Skip to content

Owl be watching you…

Two days remain (counting today) until the completion of:

Week.

I’m really gonna miss these suckers when they’re gone.

Aren’t you?

They have really grown on me…

But fear not, my goulish gremlins.

Next week provides a whole new theme.

*cue canned applause*

I knew you would be pleased.

Now, before we mourn their absence, it’s time I introduced you to Thursday’s edition.

I give to you:

Chocolate-covered Strawberry Owls.

Okay, so maybe they are not THAT freaky.

Okay, okay, maybe not even just a little bit?

But boy are they sure fun to look at!

*And pssst, I heard eating one makes you smarter.*

The choco-covered strawberry owl, that is.

(((Possible old wives tale, though. Hasn’t been proven yet))).

HERE IS WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Put your strawberries in the freezer that will be used for the owl’s body. Keep chilled for a good 20 minutes at least.
  2. You will need an extra strawberry to thinly slice in half and cut out an isosceles triangle. (See? I paid attention in Geometry!) Use for the nose.
  3. Slice the almonds in half. You will need lots of extras for mess-ups. For the feet slice the bottom portions of the almonds.
  4. Melt the chocolate in 30 second increments in the microwave (about 1 minute 30 seconds total).
  5. Remove strawberries from freezer and immediately dip into chocolate until evenly covered.
  6. Place eyes, nose, wings and feet onto owl–press down to ensure that they are sticking and then place back into the freezer for another 25 minutes or until set.

Set these guys on a platter to be shared with everyone.

You just might find that your guests will be keeping an eye on everyone else,

making sure no one touches their strawberry owl…

They just might bring out the inner hunter in you…

28 Comments Post a comment
  1. Donna #

    Wow!!..Halloween perfection!! Question, WHERE can I find those “eyes”?..I live in France and have never seen them!..Any ideas for subbing them with something else?!!! Your creativity is absolutely impressive and stunning at the same time…..Thank you for your healthy APPEALING ideas…

    October 18, 2011
    • Hey Donna! First off, thank you for what you said! That just put a big smile on my face. About the eyes, you can try to locate some from any cooking and/or arts and craft stores. Or look it up online for “edible eyes” that you can order online in France. If you still cannot find them, depending on your diet requirements you could try the following: a yogurt-covered raisin, split in half with black icing for the pupil. plain raisin, you could also try piping your own thick icing for the white parts. Do any of these suggestions help? If not, let me know and I will keep thinking. xoxo, Cara

      October 18, 2011
      • Donna #

        Thank you so much for the RAPID RESPONSE!!…Your idea for the edible eyes was spot-on and located in the baker’s creativity section of a nearby “bricolage” store….

        That you take the time to so helpfully answer your follower’s queries…in addition to the time devoted to recipe-creation, superb photography and equally superb writing-with-intelligence-and-humour …..is astounding…Thanks for being so giving of yourself…We all (your reader/fans) profit!!!

        October 19, 2011
        • Yay! I am so happy that you found the eyes Donna. Take pics of the Owls–I wanna see them đŸ™‚ And another THANK YOU for the really kind words!! I absolutely LOVE doing this and I love all of you who not only support me but get a kick out of it too. So it is my total pleasure to respond back to everyone because, to me, what’s the point otherwise? It’s my top priority, really, and iIt means so much to know that you see and appreciate that. I’m so happy that found yourself a spot here! đŸ™‚ xoxo, Cara

          October 19, 2011
  2. Mo #

    Adorables!

    October 14, 2011
  3. most darling things ever!

    October 7, 2011
    • Pretty cute huh? Almost makes you not want to eat them but just stare at them đŸ™‚ Thank you for thinking so! xo

      October 7, 2011
  4. SO cute! =)

    October 6, 2011
    • Thank you so much Vanessa! xo

      October 6, 2011
  5. Jes #

    What amazingly cute owl treats! I would have never thought to make owls out of chocolate covered strawberries–super awesome!

    October 6, 2011
    • If you stand long enough in the produce aisle, wondering what you can do with various fruits and vegetables, you just might find these ideas đŸ™‚ You will also find people staring at you mysteriously (but you will be so deep in thought you won’t notice) hehe. Thanks for stopping by, Jes! xo, Cara

      October 6, 2011
  6. Your soooo so creative!! đŸ™‚

    October 6, 2011
    • hehehe. Thank you Shannon. I finally have an outlet for all of my crazy ideas…

      October 6, 2011
  7. I love these guys too. Awww. Here’s your morning joke. What happens ot an owl who has laryngytis?
    He doesn’t give a hoot. Can’t wait to see what you’re up to next week.

    October 6, 2011
    • hahaha! That’s punny đŸ™‚ Now I want a joke everyday!!!

      October 6, 2011
  8. All of your entries have been adorable. I have to admit though that at first I thought that was a prune. How bad is it that the thought of that made me happy?

    October 6, 2011
    • I don’t think you should ever say stuff like that out loud đŸ™‚ Just kidding, Dawn! I can totally see these working with prunes though so I say try it! Thank you so much for your kind words. xoxo, Cara

      October 6, 2011
      • Hehe. I’m used to getting laughed at for liking prunes. I don’t *need* them. I just like them.

        October 9, 2011
  9. Bwahaha… they’re a little bit freaky! Totally adorable though, and so tasty looking too.

    I’ll be sad to see freaky fruits on hiatus but looking forward to seeing what you’re up to next week too!

    October 6, 2011
    • You’re just saying they look freaky to make me feel better about inserting an adorable owl into the mix, aren’t you? I’ll take it! đŸ™‚ I’m going to be sad too about the farewell of freaky fruits–maybe we should throw a good-bye party??? hehe.

      October 6, 2011
  10. I have a thing for owls, and I have a thing for things coated in chocolate. If that happens to be a strawberry then even better.
    I giggle at your craziness every day, you are such a joy to come and visit.
    xxxx

    October 6, 2011
    • Jeni, thank you so much for your comment love!! You have no idea how much it means to me. And I’m so glad that you get your 3 needs met in one delicious treat đŸ™‚ I love owls myself–there is one that sits on the telephone wire outside my kitchen window at night. I just stand there and watch him–so amazing to me. He inspired me to do this bit today đŸ™‚ xoxo

      October 6, 2011
  11. LOVE this!

    October 6, 2011
    • Thank you Carrie đŸ™‚

      October 6, 2011
  12. Seriously? All these halloween foods are amazing! I would gladly eat lots of lil owls.

    October 6, 2011
    • Seriously! haha. Thank you Sarah. Maybe you can settle the old wives tale once and for all for all of us and tell us if eating them makes one smarter đŸ™‚

      October 6, 2011
  13. joyfulgirl #

    These are SO CUTE! Must bookmark!

    October 6, 2011
    • Please do! I’m so glad you the freaky (okay, okay!) cute owls đŸ™‚

      October 6, 2011

Leave a comment