Skip to content

Raw Chocolate Bars

It’s the most wonderful time of the year! Halloween is my most favorite holiday in the whole wide world. There is something magically delicious about this time for me; something that brings out my creativity in a way that nothing else can. And what better way to over-indulge myself than to celebrate all month long through VeganMofo?! I’m like a little girl unable to sleep on Christmas Eve…but for 30 days straight.

{If you haven’t already seen the secret stash, last year I recreated a cauldron-full of gluten, egg, and dairy-free candy bar recipes you can check out here}:

This week, I decided to kick off the month-long celebration with a collection of some of your favorite Halloween trick-or-treats using only nuts, raw cacao, dates, agave, and coconut oil. A very Fork & Beans HAL*RAW*WEEN Special… (See what I did there? Halloween makes me punny!) *cue the sound of crickets now*

**This is going to be the base for all the raw candy bar recipes coming up this week so you will want to bookmark this recipe for reference.**

Raw Vegan Chocolate Bars Recipe

{Raw vegan} Gluten, egg, and dairy-free

Makes 1/2 c. raw chocolate

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 c. coconut oil, melted
  • 6 heaping Tbs of raw cacao powder (or regular unsweetened cocoa powder will do, if you don’t have cacao)
  • 4 Tbs of maple syrup
  • pinch of salt

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Mix all of the ingredients into a bowl.
  2. Pour into a chocolate mold. Freeze for 15 minutes or until set.

*OR*

3.  Store raw chocolate in fridge until ready to use.

105 Comments Post a comment
  1. Delta #

    yum! Now if I could only find a white chocolate recipe in the next couple of days I would be in heaven. Need to make a skeleton and have you ever seen yellow bones? 🙂

    October 25, 2012
    • Delta #

      (just in case you’re even more insanely awesome than you already are and would have a recipe for it I haven’t seen) I guess I should add that it has to be soy free and nut free due to allergies in the classroom. Nuts are the one thing my kids can have but doesn’t it figure that someone else in the class of 9 kids, can’t have it!

      October 25, 2012
      • I actually do have a recipe I have been sitting on–I doodle ideas in a book and have been formulating one for raw white chocolate 🙂 Just for you, I will try my best to have it out by tomorrow, how does that sound? However, do note that the main ingredient will be raw cacao butter and it can be a pricey item ($25 a bag, unfortunately). It’s the main reason why I have been hesitant with making it but for YOU, anything 🙂 xo!

        October 26, 2012
        • delta #

          I have 2 bags of it ready and waiting. And this is why I love you :). Thank you thank you thank you, you are my hero!

          October 26, 2012
          • Okay, we are on for tomorrow then! Stay tuned. P.S. TWO bags??? Girl, we need to be neighbors 🙂

            October 26, 2012
            • Delta #

              YES!! I’ll supply the groceries you do the cooking, sounds like an amazing deal! And I had planned to make 2 dozen skeletons for school parties and didn’t know how much each bag would make. If we were neighbors, would you make them for me lol

              October 27, 2012
  2. Lisa #

    Hey Cara
    Found your blog just today via RawFoodRehab on FB and your raw peppermint patty recipe stopped me dead in my tracks. I can’t wait to try it (esp since I have all the ingredients on hand!!). Thanks so much for sharing this and I can’t wait to see what ghoulish creations you come up with next 🙂
    I want to try your raw chocolate bar recipe (I’m notoriously bad with candy making 😦 ) Is there a particular size of mold that you use?
    Happy HAL RAW WEEN!

    October 8, 2012
  3. Leslie #

    Yes.

    October 5, 2012
  4. Whoot Whoot Cara’s back, better than ever (and you were pretty freakin’ awesome before!) – you are so talented and I have missed your posts – love the bloggy makeover with the Halloweeb theme, you have me so excited for halloween!!! xo

    October 4, 2012
  5. Terry #

    Cara can I use something other than maple syrup. Like sugar or sugar free?

    October 3, 2012
    • My only concern is that the syrup adds a thickness to the chocolate, not to mention sweetness. You can try honey or agave too, but if these options aren’t what you are into, give sugar a try and then let me know if it works. I just can’t guarantee it will since I haven’t tried it 🙂 Good luck! xo

      October 3, 2012
  6. I love the sound of this series Cara!! I make a chocolate similar to this that is just delicious so I am so excited to see what you do with it!

