Skip to content

Holy guacamole, Batman!

THREE days until Halloween!

Anyone got their costumes ready yet??

Today is a special post because I am giving you 2 Halloween-inspired food ideas.

Two for the price of one?

“You must be crazy!” you are thinking.

You are right!

I am crazy.

…Crazy about Halloween (too obvious?)…

and giving you as many ideas for your Halloween-themed party as possible.

Bat-a-mole Recipe

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 Reed avocado, mashed
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1/4 c. cilantro
  • chips (I am obsessed with these non-corn chips!!!)
  • black olives, sliced

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Combine guacamole ingredients together (avocado, garlic, lime juice and cilantro)
  2. Using an ice cream scoop, scoop out a small circle and place on a platter (or individual plates).
  3. Place a chip on each side of the guacamole for wings and two tiny pieces for ears.
  4. Finish with olive eyes and serve.

I destroyed each and every one of these bats.

I have a guacamole addiction so I found this without a problem to devour.

In fact it was my lunch yesterday 🙂

And for idea number two:

What kind of Halloween would this be without caramel apples?

Look, I love a caramel apple just like anyone else

but my biggest problem with them is the mess they make all over my face,

not to mention that first bite is a drag isn’t it?

Were our mouths even created to bite in such a way?

So when I saw these at the store:

I knew I had found my solution!

Not only do you not get overloaded with sugar,

 but they also disappear with one bite!

Or two.

Depending how dainty your teeth are…

And come on, they are mini-sized!

Everything is adorable in miniature form.

Caramel Crab Apples

Tart.

Sweet.

Delicious.

Be warned: I think this is how I made the caramel sauce (I should really remember because it is seriously the best vegan caramel sauce I have yet to try!)

Accidental Peanut Caramel Sauce Recipe

(this was a failed “nougat” recipe that turned out fabulous and nowhere near nougat!)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 c. MimiCreme (the best invention–thank you again, Amanda!)
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 3 Tb Earth Balance butter
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 Tb Ricemellow Creme
  • 1/8 c. peanut butter

DIRECTIONS: 

  1. Place all ingredients (except Ricemellow Creme and peanut butter into saucepan).
  2. Slowly heat up to 236 degrees. Once it reaches this, add creme and peanut butter. Whisk until completely combined. Allow to cool for 5 minutes or so.
  3. Place sticks in crab apples. Dip into caramel sauce.
  4. Refrigerate 10 minutes. Coat with whatever topping you’d like. My favorite is chopped peanuts 🙂
  5. If this fails, you never should have listened to me in the first place. I’m so tired and delirious. I’m merely crossing my fingers that this was the correct recipe….

Currently starting a scrapbook of all my friends in their Halloween costumes this year.

Who’s first???

45 Comments Post a comment
  1. So. Awesome. Those little bats are the BEST!

    October 30, 2011
    • And tasty too! 🙂

      October 30, 2011
  2. your guac is so cute with the eyes 🙂

    and wow, your accidental recipe looks…amazing!

    per your comment to me that you left on my site, didn’t know you were a CA girl!

    October 28, 2011
    • West side representing, Averie 🙂 Originally from Orange County (Seal Beach) and now living in the L.A. area. Now I want to sing a Katy Perry song…

      October 28, 2011
  3. Eeek! So much awesomeness in this post! I love miniature things and your guac’ looks brilliant.

    October 28, 2011
    • I love miniature things too! Probably explains why I had a dollhouse until I was 18 years old…

      October 28, 2011
  4. choirqueer #

    This is the cutest guacamole I have ever seen! I love guacamole but you just made it 392x awesomer.

    October 28, 2011
    • Oliver, did you ever think you would be calling guacamole “cute”? haha First time for everything, right?

      October 28, 2011
  5. more bats! squeeeeeeeeeeee! they’re fo ‘sho my favorite and yours look crazy adorable (and tasty), too!

    another yummy option is cheezey bat bites: http://blog.happy-vegan.com/2011/10/halloween-bat-bites.html

    so much halloveegan goodnesses go’n on!

