because I cannot stand just you having all the delicious fun over there… And I want a homemade pumpkin-shaped crayon! I need something to draw on my walls with 🙂

          October 31, 2011
          • Hey, also, is this your yard?! Nice! It’s huge for So Cal!

            October 31, 2011
            • It is the in-laws 🙂 And I wish it was a clear day because that open space you see in the background is the mother freakin’ Pacific Coast line. You can see the outline all the way up to Malibu, really. Ah-mazing!!

              October 31, 2011
  18. You are a phenom! Or phantom or both! Great great and great!!! You guys did an awesome job.Happy Halloween, my friend. It has been so great meeting you on this MOFo journey. Will continue onto November zzzzz

    October 31, 2011
    • Giiiiiiirrrrrrlllllllll, it’s just like The Carpenters sang: “We’ve only just be-guuuunnnnn…..” Oh great, now I have that lame song in my head. Rats! It has been awesome meeting you too, GiGi. See you tomorrow 🙂 haha

      October 31, 2011
  19. love, love, LOVE the video! It is all kinds of awesome! And the sandwich and tomato soup?? Way too cute! Happy Halloween!

    October 31, 2011
    • Sometimes you get these crazy ideas in your head that make you laugh and just cross your fingers that it translates well and that others understand your vision. I’m so glad you got it 🙂 Thank you, Jacqui!

      October 31, 2011
  20. That video was so cute! I loved the chase scene. I’m so glad you and you were able to become friends and share soup together! It definitely had me laughing.

    October 31, 2011
    • bahahaha! It was intense wasn’t it? I wasn’t sure if they were going to make up and become friends, either… 🙂 Thank you so much for checking it out, Cadry (p.s. Awesome name–so unique! Love it).

      October 31, 2011
  21. That was all kinds of awesome sauce. Happy Halloween to YOU! Looking forward to your Thanksgiving posts! xoxo

    October 31, 2011
    • *giggling* Thank you Sara–so glad that you liked it! 🙂

      October 31, 2011
  22. Oh My Goodness!!! What a Wonderful Halloween Treat!!!! I Loved it!!!
    You are AMAZING!!!!!! What a Woman!!!! LOVED IT…YOU AND YOUR CREATIVITY!!!!
    A+++++++++++++++++++++++++!!!! HAPPY HALLOWEEEEENIE!!!!! LOVE AND HUGS VIV

    October 31, 2011
    • HA! So glad you liked it Viv, thank you! 🙂 Happy Halloween to you. Are you dressing up today?

      October 31, 2011
  23. Love the test tube and the olive eyes! 🙂 Very cute and spooky! Happy Halloween!

    October 31, 2011
    • muahahaha. Hah-pee Hal-low-weeeeeeeen Amanda (that was my Dracula impression like the video) 😉 hehe. xoxo

      October 31, 2011
  24. You and your halloween food are too adorable! THanks for a fun month 😀

    October 31, 2011
    • Glad you liked it Dawn! *bowing* xoxo. You are pretty darn adorable yourself!!!

      October 31, 2011
  25. Jay #

    Hy,
    chanced upon your space while blog hopping..glad I stopped by..!
    love your space…
    awesome posts with interesting presentation..
    love your halloween cliks..
    Am your happy follower now..;)
    do stop by mine sometime..
    Tasty Appetite

    October 31, 2011
    • So glad you like it here, Jay! xo

      October 31, 2011
  26. Oh My Goodness! I just watched this with my fiance. We blew it up full-screen and had the speakers up high and it was so cute/funny – we were laughing out loud! I was like “come here, the vegan candy girl made a little movie for the end of vegan mofo, come watch it with me. He knows all about you because I’ve been raving about you and he’s been saying “stop talking about her candies and just make some for me damnit”. Unfortunately I didn’t get around to making any yet, but I will next week once things settle down a little.

    Aaaaahhh you’re the best! That was so awesome. Thank youuuuuu!

    October 31, 2011
    • hehehe. So happy you liked the corny yet fun video! <–world's biggest dork. You are just too cute for words for that! I will send out your candy package tomorrow 🙂 Hey, a girl can dream, right?

      October 31, 2011
  27. That video was crazy amazing, woman! Have a happy Halloween!

    October 31, 2011
    • haha! Thank you Emily 🙂 Hope you have a haunted Halloween yourself… xo

      October 31, 2011

Leave a comment