Skip to content

Beth’s Sloppy Joes

I first met Beth’s blog, Tasty Yummies in the beginning of this year through a fellow blogger. I so fell in love with Beth and her personality–if you are lucky to get a comment from her, you will know that it quickly becomes one of your favorite things to read because it is so thoughtful and encouraging. She is super passionate about what she blogs about (food!) and her spirit is nothing short of contagious. She might even get you to throw those yoga pants on and get to a yoga class…

Hi guys, I’m Beth, the yoga-obsessed, graphic designer/illustrator behind Tasty Yummies! First off, I am so honored to be posting here at Fork & Beans, when Cara wrote asking if I would share a recipe for
her People You Should know series I was so delighted. Fork & Beans is one of my absolute favorites. Cara is insanely inspiring, oozing with personality and you quickly feel like you have known her forever, by just reading a few of her posts and chatting with her through comments. Cara is refreshingly honest and open and I really admire that. It has been an absolute pleasure getting to know Cara through each other’s blogs, I feel so blessed that our paths have crossed.

I am so passionate about food and cooking that I find it hard to talk about me, my blog and my food in a short concise way, so I will do my best to give you a brief introduction. Tasty Yummies focuses on whole, fresh and unprocessed foods. All of my recipes are gluten- free and many are also vegan. Although I have been gluten-free for 7 years, over 2 years ago I made a huge life change to cut out processed foods, refined sugars and other yucky things from my diet that didn’t serve me. Throughout this journey I dropped 30lbs, I became consumed by yoga and I found a newly energized, healthier version of me.

When it comes to food, I love having fun with my recipes, making things that anyone would enjoy, no matter if they have food allergies, intolerances, restrictions or not. I love the challenge of making delicious, humble dishes that anyone would eat with enjoyment and with a clean plate, look up at me in amazement when I tell them it was gluten-free and vegan.

I like fuss-free seasonal foods that don’t require a long list of hard-to-find ingredients that you’ve never heard of and I cook using fresh, seasonal, local and organic ingredients whenever possible. I have really come to embrace the idea of listening to your own body and what is right for you. What is right isn’t the same for every person and once you can start taking cues from what your own body is trying to tell you, you and your body will be so much happier.

These Sloppy Joes are so representative of my views on food. I like to have fun, but still keep it smart and healthy. I love re-imagining classic comfort foods, in a new way. My meat-eating hubby loves this recipe and asks for it every week. When I had made these to take photos for this post, a good friend of ours stopped by and I offered him a sloppy joe sandwich, he said he wasn’t hungry since he had a steak a few hours before. He then went on to say he’d like to try it, but he may only eat a bite or two and that I shouldn’t be offended. A few minutes later, we looked down at his plate and the sandwich was totally gone, every last bit. Nothing makes me happier that to feed someone and leave them happy and shocked that what they ate was gluten-free and vegan.

These Sloppy Joes are loaded with amazing comforting flavors and have a nice little hint of heat from the sriracha sauce. I also love the additional flavor from the liquid smoke, it gives the sandwich that delicious open-pit BBQ flavor. If you are soy-free or try to avoid soy, you could make these Sloppy Joes with cooked lentils or chopped up cooked portobello mushrooms instead of the TVP. I myself eat very little soy, but this dish is something I always make an exception for.

I served the Sloppy Joes with a delicious kohlrabi slaw with cranberries and walnuts, on the side. Head on over to Tasty Yummies to get that recipe and many others. You can also find Tasty Yummies on Facebook https://www.facebook.com/TastyYummies, you can also find me on Twitter at @herobeth.

Thank you so much Cara for asking me to post and thank you to anyone that travels over to Tasty Yummies to look around, comment, drool or whatever else.

