Skip to content

Farm Fresh Vegan Eggs

Come this Easter holiday season, everyone is going to be colorfully dyeing hardboiled eggs, creating their best egg souffle dishes, and making chick-shaped deviled eggs. But what about those of us who don’t eat eggs? Where is our alternative? Well, I’ll tell you what. I went to a farm yesterday and plucked 1/2 dozen freshly laid vegan eggs to show that we, too, can enjoy our very own egg-free Easter celebration.

They came in this sturdy carton that may look like real eggs, but pull back the top, and what do we have?

The only type of egg a vegan will eat.

I took one out of the carton. It was still warm. As I took a bite, I could instantly taste the quality of freshness–these vegan eggs mean business, folks. So much better than anything you have ever tried. Before I knew it, I had to watch for the marshmallow yolk in the middle. These guys can be messy! {marshmallow middle made separately}*

RICE O’S EGG TREATS RECIPES

Gluten, egg, and dairy free

INGREDIENTS:

  • 3 c. Nature’s Path Whole O’s gluten-free cereal
  • 1/2 bag Dandies marshmallows
  • 1 1/2 Tb vegan butter

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Melt butter in a medium saucepan over low heat.
  2. Once melted, add marshmallows. Stir often until melted and smooth. Remove from heat.
  3. Pour cereal into melted marshmallows and stir until well combined. If you need to add more cereal, do so, depending if you like your treats to be extra marshmallowy or not.
  4. Allow to sit for a minute to cool down briefly. Scoop out 1/4 c. worth of mix into hands and form into an egg shape.

Forget protein-packed eggs, these guys are filled with marshmallowy goodness. Perfect for the person interested in lowering their cholesterol {ignore this statement}, finding new foods that feed the brain {another untrue fact}, and looking for ways to introduce healthier options into their diet {yup, this is a lie, too}.

{no real yolks were used in the making of these eggs}

Okay, okay, so these are the perfect once-in-awhile treat that by no means have nutritional value but sure do hit that sweet tooth spot!

*For the egg yolk, in a bowl, melt 7 marshmallows with a drop of water in the microwave for 10 seconds. Pour 4-5 drops of yellow food coloring into the mix, stir until completely smooth and melted. 

71 Comments Post a comment
  1. RRR #

    Butter’s not Vegan.

    April 4, 2012
    • This just made me laugh–thank you for that! Not sure if you misread the ingredients but it says vegan butter, as in Earth Balance {a non-dairy “butter”}

      April 4, 2012
  2. elise #

    these are the CUTEST little things ever. ive never tried dandies before, only suzanne’s ricemallow creme. now i need to them. and food dye. or maybe ill just use turmeric. hmmm {brain goes into overdrive…}

    April 1, 2012
    • So many choices, huh, Elise?? hehe. If you want, you can always use India Tree Natural food coloring, that I believe uses turmeric for it’s yellow food coloring. And definitely try the Dandies. I currently have a year’s supply in the cupboard. ha!!

      April 1, 2012
  3. I’m SO HAPPY YOU COMMENTED ON MY BLOG – because now I have found yours and this is adorable and delicious. xo

    March 23, 2012
    • You are way too cute! hehe. Thank you for such a sweet comment–just made my day 🙂

      March 23, 2012
  4. Your ideas are always the most creative ones ! What will come next ? Stuffed Vegan Turkey ? 🙂

    March 22, 2012
    • Don’t give me ideas…I might just run with them 🙂

      March 22, 2012
  5. So creative! (and they look divine!)

    March 22, 2012
  6. I can almost feel the sticky, chewy texture of those marshmallowy cereal eggs! That’s cool that you’ve found a plant-based food coloring. I didn’t know such a thing existed! I’ve just avoided food coloring altogether, opting for things like beet juice when I want something to be red, for example. Next time I have food coloring needs, I’ll look for them!

    March 20, 2012
    • It’s kind of crazy how more and more products are less and less gross, you know? ha. Yes, check out India Tree, if plant-based coloring is your thang 🙂 But I do love the idea of just using fruits/veggies for coloring!

      March 20, 2012
  7. Soooo your yolk reminds me of a Muppet nose. I find that kind of amusing. At the same time, I want to poke it. ::samples an egg::

    March 19, 2012
    • HAHA. You are too funny–a muppet nose?! Honk Honk. <–I have no idea why but the mention of a muppet made me want to make that noise…

      March 20, 2012
      • I might have an answer for your honking. I typed ‘muppet honk nose’ on YouTube and got this:

        …this too

        March 20, 2012
        • The second one shouldn’t be an ad :p

          March 20, 2012
          • You pretty much just made my day with these videos!! xo

            March 20, 2012
  8. You so funny, Cara! I love this idea.

    I’m sure kids just love you to bits!

    March 19, 2012
    • The only reason they love me is because I give them coffee when their moms aren’t around 🙂

      March 19, 2012
      • HA! Boy, like kids need coffee in the first place? They must bounce off the walls.

        March 19, 2012
        • I don’t know what the side effects are because I hand them back to their parents before I find out 🙂

          March 19, 2012
      • Ha! I do the same thing. Don’t let the monsters eat any sugar all day, but 30 minutes before their parents come home, load ’em up with sweets. It’s one way to keep sane, and make sure the kids adore you to pieces 😉

        I think Edie and I will have to make these for breakfast. But with Puffins. And as a side to our chocolate chip waffles.

