Skip to content

Vegan Junior Mints

We are now into a our 3rd day of:

Week.

Anyone else getting sugared out?

No?

Okay then, let’s keep going!

Did you ever see that “Seinfeld” episode

where Kramer and Jerry get to witness a surgery?

Kramer brings in a box of Junior Mints into the viewing and offers Jerry some.

When Jerry refuses, a struggle ensues,

causing a Junior Mint to fly into the air and land into the man’s surgical cavity.

I whole-heartedly blame this episode for my love of Junior Mints.

 I kid you not that after watching this, I literally got into my car that night,

drove to the store, and bought a box for myself.

Ever since then, this is what I think about

when I hear the words “Junior Mint.”

Is there anything more refreshing, really?

My goal was to find a “healthier” way to make these.

I HAD to.

My body has been flipping me off from the influx of sugar lately

so I thought I at least owed it that much to ease up on the sweetness in this recipe.

Besides, powdered sugar is too sweet for me (I have limits, people!)

and I couldn’t stand the taste at the first attempt.

So enter the multiple usages of:

COCONUT!

I was so pleased that the 2nd attempt worked out and really was refreshingly good.

My belly was a little happier also…

Junior Mints Recipe

Makes approx 20 mints

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 c. shredded coconut
  • 1/2-1 tsp peppermint extract (depending on preference)
  • 1/2 tsp hemp milk (or more like a “dash”)
  • Vegan chocolate (melted, aka: tempered)
  • candy mold (optional)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Blend coconut in food processor/blender until almost smooth. Keep the faith. It WILL blend…eventually.
  2. Add peppermint extract (according to taste) and  milk; mix well.
  3. Roll coconut mixture into small balls. If using a mold, make sure they are small enough to fit. Place of wax paper-lined plate.
  4. Freeze for 20 minutes.
  5. If using mold, coat thin layer of chocolate on mold. Then place the small ball inside and cover the rest with chocolate. If not using a mold, using a fork, dip balls into bowl of melted (tempered) chocolate, coating entirely, and place on wax paper.
  6. Freeze 10 minutes until set.

These keep best if left in the fridge (or freezer)…

…the best way to eat them anyway, as far as I’m concerned.

I leave it to Kramer to say it best in regards to this candy:

Who’s gonna turn down a Junior Mint?

It’s chocolate,

it’s

peppermint…

it’s *delicious*!

61 Comments Post a comment
  1. Made these the other night and they were outstanding! Need to make like a triple batch… Also, dipping things in chocolate is way too much fun. I melted too much chocolate, so I ended up dumping in a bunch of dried cranberries and coating those, too.

    January 24, 2013
  2. What kind of candy mold did you use for these?

    December 12, 2011
  3. I had to make these last night..and all I can say is yum! I made mine into more or less patties rather than juinor mints.

    I used unsweetened coconut and just added a couple drops of stevia to the mixture. I also used 85% dark chocolate. I had trouble making the actual patties to freeze before the chocolate (most likely due to the lack of sugar), they are very delicate.. but once frozen, very easy to cover in chocolate.

    They are awesome right out of the freezer! Though, I’ve always been of the mind that all mint candy should be served frozen! 🙂

    I am a fairly new follower, and all this candy is killing me!! I can’t eat much sugar, so I’ve been drooling on the computer and finally had to adapt one of these candies to my diet.. thank you!

    October 23, 2011
    • Great tips, Jacqui! Thank you for posting this. I am so glad that you got your Junior Mints/Patties fix 🙂 And you could not be any more correct–frozen IS the best way to eat them!! Sorry for the overkill in sugar over here–if it makes you feel any better, I’m the sampler in this house and I’m about to pass out from overconsumption of sugar myself. I can’t eat too much either (but I have been) and my body *hates* me. Let me know if you adapt any more–I would love to hear what you did! xo

      October 23, 2011
  4. These definitely look like something I could bite into….several times lol

    October 21, 2011
    • I think I could devour them in one full bite, myself 🙂 hehe

      October 21, 2011
  5. Love that episode! And these look delicious!

    October 21, 2011
    • Isn’t that the funniest? I kinda wish new episodes were still on…

      October 21, 2011
  6. You’re killing me!!!! All these candies have been my faves!!! Thanks so much for sharing with us!! PS I remember that episode, gotta love Kramer!!!

    October 20, 2011
    • You are so welcome Lara. Consider me the candy fairy 🙂

      October 20, 2011
  7. jd #

    George: How could they not notice it?
    Jerry: Because it’s a little mint. It’s a JUNIOR mint!

    LOVE that episode! But I think I love your mints even more… awesome post!

