Skip to content

The Rantings of an Anthropologie Snob

So yesterday I paid an overdue visit to the mall.

{And by overdue, I mean it’s been about a week}.

So yes, there I was at the mall, browsing through several stores

and this thought overwhelmingly hit me:

My God, do these stores just suck!

Now friends, this isn’t the first time I have thought this,

but it never stops me from going into these stores thinking,

This time it will be different!

(Isn’t that called insanity? Doing the same over again, expecting different results?)

I used to love Forever 21, H&M, etc. when I was younger

but as I get older, I have more requirements other than cute clothes.

No, the shopping experience expands for me as I age.

I want all of my senses to be engaged now. 

My surroundings are just as important to me than what I am buying.

In fact, if I am not comfortable with my environment,

I will leave.

Just last weekend, my friend and I went to a cute Italian bakery in L.A.

but when we were greeted with a major attitude by the staff,

you better believe I got up and left. 

I have a new set of standards.

Back to the mall, I picked up several dresses from H&M and kept saying,

this looks like something a 20 year old wears, not me.

I can’t wear any of this.

I officially can no longer shop at these stores.

But once I arrived at Anthropologie

(which by the way, if God is a woman and wears clothes,

She so would shop here, I’m convinced),

I realized why Anthro wins hands down above the rest.

The 4 reasons why Anthropologie makes me a mall snob:

  1. When you walk past Anthro, it doesn’t make you immediately begin to smell like a baby prostitute and choke from over-consumption of fume inhalation. Breathing is a right when shopping. Anthropologie respects this.
  2. The staff at Anthro are actually *happy* to work there. Imagine that. I have yet to be given the eye roll or treated rudely because I have interrupted a co-worker conversation.
  3. Their clothes actually fits my curvy size 6 body type. In fact, their sizes are true to what a woman’s body is. So when I pick out a shirt that’s XS/S, it is actually XS/S. I don’t need the figure of a prepubescent boy in order to look good in an outfit.
  4. Absolutey none of this loud, obnoxious music crap. Only soft, mellow, and inspiring songs played over the speakers at Anthro. I mean, I love a good rave song just as much as anyone else but if I  have to ask myself  to repeat what I  just said to myself  because I couldn’t hear myself  think, there is no way I am of sound mind to make a purchase.

You can find these buttons everywhere on the internet. What I found to be the common way to make these was from a simple icing recipe. So I used Rachael Ray as my guide, and veered a little to the left. 

Homemade Candy Buttons Recipe

INGREDIENTS:

  • 2 c. powdered sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp Ener-G egg replacers + 2 Tbs warm water
  • food coloring

DIRECTIONS:

  1. With an electric mixer, froth the Ener-G and water together until frothy and begins to stiffen. Add powdered sugar until combined and thick.
  2. Place icing in separate bowls with food coloring (as many as you want).  Stir until color is perfectly mixed in. Place each color in individual Ziploc baggies with a a small slit cut out of the corner.
  3. On a piece of paper, drop out buttons in color combination of choice. Do not use parchment paper. Take my advice. I learned the hard way–they all popped off.

Allow the buttons to set for several hours until hardened.

I really have no tie in with the candy buttons

despite the fact that it is what this post is about after all…

Maybe I can say that as I have gotten older,

my standards have grown in my tastes for candy?

Where I once loved melted sugar in the shape of buttons and tasted like paper,

now I crave the finer adult candies like Ring Pops and sugar in the shape of lipstick.

67 Comments Post a comment
  1. I always get a smile when I read your stuff. Sometimes smiles are more valuable than gold. I like guffaws and recipes too.

    May 30, 2012
    • You have no idea how much your comment just made my day! Thank you, Margaret. Truly. xo

      May 31, 2012
  2. Great post with beautiful pictures. You are having really a nice blog. I am glad, I found your blog through Mj’s post. Looking forward to read more from you.

    January 24, 2012
    • Thank you for the comment, Arindam! I think I should pay MJ $5 for every person he refers over here 🙂

      January 24, 2012
      • Yes Mj is too kind. I always refer him as hope of this blogging world, who want to see everyone happy. That’s why I respect him as a person, a lot. 🙂

        January 24, 2012
        • I love that! So true, Arindam. I think we all need to have an ode to MJ day on our blogs 🙂

          January 24, 2012
  3. Sooo…about those buttons. Do they stick to the paper? Candy buttons have always annoyed me for that reason.
    Say, have you ever been to shirt.woot.com or Threadless?

