Skip to content

Vegan Butterfingers

Do you smell that?

That’s the smell of the end of the breakfast posts era

and the continuation of:

Saturdays!

Let’s not even bother with formalities

and just get right into the good stuff, shall we?

It’s why you came back anyway, just say it.

You don’t care about me, you just care about the candy.

Fair enough.

I don’t blame you.

But I will hurt you

 if you dare lay a finger on my:

Gluten-free and Vegan Butterfingers!

These tasty creatures remind me of what would happen if a

Heath Bar and Butterfinger had babies.

They would procreate a beautiful little treasure I like to call:

Butterath Fingers.

Can you just imagine the crunch that this sucker packs?

Dare I say it’s delightful!

(Is it rude of me to taunt it in your face like this?)

These were so good that not only did Greg

(the only person I have ever met that doesn’t like candy)

say they were awesome…

but even I found myself  Trick-or-Treating at my very own place of residence

 just to get another treat:

(((Side note: It’s incredible how much we take air for granted. I tell ya, those masks do not give way to open nasal passages!)))

Are you ready to make your own Butterath Bars?

Let’s get candy making!

Homemade Butterfingers Recipe

I reviewed this recipe and this one and after 1 failed attempt, I went off of my own instincts with a combo of both.

Makes a 2-3ish dozen mini bars

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 c. light corn syrup
  • 1/2. c. water
  • 1 c. vegan sugar
  • 1 c. peanut butter
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 – 1 1/4 c. Enjoy Life chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Line a 9×13 pan (or a baking sheet will do) with parchment paper.
  2. In a medium/small saucepan, combine the water and sugar together on medium heat and stir until sugar has dissolved.
  3. Add the corn syrup  and stir until combined.
  4. Add candy thermometer (make sure it does not touch the bottom of the pan!)
  5. DO NOT STIR UNTIL IT REACHES 310 DEGREES!  (The 2nd time around, this only took about 10-15 minutes, if that).
  6. While the sugar is boiling, mix together the peanut butter, vanilla and baking soda separately.
  7. Remove sugar from heat once it hits 310 degrees and add peanut butter mix. Stir until completely smooth.
  8. Pour onto parchment paper lined pan. Allow to cool for a few minutes and then take a knife and cut into desired small pieces (mine were approx 2″x1″). Do not cut all the way through–just almost.
  9. Allow to cool for 20 minutes (or even less), then completely cut through the candy.
  10. Melt the chocolate in a microwave safe bowl in 30 second increments, stirring at each point, until completely smooth (about 1 min 30 sec).
  11. Dip candy into chocolate, place on wax paper and using the back of the fork, form little peaks on top to give an “official” look of the candy bar.
  12. Allow to set for several hours (you can even place in the freezer).

After many attempts of Trick-or-Treating

with no luck,

Greg finally felt sorry for this old lass

and succumbed to my pouty face.

I knew it would come in handy one of these days.

He likes me. He really, really likes me! (He better after 5 years…)

I’m sure most of you have left already

to go buy yourself a candy thermometer.

So for those who are still here,

one last picture for the road:

Happy Hauntings!

55 Comments Post a comment
  1. Lizzie #

    Made these again last week. Still so good. But, it took FOREVER to get to 310 degrees, to the point that they did taste a little overcooked. Any thoughts/tips on that? 🙂

    February 5, 2013
  2. Tiffany #

    Just made these and they are even better then I could ever imagine. My son has a dairy allergy and I am always looking for yummy candy recipes to have around for him during the holidays. This one is by far the best one yet, soooooo good!

    December 17, 2012
    • This just made my day! I am soooooo super happy that you liked them, Tiffany. xo

      December 17, 2012
  3. These sound delicious! And it’s awesome that they are both vegan and gluten free! Amazing!

