Skip to content

They’re magically {gluten-free and veganly} delicious!

This recipe came to me in a dream.

I swear to the G. I was literally deep in slumber when I remembered hearing a voice telling me to use my Marshmallow hearts recipe to make Lucky Charms. It woke me up immediately and left me wide awake until morning came, excited to test it out. Like, really? I’m dreaming about recipes now? Does this mean that I have officially crossed a kitchen rite of passage of some sort? Before I know it, I will be thinking about food development in the bathroom. Oh, who am I kidding? It’s been happening for a while now. I’ve been baptized into the knighthood of baking already, whatever that means. All I do know is that I can not escape thinking, breathing, and {now} dreaming about making food. If ever I’m accused of having an affair on Greg, it will be with baking.

{And yes, they are now baptizing knights. Fact}.

It took several attempts, and granted, I still haven’t perfected that crunchy marshmallow texture {though BraveTart looks like she has!} but I am in love with the entire look of this cereal.

LUCKY CHARMS RECIPE

Gluten, egg, and dairy free

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 bag of Dandies vegan marshmallows
  • 1 Tb water
  • 1 1/2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1/2 c. cornstarch
  • Pink, orange, blue, and green food coloring
  • fondant mini cutters
  • Natural Path Whole O’s Cereal {it’s gluten free AND oh-so yummy!}

DIRECTIONS

  1. Heat Dandies in the microwave with the water in a bowl for 2 minutes. Stop after 1 minute and stir; each 30 seconds after, stop and stir until marshmallows are melted and smooth.
  2. Add powdered sugar and starch in 1/2 c. at a time and stir with a wooden spoon until combined. At about 1 c. you might have to start using your hands to mix in sugar (You want a dough to form and not be sticky). Knead dough in bowl. Seperate into 4 equal pieces:
  3. Add a few drops of food coloring in 4 of the separate dough balls. You probably might want to wear gloves at this point.
  4. Combine food coloring into the dough by kneading it initially, then twisting it in half (like you are ringing the water out of a cloth) multiple times until color is smooth and uniform. Repeat for each ball of color.
  5. With a rolling pin, gently roll out dough, each color ball at a time, until 1/2″ thick. Cut out shapes per color. For the rainbow color: Take a small piece from each 4 colors and roll together between both hands until webbed with color.
  6. Leave marshmallow cut-outs to sit out for a couple of days to harden OR dehydrate for several hours {not sure to amount of time because I am yet to be a part of the lucky members club who have a dehydrator. One day!}

These things are plumped with sugar. Tons of sugar. Makes you realize what the fat cats are actually putting into processed foods in order to make them taste good, which is why this is a once-in-a-lifetime recipe. Make it once in your life…and that is all you will ever need to do.

Pink hearts, blue diamonds, orange stars, green clovers, and rainbow-colored rainbows. The only thing missing is a big ol’ splash of green non-dairy milk.

69 Comments Post a comment
  1. oh! and green milk??

    December 18, 2012
  2. new to vegan and I have a question: food coloring. I read somewhere (and forgive the ignorance) that red food coloring contained Red 40–which, well, gross as this sounds, involved bugs. I don’t go into detail. Question is about vegan food coloring? Is that available in stores, do you make your own? This is my husband’s favorite cereal, I cannot wait to try it out.

    December 18, 2012
    • A very good question! I believe it is a certain red food coloring that does involve beetles. I can’t remember which one (not helpful) but there are alternatives if this is an important issue for you. You can find red beet colored based food coloring at most health food stores or even online 🙂 Hope this helps! xo

      December 18, 2012
  3. Joy #

    How many of the little marshmallow charms does this recipe make? I would like to make a jar of them for a going-vegan friend who misses her favorite breakfast cereal. Should I double the recipe to fill a small, cute jar as a gift?