    October 3, 2012
  7. elise #

    i love the spooky theme all over your blog…so cute! i love october!

    October 2, 2012
    • I love this month also, Elise! Fall is my most favorite season of all 🙂

      October 3, 2012
  8. You really are a rock star!

    October 2, 2012
    • Aw shucks, Susan–you are so sweet to say this! *playing my imaginary air guitar*

      October 2, 2012
  9. Hal*RAW*ween? LOVE IT! I’m not very raw knowledgable, but you make it seem so accessible.

    October 2, 2012
    • hehehehe. Hal*RAW*ween makes me giggle…

      October 2, 2012
  10. Wow, I so easy! I can’t wait to make these!

    October 2, 2012
    • Please do! It’s way too simple not to, huh? xo

      October 2, 2012
  11. Yum. But I have to say my favorite thing about this post is your new witch picture ❤

    October 2, 2012
    • ME TOO! I love it. So glad you noticed…and appreciate it like I do 🙂

      October 2, 2012
  12. Wow, I’ve always thought making raw choccie would be hard but I love how simple this is! Loving the look of your blog, too!

    October 2, 2012
    • I always thought raw foods were complicated and impossible, myself. But dabbling into this world over the past couple of months, I am beginning to realize that it is far from it! Thanks for the comment, Mandee–glad you like all of my Halloween touches 🙂

      October 2, 2012
  13. Only 4 ingredients? Oh wow, I have to try these! Happy VeganMoFo!

    October 1, 2012
    • Super easy, huh?! Happy MoFo to you as well! xo

      October 2, 2012
  14. Ahhhh, lovely! So looking forward to this month long festivities.
    I’d better get cracking and make these chocolate bars. 🙂
    Thank you Cara!

    October 1, 2012
    • Bringing out the whip to get you focused! 😉

      October 2, 2012
  15. Awesome! I love the casket!

    October 1, 2012
    • The casket is a hit! Hooray 🙂

      October 2, 2012
  16. Laurel #

    Ooh, the blog is like an old Vincent Price movie. I think I’m too spooked to eat dead and buried chocolates. Exhuming the coffin alone made me pass out.

    October 1, 2012
  17. This is so amazingly perfect!!

    October 1, 2012
    • Kinda like you, huh? 😉

      October 2, 2012
  18. I’ve super duper excited about seeing what you are doing this month. “Halloween makes you punny.” 🙂 Will try this recipe!

    October 1, 2012
  19. Cara, Dahling. You gotta lay off those green smoothies, you are starting to look a little greenish around the gills!!! ; )

    October 1, 2012
    • But I feel wickedly fantastic though!!! hehehe. Or I mean muahahahaha

      October 1, 2012
  20. I so know what you mean! I couldn’t sleep last night either. Your new header and profile pic are SO MUCH FUN! They really set the tone. I absolutely cannot wait to see what comes out of that creative mind of yours next!!

    October 1, 2012
    • Thank you so much, Cadry! If only it was Halloween year round…
      xo!

      October 1, 2012
  21. I love all your pice, your new header and really, really need that coffin…

    October 1, 2012
    • Kathy, I got the coffin at Michael’s last year but didn’t get a chance to use it til now. Hopefully they still have a stash this year. Fingers crossed! xo

      October 1, 2012
  22. Eeeeeee! I love this! 🙂 So pumped for month of October and for all of the yummy Halloween related items on your blog. LOVE the Halloween header!

    October 1, 2012
    • Thank you Courtney! I spent my Sunday afternoon designing it and I am rather proud myself 🙂 xo!

      October 1, 2012
  23. delicious! just discovered your blog through corinna, darling! i’m so happy to have found it! halloween (well, mostly because it exists in fall) is one of my favorites too.

    October 1, 2012
    • Welcome, Rebecca! So happy you found your way over here–I’m so happy to see your face! Hope you enjoy the Halloween festivities over here at Fork and Beans…xo, Cara

      October 1, 2012
  24. I love how much you went all out, Cara! I am so impressed- your profile pic is just plain awesome! Great first MoFo post! I can’t wait to see all the ways I can use this raw chocolate!

