Skip to content

Raw Vegan Eggnog

There are some traditions that should never be let go of just because you cannot consume a certain type of food. For me, that’s eggnog, hands down–probably my most favorite part of this season. I used to never say no to eggnog…

eggnog3

Imagine my delight when non-dairy milk brands were coming out with their own version of eggnog in the stores last year. I bought almost every brand of vegan nog…yet felt disappointed with each carton. They were all missing the thickness that I love, not to mention the flavor of the milk, be it rice or coconut, completely overpowered the entire drink’s taste.

eggnog1

So yesterday I was sitting here on the blog, staring at the front page and well, my non-dairy raw milk recipe was staring right at *me* begging to be made into nog form. So I obeyed and tranformed it into my most favorite holiday beverage ever. I must admit, it’s the closest I have yet tasted to the real deal. So much so that I have already made 2 batches of the stuff. And downed all of it.

eggnog2

Raw Vegan Eggnog Recipe

Gluten, egg, refined sugar, and dairy-free

Makes 2 glass fulls

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3/4 c. raw cashews, soaked for 2-3 hours
  • 2 c. water
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 2 Tbs coconut oil, melted
  • 1 Tb agave nectar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Drain the water from the soaked cashews and place in a high speed blender. Add 2 c. water and blend until smooth.
  2. Add remaining ingredients and blend for another 1-2 minutes until completely smooth.
  3. Pour into glasses and dust with nutmeg.
26 Comments Post a comment
  1. Wow! Can’t wait to try this! Keep the raw vegan recipes coming. You’re doing a RAWESOME job!! =)

    January 16, 2013
  2. I am going to try this tonight. Very excited.

    December 31, 2012
  3. Delta #

    LOVE x5! I screwed up a little tho lol I wanted this NOW! So I decided to use almond milk instead of the cashews (who has time to soak lol) So I skipped Ingredients #1 and #2 and just jumped in after that. Turned my blender on and noticed the coconut oil was clumped together with spices and thought, WTH! why isn’t there any liquid added here, what am I missing (rofl) then reread and thought DUH! 🙂 So added the milk and LOVE! only prob was that the oil and spices were still clumped together but was actually kinda good when you got a chunk of it lol Not one of my better days but definitely one of yours! 🙂

    December 23, 2012
  4. This is fantastic! 🙂

    December 20, 2012
    • I’m not even kidding when I say it TASTES fantastic! xo

      December 22, 2012
  5. I’m hungry and want this. Love!

    December 18, 2012
    • I always smile when I see your thumbnail pic up here 🙂

      December 22, 2012
  6. A Table in the Sun #

    You just made my day.

    December 18, 2012
    • It’s the best gift one can give during this holiday season… 😉

      December 22, 2012
  7. I’ve recently discovered my own love for eggnog, never thought to make my own. I would love to try your version, but my blender is not high powered enough for cashews. Even with overnight soaking I end up with cashew bits, just doesn’t smooth out well. I am hoping Santa brings me a new one. Blender that is!

    December 18, 2012
  8. I have never had eggnog before… I hope your version is the first I try! It sounds absolutely delicious!!! 😀

    December 18, 2012
  9. drool. raw egg nog, you’re a genius babe!

    December 18, 2012
  10. slc #

    Sounds wonderful! Can’t wait to try it!!

    December 18, 2012
  11. Laurel #

    Practically perfect in every way. If you don’t know that movie I may have to reconsider whether or not you should enter this contest and win a trip to Las Vegas. http://madejustright.com/contests I think it’s got like 5 more days to go, cookies and bars. What are you waiting for slow poke?

    December 18, 2012
    • Laurel #

      P.S. “Nothing is impossible, it’s in the word itself, “I’m possible.” Audrey Hepburn ❤

      December 19, 2012
  12. Eggnog isn’t such a hit down here BUT I have very fond memories from when I spent a winter in the Rockies. I may have to give your dairy-free version a try – it looks scrummy!

    December 18, 2012
    • Well it sounds like you are going to embark upon the task of making vegannog a hit where you live now, doesn’t it? 😉

      December 22, 2012
  13. deelicious! gonna make this tomorrow and the day after and maybe the day after that!
    janet meredith, founder/ceo of http://www.PureLivingBoutique.com

    December 18, 2012
    • HA! You are a woman after my own heart! 🙂

      December 22, 2012
  14. This looks great! And it doesn’t have all the weird chemicals that a lot of vegan milks have! Yay, Cara!

    December 18, 2012
  15. Jim #

    This looks easy enough!

    My mother made eggnog “from scratch” when I was a kid. It was not thick! The stuff they sell at the grocery doesn’t work for me because of the thickeners they add.

    December 18, 2012
    • Ha! That is too funny. Apparently I loved me some thickeners 🙂 You just might find this somewhere in between with the consistency but tasty none-the-less.

      December 18, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. My Drunk Kitchen, S2E02: Raw Vegan Cheesecake | Whole Food Diets
  2. foodie | Pearltrees
  3. Vegan News @ KitaVeg.com » Raw Vegan Eggnog | Fork and Beans

Leave a comment