Skip to content

Pumpkin muffins for your soul.

I think that one of the worst things that we can do to ourselves is to forget our awesomeness.

Self-doubt is a real bitch, isn’t it?

Wouldn’t you agree?

I thought so too.

The problem, I am realizing, really lies within that pesky little brain of ours.

Man, can it just flat-out lie to you:

  • You are not enough.
  • You can’t do anything right.
  • No one likes you.
  • You will never be as (fill in the blank) as (fill in the blank).
  • You have to be the best or else no one will love you.
  • You might as well just quit.

As I write these out, I realize that these are just completely irrational fears.

And just ridiculous as well.

They sound so silly saying them out loud, yet they feel so vicious and real when you are hearing them in your mind.

So what do I do when self-doubt is tormenting me?

I bake. 

Baking can be torture for me but I have a masochistic love for it.

Because it is a challenge for me, I try at it often.

You could even say that I am David and it is my Goliath.

Sometimes its monolithic stature overwhelms me and leaves me to believe that I cannot conquer it.

That is why I do it.

I fear it. 

I face it eye-to-eye until I fear it no more.

Or at least until I realize that there is nothing to fear.

Only mistakes.

And mistakes, I am trying to teach myself, are good.

Baking is my teacher.

My guru.

My nemesis.

My helper.

I might not be great at it but I am trying to understand it.

 It teaches me most about life and self-doubt.

What I’ve learned is that you cannot spend too much time in your head.

Planning.

Thinking.

Re-hashing.

You just have to do it.

***The best part?***

The people in your life will still love you even if the muffins you make aren’t the best thing they have ever tasted.

You are more than your baking.

Your job.

Your friends.

Your beauty.

Your blog.

Your self-doubt.

You are completely enough without any of it.

Quinoa Pumpkin Muffins Recipes

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 c. quinoa flour
  • 1/2 c. quinoa flakes
  • 3 Tbs refined coconut oil, melted
  • 1/2 c. canned pumpkin
  • 1 Tb flaxseed meal + 2 Tb warm water (or 1 egg)
  • 1/3 c. hemp milk + 1/2 Tb apple cider vinegar (let sit for 10 minutes) = buttermilk
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground ginger
  • 1/8 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
DIRECTIONS
  1. Combine flours, baking soda, powder, salt and spices together in a small bowl.
  2. Combine remaining ingredients together in a large bowl.
  3. Pour 1/2 flour mix into the wet ingredients until combined. Repeat with remainder of flour.
  4. Greased muffin tin with coconut oil. Pour batter 3/4 full.
  5. Bake at 400 degrees for 22-25 minutes.
Makes 6 muffins.
You can find these bad boys on Slightly Indulgent Tuesday. Oh yeeeeaaaaah.
18 Comments Post a comment
  1. Liz #

    These are amazing!! I made them with a little more flour and used an egg. Such fluffy muffins. And low FODMAP!

    November 12, 2012
  2. Connie #

    going to make this recipe tonight- any substitute for the brown sugar that anyone has tried … and worked 🙂 ? Living sugar free.
    I LOVE pumpkin muffins! Found a vegan one yesterday at a local bakery and set the craving off again but the last recipe I had had loads of sugar and oil in it .
    Great blog 🙂

    August 4, 2012
  3. My first time here. Nice blog and super post. Well done.

    October 4, 2011
    • Thank you so much, Yazid. I’m glad you are liking what you find here 🙂

      October 5, 2011
  4. Thank you. So needed to read this right now!

    September 29, 2011
    • You are so welcome Iris! I guess you can say I owed you that from the encouragement I got from your post 🙂

      September 30, 2011
  5. Love this! I need to make these, I have all the ingredients on hand 🙂 these muffins sound and look incredible! Thanks Cara!

    September 29, 2011
    • Thank you, Nora! I hope they turn out good for you 🙂

      September 29, 2011
  6. Wow… I cannot express how much love I have for this post right now.
    Today has been so difficult for me. Just one of those days, you know, and It feels good to know I am not fighting this alone.
    Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

    September 26, 2011
    • I’m sending you a big hug from one girl in L.A. to another, Monica 🙂 You are definitely not alone and I am so glad to hear that found a little bit of comfort! Here’s to your week getting better! xoxo

      September 26, 2011
  7. ahhh this looks fabulous! i love quinoa and pumpkin! happy that its gluten free 🙂

    September 26, 2011
    • I’m beginning to really enjoy the flavor of quinoa flour now… Are you gluten free?

      September 26, 2011
  8. These look so good! All the food pictures on your blog always look soo good and make me hungry! 😀

    September 25, 2011
    • Come on over and we can eat Pumpkin Muffins 🙂

      September 25, 2011
  9. Love this post. I am posting about something similar this weekend – don’t think that I’m stealing! You are so right – sounds ridiculous when you say it out loud, but when it’s shouting in my head, it seems so normal… Aaarugh. PS: Can I frost these muffins? Hope so.

    September 24, 2011
    • I won’t think you are stealing regardless 🙂 I think it’s going around this week through the air… The muffins aren’t exactly as I would have hoped–maybe you will tweak them and find they came out great. Let me know! And yes! Top with lots of frosting!! Or a sugar/nut streusel. Or just nuts. Whatever you want! Hope you are doing a little better today… xoxo

      September 24, 2011
  10. You are so Encouraging, Inspiring, Astounding….Just what a person needs to realize the human torture we put ourselves through with self doubt and help us realize…We are Enough, just the way we are….We can get out of the horrible muck. YOU GIVE US HOPE!!! AMAZING!!! Thank you for it ALL. The photos and recipes look so Very Delicious!!! Where did you come from? I Love You and All that you give us!!!

    September 24, 2011
    • As always, your encouragement comes at just the right time. Thank you for all your super duper kind words. I’m keeping them close to my heart…

      September 24, 2011

Leave a comment