    April 11, 2012
    • And they taste amazing! Try try try! 🙂 xo

      April 11, 2012
  4. Lizzie #

    Last night I made Butterfinger Blizzards with my butterfingers from this recipe. They were quite tasty – haven’t had one in, oh, seven or so years, and this fulfilled a long time craving! I was going to post a pic of the bars, but I’m way too lazy to make them look good, and they were hella ugly – but tastetastic! ;p

    January 10, 2012
    • GET OUT! What ice cream did you use? I think I might have to try this…

      January 10, 2012
      • Lizzie #

        I used So Delicious Creamy Vanilla. Just threw a few of the little butterfingers in the blender with a pile of ice cream and some soy creamer. 🙂

        January 12, 2012
        • Heck yes! You are inspiring me to make a cookies n’ cream blizzard with my Oreos now…

          January 12, 2012
  5. hey, I have an almost nougat recipe maybe I have made an “almost” snicker bar. I will try to post it in the next couple of days.

    October 20, 2011
    • How about posting it now??!! 🙂 hehe.

      October 20, 2011
  6. Love this! You are so creative… I had no idea you could make a butter finger at home. I was inspired to try my own version leaving out the corn syrup and ended up with a 4 ingredient recipe that is amazing…thanks for your inspiration. Have you thought about a Kit Kat bar?

    October 20, 2011
    • Trust me, Stephanie, I had no idea either 🙂 It is funny what happens when you give something a shot–like how you found out! I’m so happy to hear that you figured something BETTER out! Did you use anything to replace the corn syrup or just left it out completely? And yes, I’m racking my brain, trying to figure out Kit Kat–that’s a HARD one (so is figuring out vegan Nougat!) The quest continues…

      October 20, 2011
  7. Your blog is becoming dangerously delicious to me. GF and Vegan Butterfingers? I seriously almost licked the screen. I remember loving these as a kid. I will have to try this soon! I am really in the mood for candy now!

    October 17, 2011
    • Don’t lick the screen, Amanda–the static cling in the air is abundant this time of year and can cause some damage when mixed with saliva and computer screens 🙂 How about I make you some candy and you feed me a tofu reuben sandwich! Deal?

      October 17, 2011
  8. Butterfingers are one of my faves!! Must try this recipe!!! Got any Kit Kat ideas???

    October 17, 2011
    • I’m working on it, Lara! That is a hard one but I always like a challenge…

      October 17, 2011
  9. Never had a butterfinger but I want one! These look UH.MAZING!

    October 17, 2011
    • Never??? Really? Okay Jeni, you are coming over!

      October 17, 2011
  10. Awesome.

    October 16, 2011
  11. ooh those look awesome, such a perfect halloween treat!

    October 16, 2011
    • …or everyday snack… hehehe

      October 16, 2011
  12. We don’t have Butterfingers here but now I really want to try making some! They look fantastic!

    October 16, 2011
    • You guys don’t have Butterfingers??? The travesty!! Yes, go, make some NOW! 🙂

      October 16, 2011
  13. If all goes well, I won’t have to purchase any more treats for my kids’ Halloween bags this year!

    October 16, 2011
    • Are you starting up your own candy-making factory in your kitchen? 🙂 Love it! 🙂

      October 16, 2011
  14. I can’t wait to try these!!! Thanks 🙂

    October 16, 2011
    • You got it, Monique! Hope you can make them soon 🙂

      October 16, 2011
  15. choirqueer #

    This looks amazing! I am totally sharing it with my GF friends.

    October 15, 2011
    • Oh look at you–sharing the candy love!! You are a good friend to have 🙂

      October 15, 2011
  16. This is AWESOME.
    I used to looove butterfingers when I was younger! I would always try to suck all the chocolate off before eating the crunchy inside….. oohh, I have to try this recipe!

    October 15, 2011
    • You are my kind of girl! I used to do the same thing. haha.

      October 15, 2011
  17. Reading this post made me drool, literally, horribly. Heath Bars were by far my favorite candy as a kid… I haven’t really thought about them in years but you got me going again.

    I’ve had luck replacing corn syrup with agave in caramel recipes before… might work here for corn-sensitive people.

