Skip to content

Raw Key Lime Pie

Talk about having your cake (er, pie) and eating it too, this raw key lime pie makes for the perfect breakfast.

And I should know. I am currently eating a “slice” as I write this post.  You might be asking yourself why slice is in quotes (or for some of you, you understand me completely). There is no such thing as portion control when you are eating pie for breakfast, that is why. Just saying…

Raw Key Lime Pie Recipe

Gluten, egg, and dairy-free

Makes 2 4″ mini pies

For the pie crust:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 c. macadamia nuts
  • 1/2 c. almonds
  • 3 dates, depitted and chopped

DIRECTIONS:

  1. In a food processor, pulse until crumbly.
  2. Using half of the crust mix, place on the bottom of a 4″ mini springform pan and press gently with hands until smooth. Repeat for the other pan.

For the pie filling:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 c. cashews, soaked for 3 hours
  • 3/4 c. lime juice
  • 1/4 c. agave nectar
  • 1/4 c. coconut oil, melted
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Zest of 2 limes

DIRECTIONS:

  1. In a blender, combine all the ingredients exccept for the coconut oil until completely smooth. If it is difficult to blend, add 1 Tb of water at a time until the mix is able to blend properly. Try not to add too much though–you want a thick filling.
  2. Add the oil and blend until combined.
  3. Pour over crust and set in fridge for several hours until firm. (You might need to freeze the pie for a few minutes before you take it out of the pan.)
  4. Serve with fresh berries.

 

24 Comments Post a comment
  1. Dara #

    just a question, a lot of raw foodies use agave nectar, but isn’t it actually worse for your health than normal sugar?

    November 8, 2012
    • Hi Dara! That is a good question–one that has many people up in debate over. I am not admittedly not a raw foodist so my opinion might be different than someone who is but from what I have heard, yes you are right–there is findings that the process to make agave is just the same as corn syrup, thus making it not as healthy for you. Knowing this, I still use it in my desserts *but* you will notice that I don’t use a lot. I am a firm believer in everything in moderation. However, there are agave brands out there that are raw, haven’t been harshly processed, and are actually a much better choice (but of course are more expensive). Unfortunately, the market has oversaturated our choices to the point of confusion (just like coconut oil–not all brands are created equal). If you some research, you will be able to find suitable choices. Until then, raw honey is a good choice (if you are not vegan), maple syrup (though not raw but a good way to add a little to get some sweetness) and even date paste (just dates and water blended). Hope this helps!

      November 8, 2012
      • Dara #

        Thank you for your answer 🙂 I used honey with your snickers recipe but the honey-taste dominated a bit, making it a bit too sweet so i’m still searching for balance/replacements. I’m reading good things about Stevia and if you get it from a bio-store then it’s the most healthy choice I’ve heard.. Will try some of your recipes with Stevia soon so I’m excited 🙂 thank you for your recipes, they inspire me (and make me drool) lots!

        November 10, 2012
  2. Wow, I just discovered your blog and I am AMAZED by how easy and amazing these raw recipes sound! So glad to have found you!

    October 2, 2012
    • I’m definitely surprised too at how easy making raw desserts have been! Makes me not want to ever bake my goods again 🙂 Glad you are here, Michelle! xo

      October 2, 2012
  3. Oh gosh, that looks absolutely gorgeous!

    October 1, 2012
  4. That looks amaaaaaazing!

    September 22, 2012
  5. Ahhh.. this one looks bbeeeeeuuutiful my dear!
    I would love a bite of that one ;D

    September 20, 2012
  6. You are really starting to turn me onto cashews! Getting my brain thinking….

    September 19, 2012
  7. how i love dessert for breakfast! looks positively perfect!

    September 15, 2012
  8. I’ve never had the desire to try key lime pie, but when you go and dress it up with gorgeous fig slices, how can I resist? This looks lovely! 🙂

    September 14, 2012
  9. Made it last night, using raw honey. I used my trio of mini cake pans, lined with wrap (so I could pull them out). Should I be embarrassed I ate an entire one this morning?

    September 14, 2012
  10. looks fabulous!

    September 13, 2012
  11. Um, you had me at figs, dude that is totally the nectar of the gods. And yes, I would totally eat it for breakfast too!

    September 13, 2012
    • Um, you had me at nectar. That is a fun word 🙂 And so are you!

      September 13, 2012
  12. I totally feel you on the pie “slice.” If it isn’t for guests I just eat pie straight outta the pan.

    September 13, 2012
    • It’s as if you have a video camera set up in my house 🙂 xo

      September 13, 2012
  13. Ah! Beautiful! I am so happy I found your blog, right in the nick of time that I went raw! : )

    September 13, 2012
    • Hooray for serendipity! xo

      September 13, 2012
  14. Tut! For breakfast… tut! I’ll still head over and check it out though…

    September 13, 2012
    • I’m a giggling so hard right now. You and your “tuts”… Freaking Nick. You make me laugh, you weirdo.

      September 13, 2012
  15. Wow this looks so amazing Cara! I am going over to check out that recipe now.

    September 13, 2012
    • Thanks Beth!! xo

      September 13, 2012

Leave a comment