Skip to content

Snickering Cookies

Your virtual Advent Calendar

Apparently too much singing didn’t give me a sore throat, afterall.

It’s called a cold, Cara.

You nit-wit.

(that’s a great word, by the way).

I’ve been struggling with not feeling achy and exhausted this weekend.

So far, the cold has the lead.

But in my tired state,

I will still find the energy to sing with gusto.

It’s what I was born to do.

*ahem*

AND…

I have fond memories of eating

from my childhood.

Haha,

of course I do. 

In particular, I especially loved eating Snickerdoodles.

But not just any kind–

it was a tradition while my mom, sister and I were at the mall

that we would stop by Mrs. Fields

and pick out several of our favorite cookies

and eat them to refuel before we passed out from too much shopping.

(That should never happen, not on my watch!)

I was always fond of the cinnamon and sugar cookies

because of their chewy texture.

None of this crispy cookie business.

I wanted my cookies to melt in my mouth.

So when Brooke had Snickerdoodles on the

“12 Days of Christmas Cookies” recipe list,

I felt swept away into my childhood immediately.

Tangy.

Sweet.

Chewy.

AND gluten-free/vegan!

The only thing missing was a shopping spree.

Who wants to take me?

51 Comments Post a comment
  1. Love this recipe along with the overall look of your Blog!

    December 9, 2011
    • Thank you so much Heather! Coming from a creative girl as yourself, I take that as a big compliment 🙂

      December 9, 2011
  2. Mmmm, Snickerdoodles. Just as I said I didn’t want to be making too many holiday treats, I remembered the Chai-Spiced Snickerdoodles I made last year…just might have to make those too…and so the list grows…danger, danger!

    BTW, twit is a good one like nit-wit. “You twit”, name that movie and actor…

    Renee

    December 5, 2011
    • Did you just say chai-spiced snickerdoodles??? *just left my blog to search yours for that recipe*

      Hmmmm, twit. So many run in my brain. Conan O’Brien? No, it’s in a movie. “Robin Hood, Prince of Thieves”? Tom Hanks, “Big Business”? Am I close???

      December 5, 2011
      • Here’s the link to the link…
        http://beyondriceandtofu.com/2010/12/19/holiday-treats/, scroll down…

        And you are close! Alan Rickman in Robin Hood:
        [the Sheriff has said he’ll cut out Robin Hood’s heart with a spoon]
        Guy of Gisborne: Why a spoon, cousin? Why not an axe?
        Sheriff of Nottingham: Because it’s DULL, you twit. It’ll hurt more.

        I ❤ Alan Rickman, Sheriff of Nottingham.

        December 5, 2011
        • Oh, Alan Rickman. Man, do I love him too!! He is my favorite on “Love Actually”. It’s gotta be the voice right? There is just something so amazing about him…
          And thank you for the link! I cannot wait to check it out. xo

          December 5, 2011
  3. Your biggest fan! #

    SHOPPING??? Did someone say shopping? I’m the shopping queen! I’d love to be there to take you shopping and then get you a snickerdoodle! I’m so sowee dat you’re not feelwing good. Here’s a little hug to make it all better XOXOXO.

    December 5, 2011
    • I need tickles on my back, please! Prompted immediately after a shopping spree (priorities, folks). And who better to shop with than my favorite shopping partner???

      December 5, 2011
  4. Nina #

    Love this recipe and cinnamon must be my favourite spice.
    I wonder, do you think ground flaxseed blended with water would work just as well as egg replacer? I always seem to notice an aftertaste with egg replacer, that I’m not keen on. I realise it will alter the colour of the finished biscuits.
    Sorry to hear you are unwell. We are likewise suffering with colds, and it’s freaking Summer (although only a heady 15 degrees C today, brr)!
    Here’s to hoping they all go away promptly.

    December 5, 2011
    • Hi Nina! Yes, I think flaxseed meal will do just fine. I chose not to go with it because of how it would change the color and I wanted to keep the white-ness to the doodles 🙂
      15 degrees C??? That is not summer, sister! Write Australia a firmly written letter. This is unacceptable! And thank you for the get well wishes. I think the worst is over with, thankfully. xo

      December 5, 2011
    • I’ve been using white chia seeds as my egg replacer. Works great and no dark specks!