    October 1, 2012
  4. Was just about to make these and realised I have no tiny fondant cutters…oops. Not sure I’m handy enough to cut the shapes free-hand. LOVE your blog xx

    March 31, 2012
    • I don’t blame you–I tend to have a shaky hand at times myself 🙂 Hopefully you have as much fun making these as I did–it really was a blast for me. Eating them, however? Meh. I couldn’t handle how much sugar it was… Good luck!

      March 31, 2012
  5. Dandies are the best aren’t they!

    I was SO SUPER Excited to see the title of your post, I instantly knew what I would be seeing next – I loved Lucky Charms Growing up….you are my hero for making a vegan version; you ROCK Cara 🙂

    Recipes in my dream, yep. in the shower, yep. every waking moment – pretty much; reality is I think about food all day long 🙂

    March 19, 2012
    • We are in the field that we are supposed to be in, I guess, right? 🙂 <–regardless if we are paid for it or not at this point. But I have to correct you on something you said. It is not I but YOU who ROCKS… xo!

      March 19, 2012
  6. Love this! So creative, as is everything else on your blog. Thanks for the inspiration!

    March 19, 2012
    • That is so nice of you to say, for reals! Thank you for brightening my day 🙂

      March 19, 2012
  7. WHAT?!!! I make these and am so happy right now. Hilarious! Thanks for using Dandies!

    March 16, 2012
    • Thank YOU for the Dandies, for reals. They have made me the happiest person 🙂

      March 16, 2012
  8. Thank you, thank you, thank you! You are actually my hero for making Lucky Charms vegan + gluten-free.

    March 15, 2012
    • I definitely need to tweak the recipe to have the actual texture but for the meantime, this shall do! Thanks for the love, Mandiee! xo

      March 15, 2012
  9. You are a godddess…….

    March 15, 2012
    • I am hoping it’s more like a Aphrodite or Persephone and less like a Charlie Sheen goddess 🙂 ha Thanks for the comment, Jeffie! xo

      March 15, 2012
  10. hehe affair with baking! yeah there are days when i have some random ideas in the shower. and days when hubbs is going to dig into the food and I am like, wait I need to take a shot of that.. and he looks at me,.. grumbles.. considers if he should wait or not.. and then just starts to gobble it up! 🙂
    i love the rainbow ones..and that green milk…. i was wondering about what that weird green liquid was.. only you can think of that!

    March 14, 2012
    • The things the men in our lives have to put up with. But hey, we make them delicious food–they have to watch up take pics of said delicious food. That is package we come in 🙂

      March 15, 2012
  11. Okay I can’t keep up – first I bought peppermint extract (and some lemon too while I was there) – now this? My daughter will be THRILLED to make these! Too much fun, really!

    March 14, 2012
    • My favorite little man helped me make these and we had a blast. Your girl will love making the marshmallow dough! Keep up, will ya? 🙂

      March 14, 2012
      • Sheesh, I am slow! I need more sugar… clearly!! 😉

        March 14, 2012
        • Mooooorrrreeeeeee SUGAR!!!!! And green milk 🙂

          March 14, 2012
  12. How fun! I have a few GF friends that would love this. And that header photo of that cupcake looks to die for!!

    March 14, 2012
    • Hi Grace! Thanks so much for passing along the Fork and Beans love–much appreciated. And just so you know, that cupcake really IS to die for. xo!

      March 14, 2012
  13. Ok, so WHERE in the world do you find these “fondant mini cutters?!” I NEED THEM! NEEEEEEEEEEED!

    March 14, 2012
  14. Lou #

    Dude! These are so CUTE! I’ve never tried (or seen) the normal lucky charm cereal… the concept scares me a little bit…. I mean, kids eat it for BREAKFAST!?! Madness! This is so super cute though, and for a kiddo treat would be fantastic… your version would be a bazillion times healthier/better/animal friendly than the commercial stuff anyway (again, scary!) I’ve never seen vegan marshmallow here in Aussie either, boo hiss. I will hunt some down, maybe my favourite iHerb can hook me up!