    October 20, 2011
    • BAHAHAHA!!! Yay! Another Jerry fan!Or how about when Kramer offers the doctor one later and the doctor says, “They are refreshing!” Love love love 🙂 It really was a funny episode wasn’t it?? I think the repetitve words of “refreshing” and “mint” hooked me…

      October 20, 2011
  8. I was hooked on Junior Mints after my first taste, one Halloween. These are absolutely beautiful. Have you tried coconut oil as a base for the filling? I made peppermint patties once with it and they melted in your mouth so lusciously. Yum!

    October 19, 2011
    • Susan, where were you when I was making these??? That is genius!! I will try coconut oil next time–yes, that sounds even BETTER!

      October 20, 2011
  9. Meg @ The Snarky Chickpea #

    Squeeeeeeeeee!! I need these! STAT!

    October 19, 2011
    • Haha! I LOVE the Squeeee, Meg 🙂

      October 19, 2011
  10. Your biggest fan! #

    Okay, so I’m walking down the hallway at work this morning and behind me is a co-worker who I’ve just introduced to your blog and she’s laughing about the Seinfeld episode (which I totally don’t remember ever seeing and I thought I’d seen them all!) anyway, she’s laughing and starts to tell me about reading about it on your blog. She has a friend of who has a child with food allergies and now she’s excited that she’ll be able to fix something she’s seen on your sight and bring it as a surprise to their next food gathering. You’re bringing a lot of smiles and good food to alot of people. You go girl! (Is that still an “in” term?) P.S. Now I want a junior mint!

    October 19, 2011
    • It will ALWAYS be “in” according to me, mommy 🙂 I was just talking to Greg just now about how much I loved Halloween as a kid and would always try to create a haunted house at home, remember that? But it would never work out and so this blog makes me sooooo so happy because I finally have an outlet to release all of my holiday love onto AND it actually translates well. It just makes me even more happy to read everyone’s comment and to hear about your co-workers talking about how happy this site makes them! I am always floored by it and so appreciative of it. P.S. I cannot believe you never saw that episode! If you think you are craving a junior mint now, wait until you see it! I love you and thank you for all your support and love. xoxo, Your favorite daughter. hehe

      October 19, 2011
  11. i have died and gone to heaven. thank you for posting this!!!

    October 19, 2011
    • Welcome, my child, to heaven. I will be your tour guide here–call me the candy angel 🙂 haha. Thank YOU for your comment! xo

      October 19, 2011
  12. you are officially the best candy maker ever ;D

    October 19, 2011
    • Haha–what about Hershey? They might feel left out 🙂 But thank you Rachel, I will take it!

      October 19, 2011
  13. Congratulations! I love your blog, and I’ve decided to give you the Liebster Award! Check it out on my site – http://www.passingdaisies.net/2011/10/liebster-award.html

    Keep up the great work!

    P.s. – I LOVE junior mints. So I’m glad to have found this recipe. And your story is amazing! Great job!

    October 19, 2011
    • WOW!!! I am so honored by this Rachael–thank you so much for thinking of me and liking this blog. It means so much! Lots of love, Cara xo

      October 19, 2011
  14. Mel #

    I love Seinfeld and remember that episode, what a great show! I’m another Aussie who has never tried Junior Mints but yours look so delicious. I’ll have to try it out one day! 😀

    October 19, 2011
    • That show really was the best, wasn’t it? I loved it the humor behind it–and any show that can make me crave a Junior Mint at 8 o’clock at night is a-ok in my book 🙂 I am now thinking that I must go to Australia and toss Junior Mints in the air for Aussies to catch. haha.

      October 19, 2011
      • Mel #

        Seinfeld is one of my all time favourite comedies and since reading your post I can’t stop thinking about it! Every time I make calzones (which is quite often) I always think about the episode with George and his boss. And now I’m craving calzones!

        October 19, 2011
        • Bahahahaha!!! Makes me wanna cut my candy bars with a knife and pay you in pennies for one of those cal-zonays now! 🙂

          October 19, 2011
  15. O. M. G. YES! I love the idea of filling these with coconut – genius. And in response to your question.. the people who live in my apartment building eat/test everything 🙂 And then I feed my homeless friend who lives in the alley in my house. And.. in regards to your boyfriend suggesting a barter system, I vote YES!

    October 19, 2011
    • Your neighbors are praying that you never move! That is way too funny. Where do you live? I’m thinking I might need to move in the near future…

      October 19, 2011
      • And by the alley in my house – I meant the alley BEHIND my house.. oyy! I live in Denver.. you guys can just move into my spare room 🙂

        October 19, 2011
        • I just finished packing. Where to now???? I will need step-by-step directions…

          October 19, 2011
  16. oh man, these look amazing cara!! I LOVE mintie candies. I was all about york peppermint patties and junior mints before being vegan and I really miss them. I’ll definitely try these tasty babies out. mmmmm.

