Skip to content

Candy that touches my {candy corn} heart.

It’s that time again!

Holiday-themed food time.

{applause}

And what better way to kick off our month of Valentine’s Day treats

than to make homemade candy?!

I never thought making candy would be so fulfilling to my soul.

But I spent almost 4 hours in the kitchen yesterday making candy

with the biggest smile on my face.

I think I could have spent all day forming hearts out of marshmallows

without a care in the world…

There is something so satisfying about

kneading dough in your hands and watching it go from a white ball of nothing,

to a colorful string of three,

into these incredible heart-shaped candies

that make my heart melt every time I see them.

Is that weird that homemade candy makes me swoon?

Homemade Candy Corn Hearts Recipe

Adapted from Candy.about.com

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 bag of Dandies vegan marshmallows
  • 1 Tb water
  • 2 c. powdered sugar
  • food coloring (I used Fuschia and Light Pink)

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Heat Dandies in the microwave with the water in a bowl for 2 minutes. Stop after 1 minute and stir; each 30 seconds after, stop and stir until marshmallows are melted and smooth.
  2. Add powdered sugar in 1/2 c. at a time and stir with a wooden spoon until combined. At about 1 c. you might have to start using your hands to mix in sugar (You want a dough to form and not be sticky). Knead dough in bowl. Separate into 3 equal pieces: 
  3. Add a few drops of food coloring in 2 of the dough balls (whatever colors you want), leaving one dough ball untouched with color.
  4. Combined food coloring into the dough by kneading it initially, then twisting it in half (like you are ringing the water out of a cloth) multiple times until color is smooth and uniform.
  5. Half each dough ball, rolling it between both hands until it forms into a long piece of dough string. Place on parchment paper and continue to roll it out until desired length/thickness occurs. Place each color piece parallel to each other.
  6. Take a rolling pin and *gently* roll over to press the three doughs together (you might even need to take your fingers and press the outside 2 doughs towards the middle to ensure a nice form). If you are having dificulties with the dough strings sticking together, simply put a srop of water on your finger, and touch the inside of the dough and light press the doughs together.
  7. Take a knife and cut out triangles.

If you want to make hearts, just cut a small, slight triangle on top and using your fingers, gently smooth edges:

Or just keep the classic candy corn shape:

I think I am going to warm up my good arm,

take these candy corn hearts by the handful, and start chucking them

as far as I can throw them,

in hopes that they reach Greg over in Maine.

It’s a bummer that I spent more time in the outfield,

practicing my newest tap dancing moves

than working on improving my softball talents.

With my skills, I’d be lucky if the candy reaches 5 feet in front of me.

{Without dislocating something on my body}.

Sorry Buddy.

I tried.

64 Comments Post a comment
  1. super cute and creative!!

    January 21, 2012
    • Thank you Kathy!! xo

      January 23, 2012
  2. Just so you know, I am drooling all over your page right now, that too right in the early hour of the day, when lunch time is like far away. BEAUTIFUL. That is all I can say.

    January 17, 2012
    • Careful with the drool! It might make your keyboard malfunction 🙂 Much love!! xoxox

      January 17, 2012
  3. “in hopes that they reach Greg over in Maine” that was the sweetest sentence I’ve read in a while, and I read a lot of caloric blogs! How cute these little hearts are, and I love the colors (at least it’s not the same old red!). You are so cute Cara ❤

    January 17, 2012
    • Aaaaaawwww, I am so happy that you liked that sentence. I tried with my darndest to throw them, I really did 🙂 It’s funny you say that about the red, I had to use what I had on hand. Thank goodness, eh? Can you imagine if I had red–you would have rolled your eyes and thought, Freaking red. Same ol’ same ol’. haha. Thank you for the very kind words, Sylvia! That really made my heart leap.

      January 17, 2012
      • haha well red would have made me think about valentine’s day, full stop. this combo is more like “oooh hearts of unicorns, my little ponies, flying in the sky, forever happy and LOVE” something along these lines 😀

        January 18, 2012
        • A universal candy heart? Perfect! Leaving no one behind with this color combo.–all are welcomed 🙂 ha

          January 18, 2012
  4. Cara, those are just the cutest little candies! Love the way you weave the writing and the recipe. I know, I’ve said that before, but you really do such a good job. The pictures are so crisp and clean too.

    January 17, 2012
    • Aren’t they fun, MJ?? Thank you for always being so supportive!! It means the world to me.

      January 17, 2012
  5. Well, these are just adorable! ;D

    January 16, 2012
    • They are SO much fun to make, too! Thanks Randy.

