Skip to content

Salted Caramel Mini Donuts

What a difference a week makes.

I know I have been rather silent on my end and if you have been stopping by as of late, you will know that I have been alluding to experiencing some life changes. I have held back on the exact details; I will one day soon expand more on that but for now, I am in the midst of preparing for a new home, a new roommate, a new city to live in, a new job and a new chapter to my life.

For someone who has always felt so afraid of/opposed to change and is experiencing so much of it in such a short span of time, I think I am taking it rather well. In fact, might I even say that there is an underlying sense of excitement brewing in me. What I am learing in this time is that facing your fears isn’t as scary of a thing that you once made them out to be.

What has blown me away even more so is the fact that the moment I faced them was the moment all of these incredible doors and opportunities have opened up. I would have never been able to do the things that are on my horizon had I not mustered up the strength to take care of myself, put me first and venture out into the scary, exciting unknown. This change is birthing new life in me.

I could get used to this…

Salted Caramel Mini Donuts Recipe

Gluten, dairy, and egg free

Makes 16-18 mini donuts

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/3 c. sorghum flour (I use Authentic Foods brand)
  • 1/3 c. Brown rice flour (Authentic Foods)
  • 1/4 c. cocoa powder
  • 1/4 c. potato starch
  • 1/4 c. arrowroot powder
  • 1/2 tsp xanthan gum
  • (OR: 2/3 c. regular flour + 1/4 c. cocoa powder and omit xanthan gum)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c. buttermilk (1/2 Tb apple cider vinegar + 1/2 c. non-dairy milk)
  • 1 1/2 tsp Ener-G egg replacer + 2 Tbs warm water, mixed til frothy
  • 1/4 c. oil
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Mix dry ingredients {from flours to salt} together until fully combined.
  3. Make a well in the center of the bowl. Add all the remainder of wet ingredients and stir with a wooden spoon until just incorporated.
  4. Grease a mini donut pan.
  5. Place 1/2 batter into a ziploc baggie. Cut the corner of one side to use as an opening. This part is important in the shape of the donuts: Using one hand to firmly keep the dough flowing out of the hole, squirt the dough out in a circle in the pan.
  6. Bake 8 minutes. Allow to sit in the pan for 3 minutes after you take it out of the oven.

Caramel Filling

  1. Reserve 3-4 Tbs for frosting.
  2. Pipe remainder into hole of mini donut.

Salted Caramel Frosting

  • 1/4 c. non-dairy butter {I like Fleischman’s}, softened
  • 3-4 Tb caramel sauce
  • 2 1/2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1 Tb non-dairy milk
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp salt (taste for preference)
  1. Mix butter and caramel sauce together with an electric mixer on medium for 2 minutes, until fluffy.
  2. Add powdered sugar and mix. Add milk until creamy, smooth, and fluffy.
  3. Spoon onto the tops of donuts.
  4. Option: Top with fleur de sel and a mint leave.
103 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love the recipe, love your blog, love YOU! Nicely done, lady. 🙂

    May 8, 2012
  2. My heart goes out to you, Cara. I’m excited for you and will at the same time keep you and your upcoming changes in my thoughts and prayers.

    May 6, 2012
    • I definitely will keep you updated! Plus, I will be closer now to where you and your family just moved to so now we have no excuse to not get coffee…

      May 7, 2012
  3. Carolyn Brown #

    So I was hopping over to your blog to get a good recipe for a GF/V cookie that I could take to a “cookie party” next weekend. I got distracted by this latest post. I’m not surprised that you have 94 comments on these delicious looking donuts. Yummmmmm. As I perused through all the comments, it made my heart happy to see how many people love you and believe in you, Caraboo (Of COURSE they do!) As I’ve said before, I’m so very proud of you. Can’t wait to watch this new adventure unfold for you, you incredible, talented, gorgeous, creative, fabulous, hilarious, vibrant, energetic, innovative, fabulous soul. Love. Love. Love.