    March 14, 2012
    • What? No Dandies in Aussie?? That must be changed! And I’m not sure if my version of this cereal is healthier but at least it looks fun, right? ha.

      March 14, 2012
    • Hey Lou 🙂 Not sure where in Australia you are but I know you can buy them in store at The Green Edge in Brisbane, and also at The Radical Grocery in Melbourne. Online you can get them at The Cruelty Free Shop (based in Sydney) or The Vegan Store (based in Brisbane).

      March 31, 2012
  15. These are wayyyy to cute. Your creativity will never cease to astound me! lol

    March 14, 2012
    • Gabby, you flatter me with your words and sweet potato chips 🙂

      March 14, 2012
      • why haven’t they invented technology that would allow me to send you them through my computer. Because if they did we could do an exchange and life would be that much sweeter 😉

        March 14, 2012
        • That happens to be a fantastic idea! It shouldn’t be too hard to figure out either, right? You should work on it and patent it. You will be rich! And then you can send me all the chips I need {which is a lot} 🙂

          March 14, 2012
  16. Laurel #

    I too used to fish out all the marshmallows until one day I realized they tasted like chemicals so I reverted to bags of Campfire marshmallows instead, toasted on a fork over the stove. Faith and begorra girl, I can hear you now “They’re always after me lucky charms.” BTW, if you’re gonna start manifesting your dreams in such a spectacular manner, I’ll put in my order for GFSF custard filled chocolate eclairs now and get ahead of the crowd. xo

    March 14, 2012
    • Oooooooohhh can you just taste that now? Do you by any chance have a good recipe for those eclairs? *lifting eyebrows up and down*

      March 14, 2012
      • Laurel #

        I will, just as soon as I get back in the kitchen. Vegan, GF choux pastry. What could be easier? See? I wasn’t kidding about that concussion. 🙂

        March 14, 2012
        • Girl, I hope you are recovering along! Nurse Cara will be in shortly to change your bedding. But no sponge baths this time, you hear me??? xoxo

          March 14, 2012
  17. Awww.. I just love those marshmallow hearts. They are so much fun and could be perfect to make for Easter as well. Love this girl 🙂

    March 14, 2012
    • I see a marshmallow celebration needed for EVERY holiday! 🙂

      March 14, 2012
  18. Man, I need to start getting more productive in my sleep. I’m totally slacking! I was never into Lucky Charms (I prefer my marshmallows toasted), but I think it’s so cool that you’ve made a vegan and gluten free version. You’re really onto something!

    March 14, 2012
    • And you thought sleep was for, well…sleeping. Silly Cadry. That was so 1998.

      March 14, 2012
  19. You’re mental – I don’t know another food blogger like you and that’s a VERY good thing… These look awesome, so cool that they came to you in a dream, Cara.

    March 14, 2012
    • I *am* mental, you are right. Thank you Nick–I consider that the highest compliment one could have 🙂 xo

      March 14, 2012
  20. Keisha #

    Omg I have to try this! They are epic!! Also, that’s some pretty crafty dreaming you get. Thanks for the recipe 😀

    March 14, 2012
    • Hi Kiesha–thank you!
      I wish I could get dreams about money magically appearing. Maybe that will come next? 🙂

      March 14, 2012
  21. I dream food all the time. and I love it! all these hours up at the hospital lately have given me much time for food thought, too – and I have so many notes on my phone and laptop from it. (some are kind of cryptic…)

    these are amazing. YOU are amazing. I still want to come play in your kitchen…

    March 14, 2012
    • We should definitely compare notes. Except something tells me you are much more organized than me! I have scraps of paper everywhere with random doodles of drawings of the food I want to make, recipes I am creating in my brain, or just ideas… I think this means we are in the right profession. Okay, now if only I can get paid doing this…
      I have an extra Starbucks apron with your name on it 🙂

      March 14, 2012
  22. If my Mom were looking at this, she’d say “BOK!” I don’t really know why. But when I saw these, my mind went “BOK!” Apparently my Mom’s legacy is to leave the surprised centers of my brain stuck in chicken mode. These are stunning! Have you tried freecycle before? We gave our dehydrator away through freecycle a couple of years ago. I’m sure they have a chapter in your area.