      January 16, 2012
  6. You have some killer candy making skills, Cara. Seriously.
    I’ve been thinking lately about how happy I feel when I’m making treats in the kitchen. Isn’t it the best feeling? It’s like nothing else matters. Like yoga for foodies.

    When I was in junior high in Massachusetts I was always the one on the outfield (I’d just moved from England and thought baseball/softball was like cricket until I saw the kids trying to run in a big circle with angry, determined looks on their faces – which really scared me).
    Anyway. I would be out there, staring up at the sky and watching the planes fly by. I can’t even count how many times I got hit by the ball during those games.
    I was never that good at sports. Except for football (soccer) 🙂

    Keep up the candy making, woman! Or else.

    January 16, 2012
    • Thanks for that, Isobelle. That means A LOT to me coming from an amazing baker as yourself. Truly.
      Don’t you think it should be a rule that the artists should just stay indoors with their medium in tow rather than out on the field? hehe
      And I love that you threatened me at the end. You are stealing my line 🙂

      January 16, 2012
  7. If you come up with all these purty vday treats.. then who will enter the vday bake off! if nothing else comes to my mind, i will just make some pink heart shaped bread buns and enter them! ha!.. you cant beat a gf bun!
    i cant throw things far either.. thats why chewie loves to play fetch with me.. he gets tired after 4 fetches with daddie and stops running.(who is going to run like 5 times the distance for a ball!). he is the only pom in our area who plays fetch.
    you should hide some of these goodies in a gift box only for greg!

    January 16, 2012
    • I cannot allow all of you guys to have the fun. I need some holiday-themed food action too 🙂
      Your dog would love me. I just love to snuggle on the couch. hehe.

      January 16, 2012
  8. These are so sweet! I’m excited to see what’s next in your plans for Valentine’s Day treats. The only time that I was on the softball field at all was in high school for gym requirements. Even then, I was doing my best to avoid the ball in every way possible. I’d be much happier tap dancing with you!

    January 16, 2012
    • Kick-ball-change turn. Shuffle shuffle. Wings. And pose. 🙂

      January 16, 2012
  9. I’m in the infield, with my pleather first base mitt on… can you pass me some of these pretty hearts. Give me the whole bag of dandies and I promise a winning streak!

    January 16, 2012
    • If I can make it. Ooops, I just accidentally threw it behind me. How is that possible???

      January 16, 2012
  10. The Sister #

    Bahahaha. I was going to remind you that yu don’t have a “good” arm! But you stole the words right out of my mouth. It didn’t matter which position we were in (catcher, short stop, outfield), I don’t think either one of us EVER got through a game without shouting from the stands to “BE STILL!”. Ahhhh. Memories. While year boxing up those animal crackers for your niece, you might as well throw in a couple of these marshmallow candy corn hearts as well. Cambria is DROOLING! 😉

    January 16, 2012
    • Hey, you leave my bad arm (and dance moves) out of this… I can still hear Connie yelling. haha.
      Give my little babies a hug from me. And squeeze your belly, telling Cara Jr. hello from her auntie!! xo <—I will refer to her as junior from now on 🙂

      January 16, 2012
  11. Awwwww. Those are adorable, and also sweet. I bet you could mail them to Greg… you know… if you can’t throw quite that far…

    January 16, 2012
    • What???!! Oh Nikki, you always think of the better ideas… 🙂

      January 16, 2012
  12. So cute! I love the colors! Between light switches and candy lobbing, I think you’d better just take it easy. Drink a little lukewarm water… Stay away from sharp stuff… Wear a helmet… Stay safe!

    January 16, 2012
    • I think you are my voice of reason, Brooke! Good idea. haha. It’s hard to breath in this thing though…

      January 16, 2012
      • It’s on backward….

        January 16, 2012
        • Light! I can see light now!

          January 16, 2012
          • Have a safe and sane Valentine’s Day! 🙂

            January 16, 2012
            • And this has been your public service announcement.

              January 16, 2012
  13. So pretty. I’m going to have to make something for valentines day aren’t I? FINE. I bet your heart isn’t made of this.

    January 16, 2012
    • BAHA! I just snorted from laughing so hard.
      Make your girlfriend these for Valentine’s Day. She will appreciate all the hard work (not like you don’t already put enough time into your kitchen creations). Then you can write her a note that says, “You have my {candy corn} heart.” *snickering*

      January 16, 2012
  14. How cute! I think you hit at least two of the main food groups 😉
    Can’t wait to see what other Valentines goodies you create!

    January 16, 2012
    • Sugar and MORE sugar!!! {If those were 2 main food groups, girl, I would be the healthiest person alive!} ha

      January 16, 2012
      • haha…that works, although I was referring to candy and candy corn – have you forgotten your Elf quotes already?