Sloppy Joes – Gluten-free + Vegan
Makes 6-8 servings

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small onion (or 1/2 of a large), diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 green bell pepper, diced
2 cups textured vegetable protein TVP – (see above for other suggestions
instead of TVP)
1 28-ounce can of organic crushed tomatoes
1/4 cup organic tomato paste
2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce (make sure it is gluten-free and vegan)
1-2 teaspoons sriracha sauce (optional)
1 teaspoon liquid smoke
1 tablespoon stoneground or wholegrain mustard

1 tablespoon maple sugar (brown sugar or any other sugar of your choice)
3/4 – 1 cup water (you may need a little more if it is too thick)
Salt and pepper to taste

Heat olive oil in large sauté pan over a medium heat. Add diced onion,
green bell pepper and garlic, sauté for 5 to 8 minutes.

Add the TVP, crushed tomatoes, tomato paste, Worcestershire sauce,
sriracha sauce, liquid smoke, mustard, maple sugar, 3/4 cup of water, salt
and pepper to the sauté pan. Lower the heat, cover and simmer for 40 –
45 minutes. Stirring often. You may find you want to add more water if it
seems too thick. Serve on gluten-free/vegan hamburger rolls.

34 Comments Post a comment
  1. Sara A. #

    I’ve made sloppy joes with both lentils and TVP and in my experience the lentils need more seasoning. I usually double the amount of seasoning.

    Also, try these with pickles!! So good…..

    July 3, 2012
  2. Ooooooo!!!! I’ve not had sloppy joes in years! So excited to try this. Looks fantastic! Thanks for sharing. Great post!

    July 2, 2012
  3. oooo sloppy joes, slop sloppy joes! Such a classic recipe that we haven’t had in forever, I feel a sloppy joe night coming on this week!

    July 1, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Ha I totally sing that song the entire time I make these! I hope you enjoy if you try this recipe!

      July 3, 2012
  4. What a great guest post, I have to try this recipe (minus the soy) asap!

    Great to be introduced to Beth’s blog 🙂

    July 1, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Hi and thanks Mandee – please let me know how they turn out if you make them soy-free. I haven’t made them any other way yet, but I really try to avoid too much soy myself, so I would love to try this with lentils!

      July 3, 2012
  5. Maddy #

    This looks fantastic! I’ve never had a sloppy joe but I find that after going vegan, all the foods I would never touch before hand like sloppy joes, hamburgers, reuben sandwiches taste so delicious cruelty free and I’m willing to try them! Do you think this would work with soy curls?

    June 30, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Thanks Maddy! I think you will definitely enjoy these, even if you’ve never had sloppy joes. They are just that good. I am not sure I know what soy curls are, so I can’t say for sure if it would work, but as long as the soy curls can hold together in the sauce and have a bit of texture to them, they will be perfect.

      July 3, 2012
  6. Wow congrats on such a transformation! Plant-based all the way ;0

    This recipe looks amazing! I never really had Sloppy Joes a lot growing up, I can’t even remember ever eating it! I’ve had a vegan lentil version though and loved it. This one looks to die for and perfect for summer. Love the blog my the way!

    Hey Cara 🙂

    June 30, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Thank you so so much Gabby! We had sloppy joes very rarely at home growing up too, but I definitely remember them, for hubby this was a super nostalgic meal, he loved them as a kid. Thanks again for your nice compliments 🙂

      July 3, 2012
  7. That pretty sloppyness! great to hear about your path to feeling good with the diet changes.. and yoga is something i need to pick back up soon. Have a fun weekend!

    June 30, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Not bad looking for something with the word “sloppy” in it, huh? haha. Thanks so much Richa, and yes definitely get back to yoga, your body, mind and spirit will definitely thank you for it 😉

      July 3, 2012
  8. I am already a huge fan, Beth! I’ve never made “Sloppy Joes” – It seems to be a favourite on that side of the globe though… From movies/TV I take it is is served in school cafeterias a lot?(most school here don’t have cafeterias, everyone just brings their own food to school)

    Anyway, I digress, this looks/sounds like the perfect comfort food – especially for me as it is Winter here, and I’m always on the lookout for hearty/healthy/warmy foods!

    Thanks to both of you gorgeous gals 🙂

    June 29, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Thanks so much Lou, this is definitely comforting food!