    October 15, 2011
    • Oooooh, what a great idea replacing it with agave! Where were you yesterday when I was making these??? 🙂

      October 15, 2011
  18. These look amazing! And the ingredients list is pretty short. Bookmarked. Yup…

    October 15, 2011
    • I was actually surprised at how easy they are to make Angela! I used to be afraid of the candy thermometer and now I am wondering what the fuss was all about. Have fun making them! xo

      October 15, 2011
  19. Oh my goodness, Cara, it’s like you’re reading my mind. Ever since your “twix” post I’ve been wondering how in the world I could do a butterfinger type bar. You rock! I’m also thinking this would be good with toasted coconut on the outside if we could get it to stick w/out the chocolate – a la old fashioned Zagnut bars!

    October 15, 2011
    • You are bringing it back old school Dawn! Try the coconut and tell me how it is. Glad I’m inside your mind 🙂

      October 15, 2011
  20. Very clever!

    October 15, 2011
    • Tooting my own clever horn over here…toot toot 🙂 haha

      October 15, 2011
  21. Too cute with your mask photos and awesome recipe!! Anything with peanut butter and chocolate is a sure winner – no question about that! It’s the ultimate combo in my book…well anything with peanut butter makes me swoon 🙂 great photos too!

    October 15, 2011
    • I’m so happy you appreciate the mask pictures 🙂 haha. They were hilarious to shoot. And you are so right when you say that peanut butter and chocolate is the best combination. I however am realizing that sugar is NOT my friend. Ugh. It is making me sick…so sad 😦

      October 15, 2011
  22. I’m thinking I could use a combo of maple syrup and honey to replace the corn syrup (which my son can’t have) b/c I saw a yummy recipe for caramel apples this week that did that….what do you think?

    October 15, 2011
    • I like the way you think by researching ways to make it safe for your kiddo–you are so creative! Try it and let me know (sounds a lot healthier too!)

      October 15, 2011
    • Heather…would love to find that caramel recipe that has maple syrup and honey to replace corn syrup! Been searching for one to do caramel apples with my daughter. And Cara, I just found your blog in my new found quest to continue eating more clean after my successful adventure on the Beachbody Reset. I am in love! With your recipes and wit. The writer that I am appreciates it very much! 🙂

      October 9, 2012
  23. You, Cara are the powerhouse of the vegan candy world. I should know because I had a butterfinger once. I like your pouting pics too.

    October 15, 2011
    • I was wondering as I was posting this whether or not you have had a butterfinger, too! Once. ha. I love that!

      October 15, 2011
  24. Get. OUT! Butterfingers are like my second favorite candy bar of all time! Next week, if you make Three Musketeers I am going to come to your house and marry you and let you make me candy all day long m’kay? M’kay.

    October 15, 2011
    • Oh so tempting Brooke! haha. I just might have to do some research now…

      October 15, 2011
  25. Julie #

    These look AMAZING! Yummmmmmmm 🙂

    October 15, 2011
    • I’m bringing you and Krystal some! I can’t eat anymore. I’m exploding from all the sugar…

      October 15, 2011
  26. oh no you didn’t! you need to stop because i’ve loved every post, and you’re starting to make me actually like halloween (hard because i’m so thoroughly entrenched in camp christmas)..

    October 15, 2011
    • Oh yes I did–muahahaha! Corrina, darling, come reside in BOTH camps with me 🙂 I love every holiday really… But to tell me that you don’t like Halloween, well now, that just plain hurts…

      October 15, 2011
  27. TImes like this I kind of wish my body would let me properly digest chocolate. Spare me your colon for a day, won’t you? Cause these look sooooooooooooooooooooooooooo good.

    October 15, 2011
    • I really can’t eat them either. I was so sick yesterday because I had to test them several times. Unfortunately my digestive system is no better 😦 Are we a couple of old ladies, or what??!

      October 15, 2011

Leave a comment