    January 23, 2012
    • I actually tried them out with parchment paper and they fell off completely. When I searched online, I heard that paper worked fine, however, it woudln’t be the same with eating a little paper, am I right? RIGHT? ha. Eeerrr, I hated that too…

      January 24, 2012
  4. I found you because of MJ’s blog. I LOVE this! Definitely going to follow you! 🙂 Feel free to check out my blog. I’m not as funny but I hear that I can write lol! Have a beautiful day. – Res

    January 21, 2012
    • Hey Ressurrection! So happy to hear you found your way over here thanks to MJ. I feel like I should be paying him for free advertising 🙂 Hope you enjoy your stay over here and will check out your blog as soon as possible! xo

      January 23, 2012
  5. Love your spunk! I’m not much of a mall fan, but lemme into Anthropology any day. And those candy buttons are too cute.

    MJ has great taste in blogs, I see! LOL Glad he led me to this one.

    January 21, 2012
    • Oh MJ! He is a networker, isn’t he? Love him, and love the fact that he directed you over here. Welcome, fellow Anthro lover 🙂 xo, Cara

      January 23, 2012
  6. Anthropologie- adorable!
    So glad I found your blog!

    January 20, 2012
    • YAY!! Another Anthro lover. We must unite 🙂 So glad you made your way over here as well, Frugalista.

      January 23, 2012
  7. Genius words and photos, as usual!

    BTW, check out your mention on my latest blog post – Top 10!

    Top 10 Blog Quotes (From Women)

    January 20, 2012
    • You. That is all that I can say. YOU! Thank you AGAIN for your incredible support of me and Fork and Beans. Wow, MJ. THANK YOU! xoxo

      January 23, 2012
  8. I am also a serious Anthropologie snob. It’s a problem in my life… sometimes I feel the need to cut myself off from even going near that store because I always end up spending wayyy too much money.

    On another note, I’m SO happy you’re coming to the meetup! 🙂 I just wanted to introduce myself, cough I’m Tammy.. and I’m one of the meetup hosts. Looking forward to meeting you 🙂

    January 19, 2012
    • Hi Tammy!!! I am super excited to meet you 🙂 Thanks for the intro. Oh, and girl, I had to cut myself off for a good 6 months. But you know that you are a loyal customer when even after your 6 month hiatus, all the employees still remember your name and greet you upon your arrival 🙂 haha

      January 19, 2012
      • Haha. I know they all know my name too… It’s kind of embarassing, but I secretly enjoy it =P

        January 19, 2012
        • I absolutely love it as well (with a hint of embarrassment) 🙂

          January 23, 2012
  9. This post made me laugh a lot. And you forgot about those volcano scented candles Anthro always has burning. That’s half the reason I ever go in. And don’t make fun of my pre-pubescent boy body type. I CAN’T HELP IT.

    Send me some buttons. Now, please. Love you long time!

    January 19, 2012
    • I bought a candle from Anthro the other week and I swear I light it religiously as if it’s my spiritual routine. It literally calms me down the moment I smell it burning. And who says I’m making fun of your hot bod? I’m jealous of it really (except your huge head. hahaha–YOU KNOW I AM KIDDING, CRAZY!) Then I could actually wear clothes that most of these stores sell 🙂 Bitch.

      January 19, 2012
  10. I do the same thing – I always go to the local mall expecting to see something different, but it’s always the same Bon Ton and candle stores. There’s a mall a little farther out, but it’s miles better. There’s an Anthropologie AND a Lush, along with old video game stores and cruelty-free makeup counters. Not that I can afford or fit into any of the clothes at Anthro, but I’m in LOVE with their kitchen, bath and accessories – and it’s just generally an inspiring place to be. This is the kind of mall I can get behind.

    January 19, 2012
    • When will we ever learn? ha. At least we know where to go for inspiration 🙂 I currently have a box filled with Anthro kitchenware that I cannot wait to use when I move. I literally just stand in front of it and stare…and smile…and drool.

