Skip to content

Vegan Cream Cheese & Date Roll Ups

When Brooke sent me this recipe to convert into a gluten, egg, and dairy-free treat, I had never heard of such a thing. A concept completely new to me: a date stuffed with pecans, rolled into a cream cheese dough, baked and then dusted with powdered sugar.

date2

I had absolutely no idea of what to expect from a heated date and non-sugary dough but once these puppies hit the oven, the smells that were coming from my kitchen were heavenly. Brooke warned me that the insides of the dates were hot as hades once they came out of the oven and to let them cool off but since I’m never good at listening, I ate 5 of them with delicacy.

date3

It’s safe to say that allowing them to cool not only saves your mouth but the flavors and sweetness really settle in if you let them sit for a good 15 minutes after baking. Make sure you dip them in tons of powdered sugar. It’s too irresistable not to!

date1

Date-Cream Cheese Roll Ups
Yield: about 60
Gluten, egg, and dairy-free

See Brooke’s orginial recipe here

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 c. vegan butter
  • 1/2 lb vegan cream cheese
  • 2 c. gluten-free all purpose flour
  • 1/2 t Salt
  • Powdered sugar (for sprinkling)
  • Medjool dates (pitted), approx 60
  • finely chopped pecans

DIRECTIONS

  1. Cream butter and cream cheese.  Sift flour and salt.  Beat into butter mixture.  Chill for several hours.
  2. Roll into 1/8 inch thickness parchment paper (tape down to ensure it won’t go anywhere), sprinkled with powdered sugar.  Cut into 1X3 inch strips.
  3. Cut the top off each date and take the pit out if still intact. I found it easiest by using a pair of kitchen scissors to access the pit and pulling it out. Fill center of dates with finely chopped pecans and place date on each strip and roll up.
  4. Place cut side down on cookie sheet.  Bake at 375° for 15 minutes.
  5. Sprinkle with massive amounts of powdered sugar.
25 Comments Post a comment
  1. This looks so so delicious, I want them now! And your beautiful pictures make the recipe be even more worth!

    January 2, 2013
  2. Dates are ace! Lovely recipe. Thanks for sharing, lee

    December 8, 2012
  3. oh girl, I’m loving this series!

    December 7, 2012
  4. Gosh these look wonderful! What would you suggest using instead of the vegan cream cheese, I haven’t seen it in the UK – more vegan butter?

    December 7, 2012
    • Check out Leanne’s recipe for a homemade vegan cream cheese: http://www.healthfulpursuit.com/2012/12/how-to-make-soy-free-vegan-cream-cheese/
      Do you think this would be something you could manage to make? If not, I think more butter would do the trick but it might change the consistency of the cookie…

      December 7, 2012
      • Thank you ..a wonderful and easy recipe! I was thinking of trying with just cashew cream but I may attempt this!

        December 7, 2012
        • That is a great idea too–please let me know how it works out if you try it! xo, Cara

          December 7, 2012
    • Sam #

      Hello Vicky, these do sound amazing don’t they. I just wanted to let you know that there are at least two vegan cream cheeses available in the UK: Tofutti and Bute Island Creamy Sheese. Most health food shops should either stock them or be able to order them in for you x

      December 10, 2012
  5. I will sometimes shove an almond into my dates for a snack, so I bet these are super tasty! I’ve got so many delicious cookie recipes I want to try that I could probably do your 365 days of cookies challenge and never repeat any!

    December 6, 2012
  6. moderngirlnutrition #

    Wow those look decadent! Great pics:)

    December 6, 2012
  7. Ooh, lady! How did you know these are one of my favorite holiday desserts? SWOOOOOOON

    December 6, 2012
    • I didn’t…eeer, I mean, I DID! And they are just for YOU 🙂 You’re welcome. hehe

      December 7, 2012
  8. Laurel #

    I knew there was a reason I had to make 10 more pounds of vegan butter. Now though, I either have to give up my vegan cream cheese or make more. I thought Christmas was a time of love and laughter not a time to get out your Voodoo doll of me and stick pins and needles into it. I was missing your posts all this time and now they’re just torturing me with hunger pangs. Why do they all have to look so good? Why, Cara? Why?

    December 6, 2012
    • The better question is why are you making your own vegan cream cheese and NOT sharing the damn recipe with me???

      December 7, 2012
      • Laurel #

        This is just proof that you talk to everyone else more than you do me or you’d know, wouldn’t you? snicker I’ll send you a link. ❤

        December 7, 2012
        • Don’t get sassy on me missy! You know that I talk to you the most, silly. You’re my #1 gal 🙂 Now send me the recipe. hehe

          December 7, 2012
  9. Have never worked with vegan cream cheese before… but these make me want to track some down pronto! 🙂 Yum!

    December 6, 2012
    • Apparently Laurel makes her own vegan cream cheese and now she has me curious as to how she makes it. I have a feeling it tastes MUCH better than store-bought brands… I will keep you posted if she sends me the recipe 🙂

      December 7, 2012
  10. Mmmmmmmm, you make these sound and look so good! I definitely have to try these out!

    December 6, 2012
  11. These look GREAT!! You’re right about the flavor settling down after cooling, but mostly it’s the fracktastic heat!! I like how the chopped off ends of these look more refined than mine, too! Mine look a little lewd…

    December 6, 2012
    • I realized that my idea of one inch was a bit off initially 🙂 But dang girl, your grandma knew what she was doing!

      December 6, 2012
      • Thus, the ruler! America’s Test Kitchen has taught me one thing above all: It’s OK to be OCD in the kitchen.

        December 6, 2012
        • HA! I’m glad you took pictures of that part so I didn’t have to…

          December 7, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Vegetarian, Gluten-Free Roundup: Two Lemon Tarts, Why Not?

Leave a comment