    March 14, 2012
    • Nothing says “Yes please!” like a few chicken shouts. At least that is my motto in life 🙂
      Checking out freecycle–never heard of them before, but thanks for this!

      March 14, 2012
  23. What fun! Congratulations on making them vegan, too – bravo! “Perfectly crunchy” or not, they look incredible! 🙂

    March 14, 2012
    • Thanks, Willow! At least I got it right in that category 🙂

      March 14, 2012
  24. Nuhuh! You did not make Lucky Charms marshmallows!!! Ha. Ha. Ha. I love the way your mind works. I am tapping my little heart out in honor of your insane creativity. Oops, just smashed into a wall and experienced a swirling cloud of birdies and shamrocks. Tap. Tap.

    March 14, 2012
    • You need to work on balance Kelly. If I am trusting you as my leprechaun, you cannot be running into walls. Professionalism! Now start again: 1, 2, and 3…

      March 14, 2012
  25. oh my gosh, my favorite childhood cereal! my mom would hardly ever get it because my brother would pick out all of the marshmallows, leaving only the cereal which was just not that tasty and got me so mad! i haven’t looked at the ingredients in a really long time, but i’m sure it’s filled with horrible stuff. even if your marshmallows are pumped with sugar, at least it’s not highly processed crap they sell in stores.

    March 14, 2012
    • Yet another food we share in common. Your brother and I sound awfully similar, except I would just sift through the marshmallows to add to what was already in my bowl. It would be a shame to have the cereal overpower the marshmallows, right?! xo

      March 14, 2012
      • yeah, it would be. what’s worse is having NO marshmallows because that cereal is GROSS on it’s own. like cardboard..that has a hint of marshmallow taste.

        March 14, 2012
        • Good point. Good thing this cereal is super delightful! I cannot stop eating the O’s for dessert every night 🙂

          March 14, 2012
  26. OMG These are adorable! I feel like one way to get them to have a more lucky charm crunchy texture is just to let them get a little bit stale by leaving them out overnight? I don’t know. Just an idea. I actually only like marshmallows if they are a) burnt to a crisp or b) pretty stale. Is that weird?

    March 14, 2012
    • P.S. I dream about recipes ALL THE TIME! It is a problem. But sometimes where my best ideas come from!

      March 14, 2012
      • What does dreaming about recipes mean? That we are consumed by it? I like to think it means we are blessed 🙂

        March 14, 2012
    • Yes–overnight sitting! I have had them on the counter for 2 days now and they are finally lightly crunchy but not 100% Lucky Charms marshmallow crunch you know? Too much moisture–must go about it a different way for the recipe. Oh well though, it’ll do right? And I see nothing wrong with your marshmallow requirements! Sounds exactly the same as mine 🙂

      March 14, 2012
  27. That’s wonderful! I love your dreams, keep ’em coming! Also like the advice, as I agree it’s scary out there what they’re selling because it’ll sell… if I get my kneading courage together… I’ll make a pizza from scratch. Then I will make this. It’d be nice to try this once more.

    March 14, 2012
    • You HAVE to make homemade pizza. You will never want to eat any other kind again 🙂 Then, before you know it, you will be making everything at home: pastries, bread, even your milk will be freshly squeezed. ha.

      March 14, 2012
  28. how fun and colorful that looks! a bowl of those cereals surely makes your day! 🙂

    March 14, 2012
    • It also makes my dessert too 🙂 I’m not gonna lie, I miss eating Lucky Charms–that crunchy marshamllow texture. mmmm. But making your own is so much more fun. Thanks Alexia! xo

      March 14, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. the week ends with… | Vegan Hostess
  2. Friday Snippets – ‘Hunger Games’ opening weekend edition | vegan moxie

Leave a comment