Skip to content

Gluten-free & Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’m late for the 12 Days of Christmas Treats with Brooke at Crackers on the Couch! My schedule has quickly become busy because I finally got a job. Hooray! But sorry for the delay…

choco1

I’m a day behind but I will catch up–I promise.

choco3

In the meantime, check out these cookies over at Brooke’s place. I took her recipe and made them gluten, egg, and dairy-free. Good grief, these are THE best chocolate chip cookies to date. Make these for Santa please. He called me and sent in a request.

choco5

Everybody’s Mom’s Chocolate Chip Cookies

Gluten, egg, and dairy-free

  • INGREDIENTS
  • 2 c. gluten-free all purpose mix 
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 c. vegan butter
  • 1/2 c. sugar
  • 3/4 c.packed brown sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 flaxseed egg (1 Tb flaxseed meal + 2 Tbs water)
  • 1 12-oz package Enjoy Life chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS 

  1. Preheat oven to 375.
  2. Sift first 3 ingredients together and set aside.
  3. Cream butter and sugars together until fluffy.  Add vanilla and flaxseed egg, beat well.
  4. Add sifted dry ingredients to creamed mixture, mix well.
  5. Add sifted dry ingredients to creamed mixture, mix well.
  6. Add chocolate chips, mix well.
  7. Take a heaping Tbs of dough and roll into ball.  Place each ball 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.
  8. Bake in a preheated oven 10-12 minutes.  Remove cookie sheet from oven and place cookies on cooling rack.

Yield:  Approx. 3.5 dz.

choco2

I love how it looks like there is only one chocolate chip in that cookie…

28 Comments Post a comment
  1. Chelsie #

    Just thought you might like to know that the Vegan & GF students, staff, faculty & local community members that join us on campus here at the Crossroads Cafe at Prescott College in Prescott, AZ are enjoying your VGF Choc chippers and gingersnaps, and soon joining the ranks…peanut butter chocolate chip. Many of the cookie recipes I’ve tried to bake have worked, but haven’t been that great. So we applaud you!! Thanks so much!
    Also I was a Girl Scout for 17 years and am super excited to try out your GS cookie recipes at home 😀

    January 29, 2013
  2. Need deets on the job! email me? I see these cookies making me chubby this afternoon.

    December 7, 2012
  3. yay a job!! And what better way to celebrate than with cookies 🙂

    December 7, 2012
  4. congratulations on the job.. these cookies look awesome!

    December 5, 2012
    • Thank you RIcha. It’s something in the midst of nothing for the past several months, so I am happy I have it! 🙂

      December 6, 2012
  5. at christmas time, my mom, brother, and i always made chocolate chip cookies. in fact, i think it’s the only cookies we ever made. i loved them and couldn’t help eating the raw dough. these cookies take my back… 😉

    December 5, 2012
    • I think I ate 1/2 of the dough while making these myself… That’s the best part of baking without eggs: knowing that you won’t get sick, right?!

      December 6, 2012
  6. Yummy . I want all =D

    December 4, 2012
  7. These look way yummier than mine. I have serious cookie envy, girl! I’m so glad you were able to join me!! EEEEEE! =)

    December 4, 2012
  8. Such great news about the job Cara. Well done you! Blimey, talk about starting at a busy time of the year. 🙂 Glutton for punishment and all that…
    These biscuits look amaaazing. I’m sitting here wondering if I can make a batch right now before going to collect the children from school. THAT’S how good they look.
    Thanks for sharing. xx

    December 4, 2012
    • Thank you Nina! I know, it’s been rather a difficult time to soak in all of the information for the job-so much to learn! But I’m extremely grateful for a paycheck–now I can afford presents 🙂

      December 6, 2012
  9. Chocolate chip cookies are the perfect start to the 12 Days of Christmas cookies in my book. These look great, can’t wait to see what other delightful cookies are coming up.

    December 4, 2012
    • And GREAT tasting gluten-free chocolate chip cookies, none-the-less. I was really pleased with how beautiful these guys taste! A Definite keeper for the recipe book.

      December 6, 2012
  10. These look awesome. Pinning and trying for sure!

    December 4, 2012
    • Let me know how they work out for you!

      December 6, 2012
  11. YAY! I knew a job would happen for you soon! I can now sleep at night…
    These are perfect for Santa! Yummy! And I can’t wait to see what else you have in store for us!!! Wow, I’m a little exclamation point happy today….

    December 4, 2012
    • Hey, I’m always exclamation point happy! 🙂
      Thank you–I definitely feel grateful for the job. I will feel even more so that way once I stop feeling so overwhelmed with learning everything… xo

      December 6, 2012
  12. Those cookies look awesome! My son would love them.

    December 4, 2012
    • They really are a fantastic recipe, Spencer!

      December 6, 2012
  13. Laurel #

    I was just composing an email in my head to see if I could winnow out the details of your existence. Job + Chocolate Chip Cookies. Does life get any better than this? Oh, and tell Jenn to wipe that chocolate off her face.

    December 4, 2012
    • So THAT is who snuck into my place and ate all of my cookies… I should have known.

      December 6, 2012
  14. Yay hooray for employment! How exciting girl! These cookies look amazing. Give me.

    Hope you are doing well! Love ya!

    December 4, 2012
    • Yay, is right! It feels good to work but my body is rebeling–8 hrs on your feet isn’t the same at 34 then when I was 24! ha. Grateful, none-the-less 🙂 Thank you. xo

      December 6, 2012
  15. Yay! Congrats on the job! Details…? At any rate, you can’t go wrong with chocolate chip–as long as there’s more than one chip, of course.

    December 4, 2012
    • I will send you an email on the job details. You will love it 🙂 ha. And no, it’s not stripping like I originally intended to get into…unfortunately…

      December 6, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Holiday Soirée (+lots of recipe links!) | .the rebel grrrl kitchen.

Leave a comment