        March 19, 2012
        • Anything for adoration, that is my motto 🙂 And Puffins?? Oh my. Those used to be my favorite. Have a few for me!

          March 20, 2012
  9. Lou #

    Ha, I would take marshmallow over protein any day 🙂 I agree with the above comment too!

    March 19, 2012
    • At least for me, it’s much more filling, no?

      March 19, 2012
  10. My kind of eggs. Very funny! Now I think you should coat them with chocolate.

    March 19, 2012
    • It’s a bummer that these eggs didn’t last long enough for me to cover them with chocolate. I think I need to learn the word: control. Next time though, next time! xo

      March 19, 2012
  11. Ha, so awesome! Vegan marshmallows make just about everything better, and these are some eggs I would not mind eating one bit. 🙂

    March 19, 2012
    • Sometimes I wonder if Dandies’ Facebook page is tired of hearing me talk about how awesome they are 🙂

      March 19, 2012
  12. Thank you for these themes Cara.. else i wouldnt even know which holiday/event/celebration was coming up next 😛 those eggs are crazy creative!

    March 19, 2012
    • HAHA. Call me your calendar girl 🙂

      March 19, 2012
  13. 🙂
    Everything has been said so all I can do is smile over here!
    Well played, and fabulous for a groggy Monday mo’….!

    March 19, 2012
    • A smile is all I need! Glad to put one on your face, homie 😉

      March 19, 2012
  14. Teehee! You are so cute and so clever!

    March 19, 2012
    • If we are twinsies then that makes YOU cute and clever as well 🙂

      March 19, 2012
  15. Too funny. I was wondering where you were going with this when I read the title. I know my hens don’t lay vegan eggs. 🙂

    March 19, 2012
  16. Hahah this is too cute. Can I ask what brand food colouring you use? I’m thinking of investing in some and would love any recommendations!

    March 19, 2012
  17. Hahahaha you are too cute!!! I couldn’t wait to read your post with a title like that 🙂 hmmmmm delicious treats! I love eggs but these vegan versions won me over!

    March 19, 2012
    • Well that is saying a lot if the egg lover would be willing to switch over to the vegan egg version 🙂 haha. xo!

      March 19, 2012
  18. Laurel #

    I don’t know what I expected but vegan eggs that come with separate yolks was definitely not remotely on the list. Very cute, just like their creator. It’s inspired me to make coconut cream pie if I ever get out of the bedroom. 🙂

    March 19, 2012
    • I love how this inspired you to make coconut cream pie. ha. Something tells me you have had it on the brain before you even saw this post. Which reminds me, I am going to need a slice of that pie to make sure I approve of the quality 🙂

      March 19, 2012
      • Laurel #

        So that’s on the menu with bunny cake? I must have coconut on the brain. On the what? I don’t think I own one of those ‘b’ things.

        March 19, 2012
        • I hear that b thing is helpful for day-to-day life. I am still waiting for mine in the mail…

          March 19, 2012
  19. aww lady, you are TOO CUTE! i love the dandy yolks! you are so damn creative.

    March 19, 2012
    • I love it when you say curse words 🙂

      March 19, 2012
  20. I read this entire post with a huge smile on my face- you are so stink’in cute Cara – the yolk, so funny!

    March 19, 2012
    • Then my work here is done. I was going for that smile!!

      March 19, 2012
  21. katep #

    I got very confused here. Had to have a porper think about whether vegans could eat eggs! I am such an idiot. Nice post.

    March 19, 2012
    • You are most definitely *not* an idiot! It’s simply early in the morning 🙂 xo

      March 19, 2012
      • katep #

        not in england!!!

        March 19, 2012
        • Er, but it was in California so you get a pass 🙂

          March 19, 2012
  22. Very pretty and very clever!! I love this!!

    March 19, 2012
    • Thanks for that eggsellent comment 🙂 Oh no, the puns are waking up this morning. *shaking my head in disapproval*

      March 19, 2012
  23. shannonroche #

    Oh wow. If you covered these in fondant you could probably “paint” on them! So exciting.

    March 19, 2012
    • Man, where were you when I was making these??? That is a great idea! Okay Shannon, I will be expecting you to make those 🙂

      March 19, 2012
  24. betterwithveg #

    I was very confused when I read the title – this is hilarious!! Where did you come up with this idea?! 😉

    March 19, 2012
  25. Haha – nice!! Love the ‘yolk’ spilling out, there. Very cute! 🙂

    March 19, 2012
    • You know, I am rather proud of that myself! So happy to hear someone else appreciates it the way I do 🙂

      March 19, 2012
  26. Kelly C #

    You are really working your way through that supply of Dandies aren’t you! These are adorable!

    March 19, 2012
    • I’ve got 8 more month’s worth 🙂 haha

      March 19, 2012
  27. First comment of the day, score. So thanks for the laughs. Cute idea.

    March 19, 2012
    • *Sirens are going off. Confetti is thrown from the air. People lift you up onto their shoulders, screaming in excitement*
      Now you know what happens when you are the first to comment over here 🙂 xo

      March 19, 2012
  28. Alexiasana #

    oh gosh this is just too funny, i dont know what i expected when i got the email with the post “vegan eggs” but it surely wasnt marshmallowy cereal easter eggs. a classic!

    March 19, 2012
    • hehehe. I think I am a bit early for April Fools Day, eh? Glad you got a giggle out of this. xo

      March 19, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Vegan Easter Recipes - Crowdsource Vegan Recipe Testing The Unintentional Vegan

Leave a comment