Skip to content

Easy Vegan Fudge

Before we get to the chocolate, I have a BIG favor to ask. I am completely honored to have been nominated as one of the top food bloggers for 2012 over at FriendsEat.com. Will you please vote for me by simply clicking the link and hitting the “LOVE” button you see displayed below? So grateful if you if you did!

http://friendseat.com/felovebutton/button/aHR0cCUzQSUyRiUyRmZyaWVuZHNlYXQuY29tJTJGcGFnZXMlMkYzMDElMkY=/p_301/

Okay, back to the good stuff. Vegan fudge….

fudge2

This fudge is decadent. It’s rich. It melts in your mouth. Need I say more? And it’s only 5 ingredients (not counting the nuts because I know some peope don’t like them…shame!)

fudge1

Now, don’t get held up over the fact that coconut cream is used in this recipe. I know it only makes sense that it would taste ooey-gooey coconutty…but I swear it doesn’t. So if you don’t want your fudge tasting like a Mounds Bar, you are in luck. The richness of the chocolate blends perfectly into the coconut cream and you cannot even taste it.

fudge3

We all can thank Brooke for such a simple recipe! Check out her original fudge here.

Vegan Fudge

Gluten, egg, and dairy-free

My recipe makes a small batch–there is only so much fudge I can handle, you know?

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 c non-dairy chocolate chips (I used Trader Joes’ HUGE dark chocolate bar to make this extremely rich)
  • 1/2 c. coconut cream (this comes in a can and is solid unlike coconut milk)
  • 1/2 c. non dairy milk
  • Dash salt
  • 1 c. chopped nuts, optional (or more!)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

  1. In heavy saucepan, over low heat, melt chips with coconut cream, non-dairy milk, and salt.  Remove from heat.
  2. Stir in nuts if desired and vanilla.  Spread evenly into wax paper lined small square pan.  Place more chopped nuts on top if desired.
  3. Chill 2 hours or until firm.
  4. Turn fudge onto cutting board, peel off paper and cut into squares.  Store covered in fridge.
77 Comments Post a comment
  1. jena #

    Best Paleo fudge (using Enjoy Life chips) I have tried so far! And I’ve tried a bunch….

    January 23, 2013
    • Get out!! HOORAY. I love hearing this. xo

      January 24, 2013
  2. I am definitely going to try this! I’ll let you know how to goes 🙂

    http://threeinchstitch.blogspot.com

    January 5, 2013
  3. I have a question about the “non-dairy milk”. Would almond milk work? I don’t care for soy milk, so I’m not sure what works best.

    December 27, 2012
    • Yes it does work! I actually used almond milk and it was perfect 🙂

      December 27, 2012
  4. my 10 year old daughter is a fudge-aholic so I am making this for her to have as a special treat for Christmas day….I will let you know what she thinks!!!!!!! It looks delicious!!!

    December 23, 2012
  5. Fudge is one of my favorite desserts from my childhood! I haven’t recreated it in vegan form to my satisfaction yet. I’ll try this recipe. It looks great!

    December 18, 2012
  6. Siann Yeats #

    I only have white (vegan) chocolate, do you think that would work?

    December 15, 2012
    • You could always try…and if you are a fan of white chocolate fudge, I say go for it. I do know that white vegan chocolate melts a little differently than say, Enjoy Life semi-sweet chocolate chips, so that might be tricky, but definitely test it out if you are feeling experimental 🙂

      December 15, 2012
  7. Stephanie #

    Thank you for this fabulous recipe! I made this for the first time last night! I followed the recipe exactly, with one wee change and the fudge turned out beautifully! I didn’t have a can of coconut cream handy, but I did have a can of full fat coconut milk. So I kept it in the fridge overnight and the milk turned itself into a heavy, thick cream! I scooped it out and used it for the fudge.. PERFECT AND SOOOO YUMMY! 😀

    December 15, 2012
  8. I can’t wait to try this!…maybe this weekend! I haven’t seen cans of coconut cream, but do you know if you can do the coconut milk in the fridge trick to get the coconut cream?

    December 14, 2012
  9. Penny #

    Make sure your chocolate is also dairy free. Regular semi sweet choc chips have dairy solids in them.

    December 12, 2012
    • Thank you Penny! I forgot to change that from Brooke’s original recipe. I just corrected it 🙂

      December 14, 2012
  10. JB #

    wow. this is amazing. I just made it. so good. thank you.