    October 19, 2011
    • Hi Amey!!! Thank you 🙂 Aaaaaahh, peppermint patties-YES! Why is mint so stinkin’ good????

      October 19, 2011
  17. Cara, can you get any cuter?!!?!?!?!? Ahhh I love mint, I love chocolate – this is a MUST in my book! 🙂 You are on a roll love!

    October 19, 2011
    • I AM on a roll–because I am eating too much candy, I am going to have to be rolled out the front door if I eat anymore 🙂 hehe. I love me some mint too! We are twins…

      October 19, 2011
  18. Ohh my gosh, Junior Mints? I used to LOVE those. They were so minty and delicious! I nominated you for a Liebster award on my blog http://newmanimproved.blogspot.com/! 🙂 Thanks so much for your awesome candy!

    October 19, 2011
    • Tell me, sister! I loved Junior Mints also. Especially frozen. They were also the best (according to me) when they were a little stale and chewier…mmmm…drooling.

      October 19, 2011
  19. I’ve never tried junior mints but I want to give these a go!

    October 19, 2011
    • WHAT??? Mandee, no junior mints? Ever? Go now! Make some… 🙂

      October 19, 2011
  20. These are so impressive, Cara! I love how they are not sugar/fat based. It’s good to know that my body isn’t the only one that revolts after having too much sugar! Now I’ve got to go find some vegan chocolate chips to try these out on!

    October 19, 2011
    • Just don’t look at the other candy recipes on here 🙂 Those aren’t as impressive when it comes to sugar…hehe. Thanks Bean. P.S. That is one of my nicknames as well 🙂 xo

      October 19, 2011
  21. Oooooohhhh. Yuuuuummmmm!!! Man, I haven’t had a Jr. Mint in ages! I love the mint, but the chocolate always tasted so plastic-y. This chocolate looks much better! I bet you could make some rockin’ Peppermint Patties with this recipe, too. Do you use unsweetened coconut? I’ve got a bunch of Bob’s Red Mill shredded coconut in my freezer, but it’s very dry. I can’t imagine it ever being creamy enough to make a dough…

    October 19, 2011
    • You’d be surprised Brooke. Throw it in the blender, maybe add a dash of milk, and see if it works. It will take a few minutes… I think I used sweetened but could work just as well with unsweetened. Maybe add a little agave to give it a boost if needed? And if you make peppermint patties, I want pics!

      October 19, 2011
  22. Oh man. I love these! Especially because they sound so easy and not overwhelmingly sweet.

    You must be burning through so much chocolate this week!

    October 19, 2011
    • I found some non-dairy baking chocolate that comes in this HUGE block–it’s almost gone 🙂 Blech, I think I ruined candy, the same way I ruined breakfast for myself last week…

      October 19, 2011
  23. I love you.

    October 19, 2011
    • I love you too Sarah 🙂 haha

      October 19, 2011
  24. eff yes. four ingredient junior mints. you are magical.

    October 19, 2011
    • No Corrina, that comment was magical! That just made me laugh so hard. Eff yes. Hilarious.

      October 19, 2011
  25. I don’t remember that Seinfeld, but I DO remember Junior Mints. They were my movie candy of choice for a long time. I’m not too clear on what tempered chocolate it, but I think I’ll be finding out.

    October 19, 2011
    • Oh sorry Dawn, tempered chocolate just means chocolate that has been carefully melted. I will go change that. Did you ever put your mints in the freezer?? Aaaaah, that was THE best way to eat them!

      October 19, 2011
      • I don’t think they ever made it home. Thanks for the tip 🙂

        October 19, 2011
        • Oooooohhhh, I get it–what is eaten at the movie theater, stays in the movie theater, eh? wink wink, nudge nudge 🙂

          October 19, 2011
  26. Jr Mints! I remember that episode lol I’m not much of a mint person but I think my hubby would like them.

    October 19, 2011
    • Yay–another Seinfeld watcher 🙂 Even not being a mint person, didn’t you want one after they kept talking about how refreshing those candies were??? haha

      October 19, 2011
  27. Hell. Yes. I’ve never had Junior Mints but I love mint chocolate so I’m definitely making these. You’re a friggin vegan candy rockstar!

    October 19, 2011
    • WHAT????!!! Angela, I am flying you in from Australia to California right this minute so I can feed you some! I cannot believe you have never had a Junior Mint…

      October 19, 2011
  28. Oooh ooooh ooooooooh! Minty chocolately things are my fave.
    🙂

    October 19, 2011
    • Me too!! Well, that and peanut butter and chocolate (but that is a given…)

      October 19, 2011

Leave a comment