      January 19, 2012
  11. shana #

    Good ol’ Anthro is sucking you back in, eh? Me too! Hehe

    January 18, 2012
    • In my defense, it’s the kitchenware section that is 🙂 Oh goodness, why are we on the same cycle over here? hahaha

      January 19, 2012
  12. Ha… I feel the same way about shopping. There are some places where I just find the manner of the sales staff, etc, so offputting that I can’t go in even though I like their products. (Lush is one of them, and Victoria’s Secret– anywhere where the sales staff is trained to be very in your face and hover-y!)

    And oh boy, don’t get me started on stores where they spray stinky perfume/air freshener. Yuuuuuuucky.

    Candy buttons! Those are something I’ve never thought of making at home, but you make them look so simple.

    January 18, 2012
    • Ugh-uh. Hovering sales people. Shoot, hovering people period get on my nerves! If I need help, I will ask. Until then, LEAVE ME ALONE!

      The candy *is* super easy! I had no idea, myself 🙂

      January 18, 2012
  13. Brooklyn #

    hahaha… “you look like a zebra”

    sorry I’m such a bad friend

    😉

    January 18, 2012
    • I almost spit my coffee out. That was the best day ever. Too bad you didn’t offend me and I actually thought it was funny. It would have been a good one to hold against you 🙂

      January 18, 2012
  14. I hear ya on the increased standards thing. I hate that Im not happy just buying something cute anymore. Stupid standards 😉

    January 18, 2012
    • And now we can definitely say we are happy shoppers 🙂

      January 18, 2012
  15. those buttons are super adorable! i know some girls around who would squeal for them! and i love your write ups.. keep me totally engaged till the end of the post!
    I think i have never eaten a candy button.. or maybe i have, with them hidden in some thing or called something else.. i think i wasnt born with a sweet tooth..:) and still i get cavities by the whole sale 😦 genetics..
    ahh anthro is on my visit list this year.. we got snowed in today, so i bet today is a perfect day to shop as soon as the side roads get cleared up for me to drive those 10 blocks.. i havent been to a mall in like.. hmmm.. i dont know 3 years. i think.. those crowds and overwhelming amounts of aisles ..not for me.. online shopping,. here i come!
    mom already thinks we have way too many unnecessary things! i mean back home, a girl really needs a lot of different kinds of clothes.. here the fashions and styles keep repeating, so i can usually recycle…ahh i miss shopping for fabric and coming up with my own designs and getting them tailor made.. unfortunately for mom, i was quite skinny and i had all fitted stuff, so she cannot give it to away to my younger current gen cousins.. coz they are all .. lets say mcD healthy.

    January 18, 2012
    • McD healthy. haha. You are funny 🙂
      I hope you are not reading this right now but online shopping at Anthro 🙂

      January 18, 2012
  16. If I were thin and gorgeous and beyond all reproach and also fabulously wealthy, I would totally be all uponz some Anthropologie. As it is right now, Just My Size is more my style. With a little Paula Deen in there…And another sad thing? I’ve never in my life eaten a candy button. Depressing, really.

    January 18, 2012
    • Fear not about not ever eating a candy button! You really aren’t missing out on much, just the bright colors are fun to look at. You might as well put some sugar in your hand and munch on it. There. You have just eaten a candy button 🙂

      January 18, 2012
  17. JuliaRad #

    Wow, these are so cute!! I didn’t even know you could make them yourself! And Anthropologie is like an art gallery to me. I don’t buy much because I just can’t spend that much money most of the time, but I go in there to and just gawk over how beautiful everything is. I leave with a reminder that there are beautiful things in the world and someday when I make lots and lots of money I will surround myself with all that beauty! Oh I just got happier thinking about that store, I might have to go look at the website right now 🙂

    January 18, 2012
    • I’m finding that you can make anything at home! Who knew, indeed.
      You are right about Anthro. Though it does suck the money right out of your pocket, in reality it really is a place that just makes one happy. I walk in there and I walk out inspired, regardless if I buy something or not (which I usually end up buying something–ha!) I love the way it smells and looks in there. Aaaaaahhh, I was just there yesterday but I think I need to head back over there right now 🙂

      January 18, 2012
  18. First of all, how cute are those candy dots? You know, I’ve never tried one! Yours look so pretty!