    October 28, 2011
    • Ohmygosh, those bats from that link are ADORABLE! Much cuter than mine–I just stinkin’ love it! And raw too. Damn the creativity 🙂 haha.

      October 28, 2011
  6. These recipes look amaze! Can’t wait to try!!!

    October 28, 2011
    • Thank you, Mrs. Smarty Pants 🙂

      October 28, 2011
  7. both of these idea are the best! how do you do it?
    xo
    kittee

    October 28, 2011
    • Insanity? Sleep-deprivation? Too much coffee? An obsession with food? A mix of all of the above really 🙂 Thanks Kittee, but I tip my hat off to YOU, really!

      October 28, 2011
    • Insanity? Sleep-deprivation? Too much coffee? An obsession with food? A mix of all of the above really 🙂 Thanks Kittee, but I tip my hat off to YOU, really!

      October 28, 2011
  8. YES! The fabulous chips we both love! And of course you gotta have guac or some dip to go along with them! Love this idea, you are so creative my dear!
    I’ve never had mimicreme or Ricemellow creme either – Where do you find those?

    October 28, 2011
    • The Beanfields Club!!!!!! hehe. Go now. Buy MimiCreme!!! Seriously Nora. It will change your life. WholeFoods sells it–it is located in the baking section by the flours. So is Ricemellow where the vegan marshies are.

      October 28, 2011
  9. Laurel #

    What’s a Reed avocado and do you have to live in California to get one? Well, yes Laurel, of course you do, doesn’t everyone? I love the voices in my head (smirk).
    The bats look adorable and I probably need several bags of those chips. Humongo olive eyes on guac – honestly though, they were probably only lonely for the serrano peppers you forgot. ;+)
    I already knew I loved you before I saw the caramel recipe with the MimicCreme. I’ve been telling people about that stuff for 3 years and I still get, “What’s that, I’ve never tried it.” I used to order it directly from them when their shipping wasn’t astronomical but now Amazon has it. It’s absolutely the best thing ever in mashed potatoes or anything else for that matter. They need better PR or So Delicious should market for them. Send me candy please, it’s almost Halloween and I don’t have any. Waa, Whine. Don’t you feel sorry for me yet?

    October 28, 2011
    • A Reed avocado is this HUGE avocado that not only looks better than a Haas, but tastes 10x better. No comparison really. Poor little Laurel made a huge mess of herself and kitchen yesterday and has no candy to show for it. Shipping you candy right now…

      October 28, 2011
      • Laurel #

        Thanks. Tearing up. Loads of mascara dripping. Wait, I don’t wear mascara. Who IS that woman?

        October 28, 2011
        • Ruuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuunnnnnnnnn!!

          October 28, 2011
  10. I love Batman and your Batman in particular.I must try reed avocados. I had a batman tee when I was a wee GiGi. Yep, I’ll have costume pics, Sunday. Lillaputian anything, is big on my list bahahaha.

    October 28, 2011
  11. You want pictures? I’ll GIVE you pictures! But not today. Today I’ve got laundry, dishes, toys, more toys, litterboxes, more toys, the kitchen table, and my bedroom to clean. Tomorrow is our party! *Squeeeeehork!* And also, I am alllll over those little batamoles. Guats? Ooh! And also, I need to make the froggies! Ribbit. Can you tell I’m a little (OK A huge, huge lot) over my head today? We’re also going trick-or-treating at work and hosting a pumpkin carving party today. Because I’m a freakin’ lunatic. Oh! And I need to pick up the toys… *twitch…*

    October 28, 2011
    • You freakin’ overachiever! Show off. Are you okay? One eye keeps blinking… and I want pictures!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! And make the guats! ha. And the frogs. And I just want to see how many “ands” I can include…

      October 28, 2011
      • Overachiever? No. Procrastinator? Oh Hellz Yes. The eye blink thing is from all the coffee I’ve been mainlining for the past three days. It’ll go away around January 3rd. 🙂

        October 28, 2011
        • HA! That is a long time for a twitch, sister. *I once had an eye twitch for 9 months straight* <–a fun-filled fact about me…

          October 28, 2011
  12. Or Wednesday……

    October 28, 2011
    • You said Tuesday! Nope! I am expecting the pics on Tuesday now, no take-backs.

