Skip to content

Frank and Willy paint the town red.

You haven’t forgotten this week’s theme, now have you??

I didn’t think so.

Glad you came back for more

because kids,

we are just getting started.

Next on the menu are these handy and portable

white chocolate-covered

banana pops!

Your party guests will love walking around the room with these guys snug close to them.

*Friends, meet Frank and Willy.

One-eyed Willy and Frankenstein, meet my friends.*

You will be like a magician when your guests see that you mysteriously and magically turned

these naked banana slices 

into:

These utterly spooky Frankenstein pops!

Here is your ingredients list to make Frank:

**not pictured: melted vegan white chocolate chips, natural green food coloring and 2 sunflower seeds for the neck bolts.**

Like a Frankenstein monster, my brain was missing when I took these pictures…

Just kidding Frank. You are beautiful just as you are.

DIRECTIONS:

  1. When you slice the banana, cut it in 4s. Use the straight edged cuts for Frank. He will thank you later for it. You will yield 2 per banana (save the ends for Willy).
  2. Put the stick into the banana and freeze for a good 20 minutes.
  3. While the bananas are freezing, take the almond slice and make a scar pattern on it using the edible writing pen.
  4. Slice the fig in 3 pieces, slicing across the narrowest part of the fruit. You can use the top and bottom parts for 2 different Franks. Gently scoop out the fig guts and with your fingers, again gently stretch out the fig so it will fit on top of the banana slice.
  5. Melt vegan white chocolate chips and drop coloring to get the green hue you want. My chocolate ended up being too watery (I used a little rice milk to melt it) and so it didn’t really stick. I kinda like how it worked out, however. Do as you please!
  6. Take bananas out of the freezer and dip into chocolate. Work fast because the choco gets difficult to work with as it cools.
  7. Place eyes, scar, sunflower seed neck bolts and fig head on to banana slices and put back into the freezer for another 30 minutes or until set.

 

Time to pull that rabbit out of the hat again and turn these:

into THESE:

One-eyed Willy pops!

(I must give credit to where credit is due and inform you

that I am not the one who named these creatures.

Greg did.

I hate it when he beats me to creative genius.

There is just not enough room for the both of us at times, you know?)

 

Here is your ingredients list to make Willy:

**not pictured: melted vegan white chocolate and shredded coconut.***

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Follow instructions for Frank.
  2. When bananas have sat in freezer, melt chocolate. Roll the banana stick into choco and then immediately roll onto the shredded coconut. You will need to use your fingers to lightly press down on the coconut to get it to stick to Willy.
  3. Place single eye in the middle. Freeze again until set.

 

 

The real trick is getting these creatures to talk.

If you listen close enough you will swear you hear them say:

I think that was a threat???

and…

Sometimes you have to choose between beauty and brains, Frank. I think we know which one you chose.

To display your banana pops, you can do one of 2 things:

1: Lay them flat on their backs on a platter.

or

2: Fill a wide-mouth bowl with rice and stick them straight up.

56 Comments Post a comment
  1. Tina B #

    These are awesome! Do you recommend keeping them frozen until serving, or how long ahead do you think you can prepare them. I’d like to make them for my sons’ Halloween parties at preschool, so I’m just trying to figure out the logistics.

    October 20, 2011
    • Good question! You could definitely freeze them the night before, I would think. I don’t see any problem with that and I will keep my fingers crossed for you that it works out! 🙂 Good luck, Tina.

      October 20, 2011
      • Tina B #

        Thanks, I’ll give it a try!

        October 21, 2011
  2. Mo #

    This is so freaking creative!

    October 14, 2011
  3. Your biggest fan! #

    Here’s another place for edible eyes:
    http://www.fancyflours.com

    October 9, 2011
    • Thank you biggest fan. Shall I start calling you this or keep the name I have been calling you all my life, mother? haha

      October 9, 2011
  4. These are adorable!!

    October 9, 2011
    • Thank you! xo. Cara

      October 9, 2011
  5. These are AWESOME! Would you be at all interested in tagging it for our healthy Halloween recipe round-up? How genius! http://paleoparents.com/2011/inspired-by-spunky-coconut-halloween-recipe-round-up-and-bagel-review/

    October 7, 2011
    • Absolutely! Just let me know what you would like me to do and how to go about it. Thank you for the offer 🙂

      October 7, 2011
      • These and the apple vampire mouth are grainfree so I’ll link to them both in the round-up post that I do. Otherwise all you need to do is add the “I Eat Food” graphic and link back to the post when it goes live, Oct 17th 🙂

        We’ve got some great entries submitted but these are by far my FAVORITE (shh, don’t tell). So glad Lexie linked to you – a gem of a find, I’m a new groupie now!

        October 7, 2011
        • Ohmygosh, are you serious? You are making me blush with all those kind words! Thank you times one million 🙂 You seriously just made my day. I might have more questions in regards to the instructions on linking back. If so, I will email you. xoxo, Cara

          October 7, 2011
  6. KT #

    This is BRILLIANT! I enjoy reading your blog so much… your photography is positively stunning. 🙂

    October 6, 2011
    • KT, you are so super sweet to say that!!! Thank you so much for coming back and reading my craziness! I’m so glad that you are enjoying what you are finding… xo, Cara

      October 6, 2011
  7. Oh and Brooke, I saw those eyes at Michaels : )

    October 6, 2011
    • Maybe that is where I got them? haha. Good eye, Lexie…

      October 6, 2011
  8. Brilliant! Thanks I desperately needed ideas. Kid #2 was just diagnosed with most of the same food intolerances as Kid #1. Here we go. Bananas we CAN do : )

    xoLexie

    October 6, 2011
    • Oh no, sorry to hear about your second child’s diagnosis 😦 My sister has the same issue with her 2 daughters. Not fun and/or easy! But at least you got it covered and are prepared now. Glad these will help you out, Lexie!