    I used to visit Anthro regularly when I lived in LA and scour their sale area. I would happily move into that store. *mind wanders as I consider relocating…* Now whenever I visit a big city, I look up if they have an Anthropology (and a Crate and Barrel) in their town. For the longest time I had a serious romantic relationship with Forever 21, but several years ago I realized I just felt silly when I was in there with all of the teenagers. I have a hard time in my town finding clothes that are somewhere between high school/college wear and matronly.

    After working in retail, I seriously feel for anyone doing it. It’s a thankless job. And every day I thank Buddha I’m not doing it anymore! 🙂

    January 18, 2012
    • I think candy buttons are more for looking and not eating. Really, the paper is what you end up tasting more than anything 🙂
      I feel the same way about servers. I worked as a waitress for 2 years and I believe that everyone should be a server at least once in their lives, even if it’s just for a month. It taught me how to treat people who work retail or any service job. Tip well, always smile, and take it easy on them. UNLESS they are hairy jerks to me. Then, I lose all sense of niceness. That takes a lot for me too…

      January 18, 2012
  19. I couldn’t agree with you more! If a Sales person doesn’t greet me or is the tiniest bit friendly i promptly turn around and leave- I have a zero tolerance policy ….I swear some of those dresses keep getting shorter and shorter – how can they be comfortable with their yaya pratically being shown to the world- as I get older comfortable outweighs trendy 🙂 god, i sound like a Nana

    January 18, 2012
    • You DO sound like a Nana, which makes me adore you! I think you and I are a pair of grandmas as we play our Sunday round of Scrabble and rant about the kids these days as we nibble on cashews. HAHA. How fun does that actually sound???

      January 18, 2012
      • So much fun cause’ I LOVE Cashews and Scrabble 🙂

        January 18, 2012
        • I eat cashews everyday (I have a stash in my car) and Scrabble is MY game. Girl, this is getting scarier by the day. What else do we have in common???

          January 18, 2012
  20. Laurel #

    Ooh, Penny Candy! (Ask your biggest fan.) I used to pass a candy store on my way home from school that had huge glass apothecary jars filled with candies of every color, shape and size. I remember buying these and black licorice coins. How many of these are in that big box for Cambria? You do know you’re torturing the poor child. On another note, I won’t deal with people who are rude to me and if their employer isn’t intelligent enough to catch their attitudes it’s their loss. A friend of mine once said “I have enough people in my life treating me like crap. I don’t need to pay someone to do it, too.” Roger 10 4 Out

    January 18, 2012
    • HAHA. I love that quote!
      And the answer is no candy buttons were placed in the candy box for Cami. I used the parchment paper and they all popped off after the photoshoot. Note to self, use paper next time…

      January 18, 2012
  21. It was sort of a traumatic day when I realized I could no longer … or, I should say, should no longer … rock the clothes from Express (which was the H&M of my gen). It was a double-whammy – first, standing in front of the mirror realizing I looked ridiculous in a short skirt, untucked fitted blouse and super-long necklaces; and second, was the audible, dripping-with-condescension [sniff] I got from the little 19-year-old clerk as I was scurrying to return the outfit to the racks. That was the end of my Express days (and probably 3 years late, at that).

    On the rare occasion that I hit the Anthropologie store, I head right for the kitchenware. Can’t resist. 🙂

    January 18, 2012
    • I think what you just described, happened to me yesterday. As I tried on this dress that looked like an 8 year old print, I realized that not only was my butt showing, but my pasty white legs did NOT look good being shown off that much. I ran out of the dressing room fast and swore off those stores. And guess what I did the moment I went into Anthro? I went straight to the kitchenware and bought 4 spice jars and a that adoble grapefuit shaped sugar holder. Yup, we are twins, Karen 🙂 haha

      January 18, 2012
  22. Your writing is fantastic, engaging and hilarious!!!! Brilliant cara, I could listen to you/read your posts all day 🙂 How I wish anthro wasn’t so expensive…or better yet if they had one in Helena! Hehe, I find the latter is a common theme.