      November 26, 2012
  5. love these snickering doodles! i never caught on to liking buttery cookies ever.. my cookie love started when i started making vegan cookies! else the fat and the sugar give me a wierd tummy.
    tofu is a neat idea.

    December 5, 2011
    • Oooohhh, no weird tummies, Richa, less one wants to clog the plumbing (and that would not be good, right?)
      Wishing I could take credit for the tofu but the genius I call Ashlae is who I learned it from…
      xoxo

      December 5, 2011
  6. Who’s going to take you!? What, because you’re sick we all have to treat you nice now?
    haha, I’ll take you shopping, Cara. Even though I’m broke from buying too much KOMBUCHA.

    No, it’s not because of that.
    ’tis the season, ya know!

    Anyway, I was going to say – my dad used to take me into seattle for my birthday after my parents got divorced, just us two, and we would go really early in the morning on the train. We’d get there before pike place market opened, but there was this little bakery on the side that we stopped by for breakfast that made these HUGE snickerdoodles. They were almost the size of my head. That might be exaggerating but they were big. I would get one of those for my birthday breakfast. They weren’t gluten free or vegan though. That was wayyy before all that.

    Sorry for the novel. I just love how this post made me think about that 🙂
    They look awesome. I’m intrigued by the tofu too. I guess you and Ashlae are starting a “Bake with Tofu” club. Can I join?

    December 5, 2011
    • Pipe it down, Tolstoy. Gesh, you are monopolizing the comments section 🙂

      Loving the stroll down memory lane, actually. I love how certain foods, smells, etc can trigger memories of past. I especially enjoyed your story, even though you were trying to talk crap to me about no one wanting to take me shopping. I guess I deserve it, however, what after my rude comment on your blog 🙂 hehe

      And I have officially nominated you as vice president for the “Bake with Tofu” club…

      December 5, 2011
      • oops, sorry. I got carried away. Actually, I got so carried away I forgot to say to that I really hope you feel better soon! It’s awful being sick.
        I guess I wrote so much because I was rushing. My kettle was screaming.

        I love that about food, too. I think that’s why I enjoy making it so much.

        And I’m sorry for talking crap about taking you shopping. Honestly, I blacked out when I wrote that comment or something…haha.
        I don’t do well under pressure.

        Yesss. VP Izz.

        December 5, 2011
        • It’s the damn kombucha. It’s causing blackouts. This is worse than I thought… live fast and die young, right? ha

          December 5, 2011
          • That’s the way it’s always been for me.

            December 5, 2011
            • I will make sure it is on your tombstone…

              December 5, 2011
  7. Boo for feeling sick. 😦 Hope you feel so much better soon. And these cookies? Look awesome.. as usual! I am a chewy kind of cookie lover, myself… well.. I’m not chewy.. I like chewy cookies… though I may be chewy. Never tried.

    December 5, 2011
    • Thank you my chewy friend 🙂 hehe

      December 5, 2011
  8. There is SNOW on your blog! Now I know where it is hiding. Usually it starts snowing in November over here, but still no snow – nowhere – except for your blog!

    I never used xanthan gum, maybe I should give it a try…

    December 5, 2011
    • If you don’t need to use xanthan gum, I would say don’t bother. Seriously. It’s expensive and weird 🙂 Plus if you are lucky enough to eat regular flour then you don’t need it at all (lucky you!)
      I have stolen the snow and am hoarding for my own self this winter…

      December 5, 2011
  9. Hey! How did you get it to snow in CA? We’re freezing our tail feathers up here and there’s not a drop of snow! 🙂 Seriously, though, I love it! These look great! P.S. *Singing* Why am I such a misfit? I am not just a nit-wit! You can’t fire me, I quit! Seems I don’t fit in!

    December 5, 2011
    • I literally had to google that song. How on earth did I pull a holiday reference without even knowing it? I would like to say it’s because I’m *that* good 🙂

      December 5, 2011
      • No way! I can’t hear that word without thinking about Hermie! 🙂

        December 5, 2011
        • I guess I was too busy watching “The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas” as a kid that I have no data storage for innocent and age-appropriate references. *I really wish that I was kidding about that…*

          December 5, 2011
          • Sounds like Little Cara needs to sit herself down in front of some cartoon Christmas movies with a plate of snickerdoodles! And save a seat for me! 🙂

            December 5, 2011
            • How fun would *that* be? I will pop some popcorn, get the fire ready, and prepare for a fun-filled night of Christmas movies that don’t involve whores.