    And who knew making raw chocolate was so easy? So fantastic!

    October 1, 2012
    • Halloween is my obsession 🙂 Thank you Kristy! xo

      October 1, 2012
  25. shannonroche #

    I love Halloween too! I can’t wait to see all your gooey, gruesome treats!

    October 1, 2012
    • Hip hip…hooray for Halloween! xo

      October 1, 2012
  26. wowzers! i love that coffin full of chocolate.. and your new header! you have put in some major work in this! i cant wait for your other puns!

    October 1, 2012
    • Isn’t that coffin fun??? Thank you Michael’s 🙂
      So happy that you appreciate my lame humor. I knew that there was someone out there who would… xo!

      October 1, 2012
  27. Gah! Love raw chocolate – I’ve been filling mine with date caramel as of late. A D D I C T E D. I need to go buy new jeans.

    I’m actually being serious.

    <3U

    October 1, 2012
    • Oooooohhhh and sprinkled with some sea salt. Mouth is currently watering… I could actually go for some Oh Ladycakes raw apple pie 🙂 I’ve decided that a bigger size of jeans is worth it when you eat good crap like that…

      October 1, 2012
  28. Great idea…you bloody Americans and Halloween – it’s an obsession 😀

    October 1, 2012
    • Quit bitching about it and hop onto the band wagon, eh?? 😉

      October 1, 2012
  29. Cara, oh Cara. How I love you and your corny humor. “HawRAWween?!” I am at the airport right now and I literally almost spit my coffee at my computer and I am sitting here giggling awkwardly picturing you saying it in the most adorable voice. These are perfect. I can’t wait to see all your amazing creativity this month!

    October 1, 2012
    • I heart you friend! So happy you like my dorkiness 🙂 xo!

      October 1, 2012
  30. Um, yes please – to all the vegan candy bars 🙂 I also love your header and profile images – totally adorable! I am in the costume business so I LOVE Halloween as well – can’t wait to read the rest of your MoFo posts! I definitely need to get out and buy a chocolate mold this week.

    October 1, 2012
    • Thank you Ashley!! I think you are quickly becoming my newest best friend–the costume business you say? You are my kind of gal! Tried to comment on your blog but couldn’t but wanted to say that the Pumpkin Black Tea recipe sounds sooooo good! It’s on my to-make list 🙂

      October 1, 2012
  31. mamabebehawk #

    Oh YUM! I am going to make these for halloween this year for sure!

    October 1, 2012
    • Please do! They are so simple to make as well. xo

      October 1, 2012
  32. Lizzie #

    Have I mentioned lately how much I love you? 🙂

    October 1, 2012
    • LIZZIE!!!! No, no, no–I love YOU!!!

      October 1, 2012
  33. I’ve been swamped and am so behind on your blog… but this recipe looks and sounds delicious. I can’t wait to see what you come up with this Vegan MoFo! 🙂

    October 1, 2012
    • ANGELA!!!! Ohmygoodness, this officially marks our one year together 🙂 We met at last year’s MoFo–ha! Please tell me you are participating again!

      October 1, 2012
      • OMG that’s right! How could I forget?! Yes, I’m participating. Not sure how I will do it… My job has absolutely taken-over my life. But I want to do it because Vegan MoFo is the BEST. It truly is something that I look forward to all year 🙂

        October 1, 2012
        • YAY!! So happy to that you are participating! I will be stalking you daily then 🙂

          October 1, 2012
  34. Hey stop your coffin! Great lead off! Look forward to Mofoing with you for second year in a row. Love the raw footage.

    October 1, 2012
    • BAHA! Oh GiGi, you are my favorite! xoxo Super excited to MoFo with you too 🙂

      October 1, 2012
  35. You crazy fiend! This is going to be so much fun! All ready loving your RAWSOME Halloween theme, it makes me feel woefully unprepared for MOFO but c’est la vie! 😉 xx

    October 1, 2012
    • NO! Don’t say that at all, you hear me???! I’m psycho for Halloween, that’s all. Can’t wait to check out VedgedOut all month long!! xoxox

      October 1, 2012
      • I hear you babe! I love you, you psycho halloween freak!!! WeEee!