    Fun sugar buttons! I used to like those too but I’d much rather go for a ring pop these days 🙂 super cute

    January 18, 2012
    • Oh, I am so glad you like this post. I wish you could have seen how long it took me to write because I kept thinking, This is so dumb Cara, erase it all. ha!! <–terrible critical voices in my head last night. Glad I didn't listen to them 🙂
      I hear you on the expensive part but my justification is that these are items that will be in my closet forever, or at least longer than a cheap shirt from Forever 21. Plus, I am just realizing that I *am* my mother's daughter and I have expensive taste. haha! When you come out here, we will go on a little shopping spree (because I will have won the lottery by then and can afford everything) 🙂

      January 18, 2012
      • Your biggest fan! #

        😉

        January 18, 2012
        • What? Were your ears burning or something??? ❤ to YOU!

          January 18, 2012
      • I am so glad you didn’t erase it all!! I thoroughly enjoy your rantings 🙂 I am 100% totally completely down with a shopping spree WHEN I come out to visit!

        January 21, 2012
        • I CANNOT WAIT FOR IT! xo

          January 23, 2012
  23. Nina #

    These are just gorgeous Cara! Given the only vegan ‘smarties’ available in Australia are no longer vegan (HUGE BUMMER, dude!) I can see these working as a briliant (although chocolate-less) substitute… and I DO have my older son’s birthday party this Sunday and my younger son’s birthday next month….
    Even the colours you chose are so pretty.
    Thank you, as always. 🙂

    January 18, 2012
    • Hmmmm, now I must figure out how to make Smarties…
      These would be SO FUN for a birthday party! Oh, now I want my birthday to be this weekend so I can make more 🙂 Let me know how it goes, Nina! xo, Always love hearing from you…

      January 18, 2012
  24. Never stepped foot into Anthro. But everything I see from there, modeled on someone else’s body, or in a picture makes me swoon. So, I should probably NEVER step foot in Anthro lest I spend all the non-dairy milk money. : ) I enjoy your posts and pictures.

    January 18, 2012
    • I just gasped for you, Kelly. Please, make it your goal this year to at least go there just to smell the store. I know that sounds weird but there is something that soothes me the moment I walk in. Go! Go! Go!
      And you are right about spending all of your non-dairy milk money there (which by the way, I love what you did there–cute!!!) Thank you so much for your kind words and for stopping by over here and humoring me. I sooo appreciate it, Kelly! xo

      January 18, 2012
      • Ha.Ha. Okay. It is a 2012 goal to go take a whiff of Anthro. (That actually sounds pretty awful when I put it that way.) I do fear for my budget. If you see some really cutely dressed chick holding out a coffee mug begging for change it might be me, so drop a quarter in, will ya?

        January 20, 2012
        • This just put a huge smile on my face! {clink} I dropped 2 quarters for you 🙂

          January 23, 2012
  25. i agree with yo about the mall. i used to love h&m, but when i go in there, i’m so overwhelmed by the mess and the amount of stuff piled up everywhere, i get claustrophobic and leave almost immediately.

    and your sugar buttons take me back to grade school. oh how i loved those. but, you knew that of course 😉

    January 18, 2012
    • I think H&M is THE worst at customer service too, at least the one at my mall. They are all so rude, it’s ridiculous. I don’t know how people like that are even able to find/keep a job. And I don’t know when I am going to learn my lesson to just stop going in there altogether since I always come out empty handed.

      January 18, 2012
  26. Jan #

    Genius. I need a new word..I keep repeating myself! I’m actually coming around a bit about Anthropologie…seduced by their door handles and drawer pulls..

    January 18, 2012
    • Oh how I want to redo my entire house based off of Anthro’s door handles and drawer pulls!! Who knew a handle could get me so excited?!

      January 18, 2012
      • Kierstan, you and I would get along perfectly in real life 🙂 If I had a million dollars, without a doubt I would decorate my entire house to look like an Anthro store. ha. I am slowly building up my kitchen ware to be 100% Anthro-ified…

        January 18, 2012
    • As if tire of hearing you call me a genius! 🙂 Like they always say, it starts with the door hardware, and before you know it, you are addicted. Not sure who “they” are that really said it, but sooooo happy you are warming up to the place!

      January 18, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Blog Quotes – IMO « mj monaghan

Leave a comment