      October 28, 2011
  13. Everything IS better when it’s mini sized – that is a fact. PLUS you can eat more and not feel quite such a piggy.
    OINK OINK!

    LOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE the bat-o-moles too.
    Eye of toad, wing of bat
    *sticks a handful of toffee apples up her incredibly long sleeves*

    I have my costume already……..I shall post piccies on Tuesday.
    <:-)

    October 28, 2011
    • I seriously would love to spend a day with you, Jeni! If you are as hilarious and fun in person as you are in your writing (which I am most certain you are), we could cause some serious damage around town…

      October 28, 2011
  14. Guacamole+Batman=winning post!
    Score again!

    October 28, 2011
    • One always wins when guacamole is involved 🙂

      October 28, 2011
  15. I admire your ability to get as far as shaping and photographing your guac before eating it. Guacamole bats… way too cute!

    And caramel dipped crab apples! We went through an entire big bag of crabapples during MoFo last year because they’re so little and cute and perfect for snacking on… but everything’s more perfect with caramel, and on sticks.

    October 28, 2011
    • What you didn’t see, Nikki, was the huge bowl I made and how I ate about 1/3 of it before I decided to do the pictures. In fact, this was my lunch (I wasn’t lying) and while eating it, the idea occurred to me 🙂 I had to frantically salvage the remains in order to photograph them.

      October 28, 2011
  16. He he he! You are welcome about the Mimicreme! 🙂 Cutest guac I’ve ever seen! I have never seen those chips before, but I’m going to have to be on the lookout. I haven’t had a caramel apple since I was a kid. Now I am craving one. So many things of yours that I have to make! 🙂

    October 28, 2011
    • You know, I am going to always think of you whenever I use MimiCreme. And I probably will give you a shout out each and every time too 🙂 You MUST get these chips. I used to be a corn chip snob but once I tasted these (made from beans and rice) I was hooked. Far superior!

      October 28, 2011
  17. these look amazing! and i love guacamole, with corn chips and a dvs. mmmm!

    http://laughteriscatching.com/2011/10/28/competition-alert-who-dresses-the-fanciest/

    October 28, 2011
    • I wish I was dressing up, otherwise I would have entered your contest. BUT the good news is that you are my first scrapbook entry of people in Halloween costumes 🙂 Winner! haha

      October 28, 2011
  18. Love the bats! I could live on guacamole! And those apples.. so cute!

    October 28, 2011
    • Jacqui, you and I both! I found Reed avocados at the farmers market and I have vowed to never eat another Haas again! They are far superior and delicious. I truly think that I HAVE been living off of guacamole, now that I think about it, for a good 2 months now. haha.

      October 28, 2011
  19. Babs #

    Mmmm Guac…My mouth watering for those Reed Avocados.

    Again, you always cease to amazing me with your ideas and presentation.

    Those crab apples look amazing as well & the perfect size.

    Keep them coming….

    October 28, 2011
    • Babs #

      Sorry…NEVER Cease to amaze me I think it is….I’m still on West Coast time. Ratz

      October 28, 2011
      • Go ahead, admit I do cease to amaze you. I knew it! Ooooooohhhhhhhhhhh my goodness, you hate me! hahaha. See? It’s as if you are still here 🙂

        October 28, 2011
    • I miss you 😦

      October 28, 2011

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Low Carb Link Love for the Fall Season | Low Carb Mom

Leave a comment