    December 11, 2012
    • YAY!! I am soooo happy to hear that you liked it, JB. xo

      December 14, 2012
  11. OMG! I am making these this week for the holidays ( if they last that long )!! FOR SURE. too good to be true. Thanks 🙂

    December 11, 2012
    • You are so welcome! xo

      December 14, 2012
  12. Voted with the LOVE button. Why isn’t there a love button for the fudge too? xx

    December 11, 2012
    • Where’s YOUR love button? 🙂

      December 14, 2012
  13. Lizzie #

    And I just realized that it’s snowing on your page! IT’S SNOWING!!!!

    December 9, 2012
  14. Lizzie #

    Just clicked your love button, baby. ;p

    And Laurel up there has my number with the Amaretto idea…think I’m gonna be giving this a try tonight with that little addition!

    December 9, 2012
    • Hopefully you haven’d made it yet because I totally made a mistake on the measurements. Don’t know what I was thinking… But I fixed it now so it should be okay 🙂 And yes!!! SNOW. xo

      December 10, 2012
  15. Any idea roughly how much 2c of choc is? I shall be buying bars and wonder if it would be a 100g bar for example. Is coconut cream the one you can get in cartons that is so solid its like candle wax or could you use the solid part from a can of coconut milk once refrigerated. Thanks.

    December 9, 2012
    • Hi Sandra! I really wish I could help you out with the cups to grams measurements but I’m afraid I don’t know 😦 I will say that the chocolate bar I used is a total of about 18 oz and I used almost half of it. Does that help? And coconut cream is like the candle wax description you used (I love that!)–it comes in a can already solid. Best of luck! xo

      December 10, 2012
      • Thank you. I didn’t buy enough today then. Luckily I am not making them until wednesday, so will buy extra chocolate tomorrow. Thanks for all the wonderful recipes and I did click the love button! x

        December 10, 2012
    • Diane #

      One cup of chocolate weighs 6 ounces or 170 grams, according to the King Arthur Flour website. Hope this isn’t too late to help.

      December 27, 2012
  16. wow, this does look easy! fudge can be a pain in the booty to make. definitely have to try this one out 😉 and yay for being nominated for the friendsEATtop blogger!

    December 9, 2012
    • Thank you my most lovely friend! xo

      December 10, 2012
  17. Thank you sooooo much!!! It really seems easy& fast 🙂

    December 9, 2012
    • You are so welcome, Carrie. Thanks for the comment!

      December 10, 2012
  18. This looks amazing. It reminds me of my childhood. My Grandmother would make fudge growing up on raining days at the cottage. She would never tell anyone the recipe, until one day I convinced her to teach me. To this day I can’t remember the proportions but I do remember it was full of brown sugar, corn syrup and butter. Now I can use this as a more cleaned up version! I love it! xo

    December 8, 2012
    • I am loving the visual of rainy days at a cottage, eating fudge 🙂 xo

      December 10, 2012
  19. Coconut cream in this is INSPIRED, my dear! I was wondering what you’d use to sub for the condensed milk! This looks delicious!!

    December 8, 2012
    • I went to TJs, hoping to get coconut MILK and all they had was cream so I thought, heck, this could work! Experimentation successful 🙂 I was shcked that the first attempt worked, actually… Apparently I have learned a thing or 2 in the past year from doing this, ha! xo

      December 9, 2012
      • I saw some of that the last time I was at TJ’s, too and didn’t know what to do with it other than vegan whipped cream. Which is good. But not as good as fudge!

        December 9, 2012
  20. Your Biggest Fan! #

    Hold the phone! I was THE VERY FIRST to love you – duh! Tried the love button and couldn’t get it to work. You’ll have to vote on my behalf. I figure this note from your mom makes it official hee! hee! Love the fudge BTW and yes, with lots of nuts. 🙂
    XOXOXOX

    December 8, 2012
    • You are the cutest mother in the world, lady! Thank you for the love–it has not been amiss in this brain of mine that you were the first to love me 🙂 xo

      December 10, 2012
  21. Delta #

    of course I love you, who doesn’t! 🙂 I also am wondering about the coconut cream. Am I gonna have to buy this like I bought the cacao butter lol

    December 8, 2012
    • hahaha! I think of you everytime I see that bag of cacao butter in my pantry 🙂 I haven’t gotten around to using it since that white chocolate episode–me thinks I overdid it over the course of 2 days. ha. And yes, you have to buy a can of coconut cream now–it’s only fair. But at least it only cost $1 🙂

      December 9, 2012
      • Delta #

        then I guess I’ll need to buy 3 or 4 lol 🙂 that is IF I can find it here

        December 9, 2012
        • Order online! Order online!
          xo

          December 10, 2012
      • Laurel #

        Make Bryanna’s vegan butter spread with the cacao butter. http://vegan.com/recipes/bryanna-clark-grogan/bryannas-vegan-butter/

        December 9, 2012
        • Is there a difference between cacao butter and cocoa butter?