      October 6, 2011
  9. These are just too stinkin’ cute. I found the eyes here: http://www.sweetbakingsupply.com/edible-sugar-toppers-eyes-c-23_50.html?&page=2 and they are edible except they’re not vegan… What a great, healthier option for a party! Also, “One Eyed Willy” meant something *completely* different growing up in the South. Yours is much, much cuter! o.O

    October 6, 2011
    • Bahaha!!! Thank you and yes, we shall not remember our childhoodv ersion for the name 🙂 Yeah, I really can’t remember where I got the eyes–they were sugar-based (so technically they are edible) however I snub my nose at them. Cara as a kid would full on eat them, Cara as an adult, however…not so much. I got them awhile back with hopes of doing something with them (another reason non-edible) so now my memory fails me. You can always make them with your own veganized icing too! Thanks for checking them out, Brooke!

      October 6, 2011
  10. you’re killing me with these halloween themed treats! i feel inspired every time i see ’em 🙂

    October 6, 2011
    • Don’t you just LOVE Halloween? I think I could a halloween-themed food blog every day of the year!!! 🙂

      October 6, 2011
  11. This is freakin’ AWESOME! I teach Special Ed and I think… (maybe if we used something edible for the eyeball) my kids could make the “One-Eyed-Willy” … they would LOVE it!!

    October 5, 2011
    • That would be awesome, Marti! I used to work with Special Ed students myself and I think this would be such a fun project! You can buy sugared eyes at most crafty stores. Have fun and let me know how your students like it…

      October 6, 2011
  12. LOVE these! How cute is Willy?!? I love your creativity and your photos – Halloween is coming soon, thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    October 5, 2011
    • Willy is so pleased you like him 🙂 Thank you Nora for your sweet words!

      October 6, 2011
  13. Jan #

    oh belly laughs. . i’ve missed you.
    i love how you write- i can hear your voice coming through! muah!

    October 5, 2011
    • I miss you too my friend 🙂 I am so glad that you get me…

      October 5, 2011
  14. This post is so awesome, I love it!

    October 5, 2011
    • Thank you Jojo! Frank and Willy appreciate it 🙂

      October 5, 2011
  15. wow. what epic bananas! so rad.

    October 5, 2011
    • Anyone who still uses the word “rad” is definitely a friend of mine! 🙂

      October 5, 2011
  16. So creative! Wow!

    October 5, 2011
    • Aw shucks, Vegan Wheekers 🙂 Thanks…

      October 5, 2011
  17. Well, if these aren’t the cutest things I’ve ever seen!!! Where do you get the non-edible eyes? ^_^

    October 5, 2011
    • Great question. I will have to go back and figure that one out. I bought them a long time ago and it slips my memory (as it happens often)….

      October 5, 2011
  18. This is the most adorable vegan crafty treat I’ve ever seen. You win Vegan MoFo!

    October 5, 2011
    • Haha! Alright!!!! I didn’t even know that I could win 🙂 Sweet. What’s my prize??? Thanks so much, Monica!

      October 5, 2011
  19. choirqueer #

    I love this! What an adorable – I mean, terrifying! EEK! – and clever theme. I am sharing it with everyone I know!

    October 5, 2011
    • Thank you choirqueen! And that’s right–they are terrifying!!! (we don’t want Frank and Willy to get a complex!) 🙂

      October 5, 2011
  20. I love these guys! One question can I eat the whole edible pen?

    October 5, 2011
    • Haha. Depends on your ability to consume plastic 🙂 Okay, okay, I should have said, edible ink?

      October 5, 2011
  21. Love them! I’m going to make one-eyed Willy for our celebration. I like the idea of sticking them in the bowl of rice, too.

    October 5, 2011
    • Oooooooh did someone say celebration??? Fun!

      October 5, 2011
  22. Jess #

    Ok love … these are unreal. I read this daily and you just blow my mind. You are so creative Cara, and I just love that you are getting the beginning (and just the beginning sister) of the recognition you deserve. Something huge is coming … I can feel it, and no that’s not my morning coffee induced poop talkin’ …

    Love you.

    October 5, 2011
    • Bahahaha!!! Okay seriously Jess, this just put the BIGGEST smile on my face to read that you are reading this daily. First of all, thank you so much for supporting FAB! Secondly, thank you for your super kind words to me AND your belief in me! That means so much to me. I’m thinking Martha better move over because she has some gluten-free/vegan competition coming her way 🙂 hahaha. I love you!!

      October 5, 2011
  23. LOVE THESE!

    October 5, 2011
    • Thank you Jeni for coming back! 🙂 xoxo

      October 5, 2011
  24. These are so cute! I’m loving all your fun ideas. Definitely going to make these for my 3 year old’s monster birthday party next weekend 🙂

    October 5, 2011
    • Oh fun! He will definitely love them!!!

      October 5, 2011
  25. omgosh you are so creative! i would never think to use that stuff to make little halloween characters, how cool 🙂

    October 5, 2011
    • Thank you Rachel! I’m so glad you like them!

      October 5, 2011
  26. You have way too many good ideas! Each of your MoFo posts is more beautiful than the last. I love these guys. Totally adorable.

    October 5, 2011
    • Wow. THANK YOU! You are so sweet to say that. Thank you times 1 milliion!

      October 5, 2011
  27. There are no words for how stinkin’ adorable these are.

    October 5, 2011
    • I think Frank says is it best, wouldn’t you agree? haha. Thank you dawn!

      October 5, 2011

Leave a comment