              December 5, 2011
              • Hah! LOL! Totally picturing stop motion animated call girls right now…

                December 5, 2011
                • In pretty dresses, doing fun dances…

                  December 5, 2011
  10. Are you sneezing on everybody’s cookies?These winds are crazy and not fun for allergies! Hope you feel better. you are now the vegan Mrs. Fields! Feel better and keep whipping up great goodies!

    December 5, 2011
    • Now you know what my secret ingredient is for the green icing…

      December 5, 2011
  11. Mark Insko #

    Question: You mention egg replacer in the directions…Is that the Ener-g + water OR the tofu? Could powdered egg replacer (in water) be used instead, do you think? (I can’t try these until I get xanthan gum, anyway, but I can’t wait to see how they are! I love snicker-doodles!)
    Thanks,
    Mark

    December 5, 2011
    • Hi Mark! You can use whichever egg replacer you want that I have listed in the ingredients. I used the Ener-G + water for this recipe but tofu works just as well. I’m curious however if you would even need the xanthan gum if you used tofu since it would be a great binder? Hmmmm, sounds like an experiment! 🙂 Hope you like them…

      December 5, 2011
      • Mark Insko #

        I’ve only recently “gone vegan” and any and all cookie recipes are welcomed. I love to bake and I’ve been amazed at how many fun recipes there are (and how delicious the results) for egg-less, dairly-less baked goods. I’ll let you know how they turn out! Thanks for your posts!

        December 5, 2011
        • Welcome to Vegan-land, Mark! It can be a bit overwhelming initially but it sounds as if you enjoy a challenge. Hopefully you are not gluten free (then you’d really be up for a challenge!). P.S. If you aren’t GF, you can just sub regular flour and omit the xanthan gum! Best of luck and happy baking. Excited to hear about your new adventures in the kitchen…

          December 5, 2011
  12. Laurel #

    Sorry you’re not feeling well, boo. It doesn’t seem to have affected your sense of humor though, ‘nit-wit’ there’s a word to make your scalp itch. I’d fix that with Snickerdoodles and a nice hot drink but I’ve never had them! What does one use in place of tofu anyway? It looks like the consistency of dry goat’s cheese, maybe some really thick cashew cream? Anyway if you put on a Darth Vader mask it might keep you from The Attack of the Allergens! 🙂

    December 5, 2011
    • Darth Vader mask! Man, that is genius. Must go to my allergist and tell her of this new way to protect the allergy-prone 🙂 ha

      December 5, 2011
  13. Sorry you aren’t feeling well!!! Boo to that! I’ll take you on a shopping spree, no problemo – esp if that means you’ll feel better!
    The snickerdoodles look perfect!!!!! Can I have a few?!?

    December 5, 2011
    • I had no idea that all it took to get free clothes was to ask. This is the greatest invention ever 🙂 I will gladly barter goods with you Nora: a handful of Snickerdoodles for a handful of new outfits. Yes, I am beginning to like our arrangement quite nicely…

      December 5, 2011
  14. Aww yeah! You used the tofu 🙂 I’ve never tried tofu in snickerdoodles (I always use sour cream) but these look delicious. So crumbly and rich and flavorful and don’t mind if I reach through the screen and eat one.

    December 5, 2011
    • I’m learning from the best 🙂 I bought the kind you told me to, as well. How much sour cream do you use?

      December 5, 2011
  15. so you’ve been feeling a little under the weather, too, huh? i guess i gave you a cold through our twin connection. good thing you have these AMAZING gluten-free and vegan snickerdoodles to get you through it 😉

    mwah! i hope you feel better soon ❤

    December 5, 2011
    • Must have been from the pie you made me. Next time, wear gloves when you are baking while sick 🙂

      December 5, 2011
  16. Jan #

    Uhhhhhhh..do you have croup? :/ anthropologie here we come!

    December 5, 2011
    • No croup, silly. The winds have been rather severe over here and when that happens, my allergies go nuts. Turned into a mini cold weekend 😦 Speaking of croup, how are you feeling??
      Let me get my shoes on! I’m ready for Anthro…

      December 5, 2011
      • Jan #

        feeling goooood. . . .shopping for waiting to exhale online 🙂

        December 5, 2011
        • Oh no, what others movies have you purchased??? *shaking head*

          December 5, 2011

Leave a comment