          December 10, 2012
          • Delta #

            Is there any other way beside online ordering? not usually for me lol hence the 2 bags. However, I just happened to be going to the big city tomorrow so will be looking for it. I dont want to go crazy and get a case of it just yet since Im not sure how long it will last and how often I will use it. Do you have other recipes that use it?

            December 11, 2012
          • Laurel #

            Yeah, American’s don’t know how to spell. 🙂

            December 11, 2012
  22. Oh yum! I love chocolate, coconut and walnuts — who doesn’t?! Thanks for the recipe.

    December 8, 2012
    • You are absolutely correct–who DOESN’T love the trifecta of goodness??? xo. Thank you for the comment, Sarina.

      December 10, 2012
  23. What kind of cocount cream? All I have is coconut milk (canned) and whenever I’ve seen recipes requiring coconut cream they have said to refrigerate and scoop of the top portion.

    December 8, 2012
    • Sorry about the confusion! I meant to say just a regular ol’ can of coconut cream. It’s in solid form as opposed to coconut milk in liquid form and comes as is when you buy it 🙂 Hope that helps. Let me know if I am still not making any sense… xo

      December 9, 2012
  24. Clicked “love” (because it’s true!). Also loving the look of this fudge! Must try!!! 😀

    December 8, 2012
    • Thank you, friend. You are so wonderful! xo

      December 10, 2012
  25. There is so much right with this, and nothing wrong. x

    December 8, 2012
    • I will eat to that 😉 Thank you for the comment, Emily.

      December 10, 2012
  26. I’ve been wondering how to make a vegan fudge! Thanks Cara, all your recipes are great and make me realize that even though I don’t consume any animal products, I don’t need to miss out.

    December 8, 2012
    • What a sweet comment, thank you so much Herbivore Triathlete 🙂 It’s all my pleasure to help out… xo

      December 10, 2012
  27. Laurel #

    O.K. I “loved” you. I shared the link. I made this stuff last year with cherries and Amaretto. Get off my case already. I really do ❤ ❤ you because you're so adorable. Plus, I DID NOT steal that recipe from Leanne I'd done it my own self with yogurt BEFORE I saw it and shared it with you. Leanne just made it look all purdy and easy and stuff. 😉

    December 8, 2012
    • Laurel #

      Reply to self: but it’s not working!

      December 8, 2012
      • Girl you don’t have to tell me that you came up with that recipe first–that is a totally DUH given. You are the master at baking and anything genius. Thank you for the “love”–sorry the button isn’t working. I have given up on it myself because they want you to sign up to FriendsEat. Silly me, I thought this was to shout-out bloggers but apparently not… ha!

        December 10, 2012
  28. I just officially “loved” you, although I have for quite some time. Your recipes are so delish. Thanks for all you do. You deserve this recognition!!

    December 8, 2012
    • That is so incredibly kind of you, Susan. Thank you for your support–it means so much to me! xo

      December 10, 2012
  29. This is my favorite thing to make! It’s so simple and really hits the spot with the chocolate and good-for-you fats! I use coconut butter/coconut cream concentrate though, coconut cream has just a bit too much water content in it. What brand do you use?

    December 8, 2012
    • Hi Jaime! Not sure what brand it is–I think it’s just Trader Joe’s brand actually. It worked out perfectly 🙂

      December 10, 2012
  30. Oli #

    With what can I replace coconut cream- don`t have it ?

    December 8, 2012
  31. Ok voted 🙂 this looks delicious
    Im one of the no nuts people …don’t hate 🙂

    December 8, 2012
    • I will just secretly judge for NOT liking nuts….WHAT???! haha. To each his own, right? 😉

      December 9, 2012
      • 🙂 well I like a few macadamia ….just not walnuts or pecans brazil ok most ..I seriously want to make this

        December 9, 2012
        • I won’t hold it against you, I promise. You get a pass for liking macadamia nuts 🙂

          December 10, 2012
  32. HOLY CRAP. I mean, yes please! *bookmarking this one*

    December 8, 2012
    • haha, I will gladly accept HOLY CRAY, Sara 😉

      December 10, 2012
  33. moderngirlnutrition #

    Yum! I bet the coconut is an amazing addition:)

    December 8, 2012
    • It adds such a richness but surprisingly omits any coconut flavor… xo!

      December 10, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Easy Fudge by Fork & Beans | Vegan + Gluten-Free | @vegamuffin
  2. So Good, You Won’t Believe It’s Vegan ~ Dareni Wellman | elephant journal
  3. Put on your loose pants! « Goodstorysarah.

Leave a comment