    Oh, and any personal faves for a cookie? And I’m not the world’s greatest baker, so a KISS recipe would be best. 🙂

    May 6, 2012
    • This blog has opened up so much love into my life, it’s ridiculous! The people behind these comments (including you) are some of the most wonderful people–I am so blessed, especially during this time in life.

      About the cookie recipe, do you want it to be gf/vegan or a normal ol’ recipe?

      May 6, 2012
  4. I’m so proud of you for leaning into the discomfort of change and embracing all your blessings and challenges. I hope we’ll get to meet up for a Cafe Gratitude date (or even a Babycakes date) before you leave LA.

    May 5, 2012
    • I will still be So Cal–just moving to Orange County 🙂 woo hoo.
      Thank you for the love! I like how you say it’s “leaning” into it–a perfect description…

      May 6, 2012
      • Oh, great! OC isn’t too far away to meet up for lunch. 🙂

        May 7, 2012
  5. Lou #

    I think change is feared so much by so many people… it’s when you accept and embrace change that it becomes EXCITING and amazing opportunities pop up. One door shuts, and ten more open…. that one door can be painful though Cara, so I’m thinking of you… time heals all eventually (plus think of how much you can LEARN about YOU in the process!)

    x

    May 5, 2012
    • I think I need to come over for that long-awaited cup of coffee…
      xo!

      May 6, 2012
  6. coldandsleepy #

    Whatever lies ahead for you, I hope it’s going to be wonderful. I’ll be here reading along, crossing my fingers on your behalf, and drooling over your food photos.

    May 4, 2012
    • Can I just say how much I miss you? I know I keep saying it but it’s so different not being able to comment on your blog! It really bums me out because I just adore you so. Please know that I think of you often though and still keep up with CASC 🙂 xo–thank you for these wishes. I will need those toes and eyes crossed too. hehe

      May 4, 2012
  7. Oh wow these are over the top decadent! Gluten and dairy free too. I’m so excited. We’re gluten free here at my house and I’m dairy free. W are going to love making these. Yum!

    May 4, 2012
    • Well isn’t that full of serendipity then! 🙂 It is a *must* now to make these donuts for all the fam to enjoy.

      May 4, 2012
      • And congratulations on your new adventures! Wishing you huge success and tons of happiness and joy. 🙂

        May 4, 2012
  8. I am so there with you! What a great post – embracing change is so powerful, I am so happy for you that you are experiencing such wonderful new life! Bravo! I wish you all the best in your new and exciting adventures 🙂 xo

    May 4, 2012
    • This is a much needed comment, Shira–thank you, thank you, thank you. xo

      May 4, 2012
  9. So you are the goddess of temptation!!!!
    I’m dying here ~ these looks so good 😉
    *)

    May 4, 2012
    • Now that is a title a girl can get used to 🙂 ha! Thanks, Ella. xo

      May 4, 2012
  10. Good lord I am drooling, these look so good!

    May 3, 2012
    • You might need a towel. Drool has been known to cause keyboard malfunction 🙂

      May 3, 2012
  11. More DONUTS!!! You know, I never liked donuts until I moved to America. You are all a bad influence on me, I swear.

    On another note, I am more than glad to hear that you are viewing your current situation in a positive light, and that these new opportunities are finding you. You may have left that comment on my blog and deleted it, but I still received the notification to my email inbox. All I can say if – Man, you are one strong woman! The fact that you keep pushing through in such hard circumstances is so inspiring, and I’m thrilled that you are able to start fresh and throw all of this behind you. You deserve the world, and you know that. Because you work hard, and you see the best in everything. WHAT A LADY! 🙂

    Looking forward to seeing more posts from you. Or else.. 😉

    May 3, 2012
    • Thank God we are back to threats!! I have missed them, I really have..
      And oh my gosh, could you say any NICER things to me, Isobelle? For reals, I cannot tell you how deeply touched I was to read this–from the bottom of my heart, thank you friend. Thank you.