        October 1, 2012
        • I love it when you call me names… hehe

          October 1, 2012
  36. You had me at raw chocolate, but I LOVE Halloween! Can’t wait to see what you’ve come up with. 🙂

    October 1, 2012
    • Sounds like you and I already have so much in common, Casey 🙂 xo

      October 1, 2012
  37. Fabulous post and what an exciting start to a fun month of posting! Love all the extra touches Cara…someone has been having a blast 😉 Looking forward to all the treats! X

    October 1, 2012
    • I have officially put down “Enjoys Halloweenifying my blog” as one of my hobbies now. I’m obsessed and can do so for hours 🙂 xo!

      October 1, 2012
  38. I LOVE HALLOWEEEEEEEEN!!! and I love you, and your creativity, and cacao, and raw. I love that you are participating in MoFo again – looking forward to your treats!

    October 1, 2012
    • Isn’t that funny, because I happen to also love Halloween, YOUR creativity and just YOU 🙂 Yay! xo

      October 1, 2012
  39. Looks great, Mama! Yuuuum! Question, though. Is maple syrup considered raw? I thought they boil the snot out of it but I could be wrong. Also, I literally stayed up all night watching the Graham Norton show on YouTube so I might also be out of my freaking mind. At any rate, shut up, Brooke, chocolate! I love your updated look, too! Perfect for the season!

    October 1, 2012
    • A lot of raw foodists (at least from all the cookbooks that I have been studying) tend to use agave, maple syrup or even raw honey as sweeteners. I am sure the hardcore rawists consider the first 2 as no-nos, but seeing that I am not one of them, I am okay with with it and its usage 🙂 Now…about being out of your mind, this is an entirely different issue *wink* …xoxo!

      October 1, 2012
  40. yay! the most wonderful time of the yearrrr! your raw chocolate looks so good, i can’t wait to see what you do with it this week!!! ahem..butterfingers perhaps? *bats eyes*

    October 1, 2012
    • And the requests have begun 🙂 I am trying to figure out how to rawify butterfingers–this is going to be tricky! But you know my motto: Anything for Caitlin! xo

      October 1, 2012
      • i love that motto!!! ❤

        October 1, 2012
        • I had a feeling you would like that 😉

          October 1, 2012
  41. I do remember last MoFo and your recipes were amazing! I am very excited about your Halloween treats too! And your raw chocolate has been bookmarked! 🙂

    October 1, 2012
    • You are always so amazingly kind to me, Amanda! xo. Excited to see what Newman Improved has up her sleeve this month 🙂

      October 1, 2012
  42. Alexia @ NamasteYoga #

    oh yeah, this is how i make my chocolate at the moment! except i have been using coconut BUTTER, it somehow tastes much more smooother in the mouth! oh coconut butter, cacao powder, some maca and gojis.. yum! i have also tried matcha (green tea powder) and it gives you a real caffeine kick 🙂

    October 1, 2012
    • I am really wishing we were neighbors right about now, Alexia! How about you move to California??? *wink*

      October 1, 2012
      • Alexia @ NamasteYoga #

        oh i have been thinking abou it 🙂 got a job as yoga teacher or in marketing for me and i will be right there!

        October 2, 2012
        • I live in the land of yoga and marketing–this should be a simple task!

          October 2, 2012
  43. I love your new header and posters. I can’t even figure out how to change mine to save the life of me, so you get HUGE props for that (not to mention, you know, the rest of the blog content of course.)

    This is my first year truly experiencing Vegan Mofo and I can’t wait to see what my favorite bloggers (literally) cook–or uncook–up. Yay!

    October 1, 2012
    • Eeeeee, I love them too. Thank you 🙂 I probably spent WAY too much time designing them but it makes me happy so who cares, right?! I’m so flippin’ excited that you are doing MoFo this year–hooray!!!

      October 1, 2012
      • Oh, I’m not doing it. I’m SUPPORTING it 😉

        October 1, 2012
        • I’ll take it, irregardless. haha. See what I did there???

          October 1, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Homemade Holiday Peppermint Chocolates - Roll With It
  2. Eating Healthier With A Thanksgiving Day Challenge|Risa Lynch
  3. 9 Halloween Treats from Fork and Beans | My Family Blog
  4. Vegans Taste Better » Make Something Monday: a Nestle’s Tollhouse Gluten-free Redux

Leave a comment