      July 3, 2012
  9. jim #

    hello, im the friend that stopped by for dinner, and let me tell you… i have never been a fan of sloppy joes, they actually disgust me. However, beths sloppy joes were absolutely fantastic. The heat, both temp and spice, were perfect. the texture was fantastic, and the taste was out of this world. the accompanying salad was also great and i gobbled that up before i even touched the sandwich. the entire meal was fantastic, as was the company, and i think that one of the most important aspects of the meal was the healthy nature of it. It felt so good to have a great meal and know that i was doing somehting good for my body as well. i look forward to our next meal. thanks again beth:)

    June 29, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Jammer!! Thanks again buddy, an enthusiastic, adventurous eater is always welcome in my home! Glad to cook for you and even more glad that you liked it 🙂

      July 3, 2012
  10. Heather @ Better With Veggies #

    LOVE, love sloppy joes! I’ve had a lentil version that I really enjoy, but love the sound of this one too. I’ve pinned this for future meal planning. 🙂

    June 29, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Thanks Heather! I definitely need to try this with lentils, hopefully hubby will like it just as much!

      June 29, 2012
  11. Tasty Yummies #

    Cara thank you again so so much for having me and for your very lovely words. You really have inspired me to have fun with my food and to play more! Thank you again for everything and I hope everyone enjoys my recipe! ❤ xoxo

    June 29, 2012
  12. Somer #

    Ok, it’s time to break out some TVP. Need comfort food now!

    June 29, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      It definitely doesn’t get more comforting than this! 🙂

      June 29, 2012
      • Somer #

        I’m thinking 4th of July food, while everyone else is BBQing!

        June 29, 2012
  13. what an inspiring story! it’s amazing what a plant-based diet can do for someone’s health and wellness!

    sloppy joes were one of my very favorite meals growing up. this is looks outrageously delicious!

    June 29, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Thank you so much Caitlin! The biggest life and diet change I have ever made was cutting our processed foods and cutting back to eating very little meat! I for sure had a special place in my heart for sloppy joes as a kid, too – these definitely fill that void! Thanks again

      June 29, 2012
  14. great post Beth! those sloppy joes look incredible — definitely a crowd pleaser! yummmmm!

    June 29, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Hi Caralyn, thanks so much! Considering I made two meat-eating dudes happy with these, I’d say they are definitely a success! 🙂

      June 29, 2012
  15. That recipe looks wonderful! Thanks for introducing me to Beth, Cara – Beth, your blog looks fabulous! I share your opinion on food down to a T. 🙂

    June 29, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Thank you so much Willow – I love being surrounded by so many people that share my thoughts and loves of food and what it can do for us! 🙂

      June 29, 2012
  16. You dropped 30 pounds? That’s incredible! Proof in the power of plant based diets 😉 I love sloppy j’s made with TVP and I cannot wait to try this – we’re doing a picnic for the 4th and I believe this will be a great way to trick the meat eaters.

    HI CARA.

    June 29, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Thanks so much Ashlae, with cutting wayyy back on meat (only eating it when we get it from a local farmer who raises his animals on pasture without hormones and antibiotics) and cutting out processed foods, the weight literally fell off! Additionally, I am almost never sick anymore and I feel like a brand new person. It is so incredible what an effect food has on every aspect of our bodies – I wanna shout it to the world 🙂

      June 29, 2012
  17. I’ve got half a bag of TVP calling my name from my pantry right now. It’s a little creepy, actually… I think I’ll smother it with sauce and eat it. That aughtta do it.

    June 29, 2012
    • Tasty Yummies #

      Brooke – I am like you. I bought TVP on a whim a while back and had no clue what to do with it, then I came up with this idea. After my hubby continuously asked for me to make it again and again, I knew I had found a winner!

      June 29, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. TVP Sloppy Joes Stuffed Roasted Sweet Potatoes « the taste space – steam, bake, boil, shake!
  2. Gluten Free Vegan “Sloppy Joes” | Gluten Free Vegan Living

Leave a comment