      May 3, 2012
  12. I will agree with my friend Abby, life does begin at the end of your comfort zone! that’s where all the action is, and all the happiness! I wish so much of that happiness for you, dear XXO

    hug hug (wag) hug from Mr B and me. ❤

    May 3, 2012
    • Hugs and wags right back!
      Abby is a smart gal, isn’t she? She is pretty freaking rad too. I heart her. And I heart YOU! Thank you for this, friend.

      May 3, 2012
  13. I am very curious to get the details of all of your life changes! I hope they bring you happiness and joy (and bring you closer to NC!)!! I have been dreaming about donuts a lot lately and then I see your delicious post. You have certainly put donuts on my brain! I think it is because for so long I thought I’d never get to have them again! Now I have even more of your amazing recipes to try!

    May 3, 2012
    • Details to come once things settle down but thank you for your interest, Amanda 🙂 I’m excited to share more as time passes… And sadly, I am not going to be closer to NC–still living in California but the good news is that you can still move here and be near me 🙂 hehehe

      May 3, 2012
  14. do you think I could make these as mini muffins or reg. sized muffins. I don’t have a donut pan! ;-( and I MUST make them.

    Best of luck with all the changes, I’m sure you’re gonna kick CHANGES butt!

    May 3, 2012
    • I would try the mini muffins but I cannot guarantee they will come out the same. I don’t see why not though, but then again, I have learned with gf/vegan baking, you just never know… Fingers crossed for you!

      May 3, 2012
  15. Should I send you a pair of long johns and a down parka now or just wait until you arrive?

    Change and I have struggled over the years. As I grow , change isn’t nearly as scary as it use to be – just embrace it and from it a lot of good will come.

    Anything you do, anywhere you are and anyone you are with you will still be the amazing Cara we all know and love 🙂

    May 3, 2012
    • How about I wait until things get sunny over there before visiting. Anything that requires me to take off my sandals and put on a down parka isn’t really a good combo for me. ha. No really, I am a BIG baby in the cold–you would get annoyed with me. xo

      May 3, 2012
  16. Tell me about not liking any change!:)) yeah that me yelling at everyone who changed the direction of my bed!
    Sending you the best for a smooth and non scary transition.. And i am super intrigued about everything.. and waiting to hear more!!:)
    I need a mini donut pan.. thats it! amazonfresh delivery today evening!

    May 3, 2012
    • You DO need a mini donut pan, yes! I fully support that sort of change in a person’s life 🙂 Thank you for the best wishes–they are already working in my favor. xo

      May 3, 2012
  17. Keisha #

    I know exactly how you feel. It’s like: Ahh. No. Change…don’t…happen…I’m not ready! That’s my life lately.

    P.S. love this recipe and your blog!

    May 3, 2012
    • Sending you lots of love right back as we both embrace change, Keisha. Thank you for the encouragement–means so much… xo

      May 3, 2012
  18. Brooklyn #

    🙂 can’t wait to see you next week!

    May 3, 2012
    • ME TOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      May 3, 2012
  19. I hope this “new city” you’re referring to is Seattle. And the “new roommate” is me. And the “new job” is making me donuts. Because I am in serious need of gluten-free salted caramel mini donuts.

    May 3, 2012
    • The answer to this game of CLUE is: Philadelphia, with AnonymousBurn (and a donut pan), as my wifey! Must be!!!

      May 3, 2012
    • HAHA. Are you looking for a live-in donut chef, Brooke? Does it come with an allowance? 🙂

      May 3, 2012
      • Yes. I will allow you to make me any type of donut your little heart desires. I will also allow you to sleep in my boy’s room. To sweeten the deal, they’re getting a bunk bed soon… I know you’re about to pee your pants from the awesomeness of the offer, but wait, there’s more… Hair. In a Can. You know you wanna.

        May 3, 2012
  20. Melissa #

    Good luck on all the exciting changes in your life! Major life changes like this can be scary, but I find it ends up being worth it in the end. Also, I need these doughnuts in my life. Right now.