        January 16, 2012
        • This is what happens when I am not ready for it? I have disappointed you…and myself.

          January 16, 2012
  15. How cute and yummy looking are these!!!! These look better than the store-bought version too 🙂
    I can just see you smiling and making candy! Just wish Greg (and myself) were there to taste them…they are almost too pretty to eat…

    January 16, 2012
    • You can see me with my ridiculous smile, eh? haha.
      Wish you were here too!

      January 16, 2012
  16. Laurel #

    Seriously. Love the candies. Who needs fondant when you’ve got marshmallows? Yeah, I noticed that rolling pin and my first thought was “Anthropologie.” I mean where else? As to throwing hearts to Maine? What’s that I hear? Neither snow nor rain nor heat nor gloom of night stays these couriers from the swift completion of their appointed rounds. Put a stamp on it Gunga Din!

    January 16, 2012
    • Girl, you are on top of your Anthro knowledge. Super impressed! You might wanna duck–I would hate to smack you in the eye with one of these. I don’t exactly have good aim. Hey, I’m an artist, not an athlete 🙂

      January 16, 2012
      • Laurel #

        That and there was an explosion on my Pinterest page. 🙂

        January 16, 2012
        • Are you becoming an Anthro girl now? Have I converted you???

          January 16, 2012
          • Laurel #

            No. They don’t have all the really cool stuff on their mail order page. Or didn’t last time I looked. Very not good.

            January 16, 2012
            • What mail order page? On their website?

              January 16, 2012
              • Laurel #

                I just rechecked it. A bunch more than last time.

                January 16, 2012
                • Are you looking in the Home/kitchen section?

                  January 16, 2012
  17. these are perfect. I love the pink, I love Valentines, I love dandies. there is already a bowl of these in my guest room, I’m assuming? 😀

    January 16, 2012
    • I think I made enough to last you the first 3 months you are here. No fear though, I have like, 10 more bags of Dandies coming my way so even if you do run out, we can always make more 🙂

      January 16, 2012
  18. Kelly C #

    Those are awesome! Who knew you could do that with Dandies

    January 16, 2012
    • Right?! Who knew, indeed. And people say eating a vegan diet isn’t fun… *scoffing*

      January 16, 2012
  19. Buddy #

    Boy do these look good! Look a lot better on your blog then on Skype 🙂

    I’ll keep my eye in the sky to see if it’s raining ♥’s but don’t injure yourself in the process 🙂

    January 16, 2012
    • You and I both know that it’s impossible of me to *not* injury myself while doing something of that nature. I miss you buddy.

      January 16, 2012
  20. These are so adorable!
    I was always the one in the outfield paying more attention to the dandelions than the actual game 🙂 …until High School Summer Softball where I actually played first base, boy was that a life milestone..then enters the Adult League and I am back to the outfield or dodging balls as the catcher – lol, yes I am a sight for sore eyes when I play, but its still fun!

    BTW – where did you get that awesome rolling pin- I love the pattern! & Greg is in my neighbor state- where in Maine is he?

    January 16, 2012
    • Maybe that was my problem–if they put me infield, I would have put a little more effort and attention into the game. Look at you! Still playing. I’m impressed, Heather.
      I got that rolling pin from Anthropologie. The BEST place to buy kitchen stuff 🙂 I’m so happy you noticed it!
      Greg is in Portland area. Go say hi to him, will ya? 🙂 He should be easy to spot–he’ll be the only one with an unhappy look on his face due to the snow.

      January 16, 2012
      • Love it- I am heading to the site to check it out!

        ….I am not sure if Greg is Vegan, but there is an awesome restaurant called the Green Elephant in Portland, that is Vegetarian but like 90% of there menu is vegan 🙂

        It has been frigid here – like in the negatives, I hope he packed his long johns!

        January 16, 2012
        • Be careful. It’s dangerous over there…
          I will definitely let Greg know of that restaurant. He isn’t exactly vegan but does eat a vegetarian diet so he will appreciate this place. Thanks for the tip!

          January 16, 2012
  21. pretttttttty!

    January 16, 2012
    • Yes you are 🙂

      January 16, 2012
      • omigosh, you are such a boost to my ego! thank you, love ❤

        January 17, 2012
        • Well, the feeling is mutual! xo

          January 17, 2012
  22. Absolutely beautiful Cara!! (We would have been outfield buddies :D) I’ll watch for any flying candy hearts!

    January 16, 2012
    • HA. My coaches used to yell at me from the dugout: “Cara, pay attention!” I was amused, at least. Glad to know there are others out there like me 🙂

      January 16, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. C is for Candy Corn « Suburban Vegan
  2. Homemade Vegan Valentine's Day Treats

Leave a comment