    May 3, 2012
    • Thank you for that, Melissa. I am truly finding a high from these changes–is that crazy to say? ha. For your encouragement, I will send you some donuts, how about that? 🙂

      May 3, 2012
  21. Oh my lord. That’s it- donut pan is on my wishlist. I would eat those entirely for the caramel filling!

    Glad to hear you are doing better. Change is always scary but exciting at the same time! I’m going to be going through some major changes in September and I’m already anxious about them. Just know it will all work out in the end and this will bring new adventures, friends and experiences 🙂

    May 3, 2012
    • Now you have peaked my interest–what is happening in September, Gabby?
      Thank you for the encouragement! I couldn’t be any more thrilled about my near future. You are right, it really will be bringing about an entire new wave of experiences that gets me all giddy inside. xo

      May 3, 2012
      • Oh just a little move to Toronto to go to school for Holistic Nutrition 🙂 Super excited about it!

        May 3, 2012
        • TAKE ME WITH YOU!!! I am so jealous! Where are you now?

          May 3, 2012
          • I’m in Kingston, ON, a very exciting place let me tell you lol. In all seriousness I do love it here, but I am craving a change to a big city. Plus I miss school and this time school will be focused on something I am passionate about! It will be so refreshing to be around people with similar interests 🙂

            I would take you with me in a second! Don’t be afraid to visit!

            May 3, 2012
            • I love the worldly connections blogging brings! You better believe that I am going to hold you to that offer. And keep me updated on your schooling experience. I cannot begin to tell you how excited I am for you!

              May 3, 2012
              • YES let’s do this! It will be an epic visit 🙂

                And thanks darling 🙂 September can’t come fast enough!

                May 4, 2012
                • Now I just need to update my passport…

                  May 4, 2012
  22. All will end well I’m sure, Cara! At any rate, you may colour me intrigued. Out of interest, will we ever see a recipe that isn’t a DOUGHNUT again? Not that these don’t look absolutely spectacular, because they do. Lovely post :D.

    May 3, 2012
    • I told you that I am on a DONUT kick. Why are you still surprised to see another DONUT here??! Fear not, it is ending soon. Too much of a good thing is just completely wrong, so I’m finding 🙂

      May 3, 2012
  23. Laurel #

    The only thing better than chocolate and caramel together is a chrysalis emerging into the maginificent butterfly it’s always been destined for. Love you.

    May 3, 2012
    • That is probably the best description for my situation. That is precisely what it feels like–a complete and utter metamorphisis. Love you too! Did you get your Jel from me yet?

      May 3, 2012
      • Laurel #

        Heck no. I didn’t even get a visit when you were 35 minutes away and being the perfect lady I am neither did I intrude on your privacy. Babies, nieces, mothers and sisters bonding. Bah! Humbug! {snicker snicker} Oh. Snickers. Yes, please.

        May 3, 2012
        • Laurel #

          Just got here! Thanks so much – now I have to make some more marshmallows. Uhoh. 🙂

          May 3, 2012
        • Wait, you are a mere 35 minutes from where my sister lives? No! I thought you were like 90 minutes away…don’t get crazy on me, you know I was trapped indoors without the option to escape. Why didn’t YOU visit ME??! 🙂 Glad you got the Jel! Sorry I didn’t have time to write a note–I felt so ghetto for not doing so 😦

          May 3, 2012
          • Laurel #

            You were on my mind the whole time. I just kept thinking it would be unforgivably rude to take away your family time. That is apparently what I get for thinking. Well, next time she has a baby…

            May 4, 2012
  24. when one door closes, another opens. that’s what my mom always says and it definitely applies to you 😉 i am so excited for you and your new endeavors.

    May 3, 2012
    • Except in my case it has been, when one door closes, 84 new ones open in the time span of 3 days 🙂 I’m so excited too, friend–thank you. xo

      May 3, 2012
      • that’s what i like to hear! don’t get lost in the house of a million doors 😉

        May 3, 2012
        • HA. Well, I am bad with directions…

          May 3, 2012
  25. Somer #

    I seriously need a donut pan! You sound like you are doing a little better 😉
    xoxo

    May 3, 2012
    • I’m doing a lot better. And you will be too once you give me your address. Email. NOW.

      May 3, 2012
      • Somer #

        Okay all ready! 😉

        May 3, 2012
  26. Heather @ Better With Veggies #

    You are on a roll with these donuts – and these look as incredible as I would expect. Good luck with all the changes going on right now, I think change can be good, but is generally a pain and scary in the process. 🙂

    May 3, 2012
    • Heather, have I told you that when I see your face over here it makes my day? <–it's true 🙂
      Thank you for this lovely comment, as always–I am storing up these kind words into my heart right now…

      May 3, 2012
      • Heather @ Better With Veggies #

        Aw – what a wonderful thing for YOU to say. 🙂

        May 3, 2012
  27. ninaherbert #

    Well aren’t you a dark horse! So many changes and sounding so remarkably calm about it all.
    You are destined for great things and it’s true, the comfort zone is comforting but this doesn’t necessarily translate to ‘doing new things and going new places’.
    Ooh, I can’t wait to hear about your adventures. 🙂
    On an Earth shattering note, I’ve never had salted caramel (of any sort) before. So I’m looking forward to trying these.
    Thanks Cara, always. :o)

    May 3, 2012
    • You have never heard of salted caramel and I have never heard of a dark horse 🙂 Salted caramel is the newest craze (well, it has been at least) here in the States. Anything to throw salt on. Americans. We love our salt. And our hypertension. ha

      May 3, 2012
  28. shannonroche #

    I can’t believe your donuts. They are always so phenomenal! I love salted caramel!

    May 3, 2012
    • Shannon, you are always amazing to me. Thank you for your comments!

      May 3, 2012
  29. So good to hear you happy and excited! And these donuts… whoa boy. They sound so insanely good! Haha!

    May 3, 2012
  30. Life, I think, is like Michelangelo says “In every block of marble I see a statue as plain as though it stood before me, shaped and perfect in attitude and action. I have only to hew away the rough walls that imprison the lovely apparition to reveal it to the other eyes as mine see it.” All of your life’s possibilities have always been in there waiting for you to hew away the rough walls that imprison it.

    May 3, 2012
    • This is beautiful, Meg. I love this quote so much!!
      Speaking of which, I was a Kohl’s yesterday and found a hanging that I was seriously going to buy for you that read “I love my dog and my dog loves me” but I thought it would be a little ghetto of me to take my sharpie and add an “s” to dog. ha

      May 3, 2012
      • Ghetto, maybe, but you and I can be *street* can’t we? It must be true that it’s the thought that counts because hearing you were thinking of me while off doing your life in your world brought a silly grin to my face. I rivaled Rose for cuteness, I know that I did.

        May 3, 2012
        • We are rather ‘hood, yes, that is true my sister. Holler (said in the whitest of white voices).
          OF COURSE I think of you while doing life!! xo

          May 3, 2012
          • C, it’s ‘holla’ sista!!

            May 6, 2012
            • You mean, Holler sister? haha. <–I'm as white as you can be MJ 🙂

              May 7, 2012
  31. Sara #

    I have recently went through some life changes as well – you are right that it can open up opportunities. I have written about it a bit of my blog. This post is on change: http://reallifeproject.wordpress.com/2012/01/18/a-changewould-do-you-good/
    I also have one on moving – in case that helps!
    Good luck!

    May 3, 2012
    • Thank you for the thoughtful links, Sara. Very appreciated 🙂 xo

      May 3, 2012
  32. Like they say (and I will hypocritically repeat), life begins outside your comfort zone. I have no doubt that wherever you go and whatever you do, good things will happen. There will be challenges, but there will be rewards…like donuts, perhaps? 😉

    May 3, 2012
    • If at the end of this journey is a box of freaking rainbow sprinkled donuts then I will say “It was all worth it!” Great, if there isn’t donuts, I’m hunting you down…

      May 3, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Tasty Tuesday Series Part I – The Vegan Mini Donut Obsession « Good Clean Food

Leave a comment