Skip to content

This ship has set sail…

Somes days I feel more fragile than others.

My threshold for handling certain situations

in life tend to cycle through a variation of phases.

Yesterday was one of those low threshold phases,

if you know what I mean…

I fell asleep in tears, woke up in tears,

and proceeded to tear up throughout the day’s entirety.

I miss Greg more than I know what to do with it.

It’s been 5 weeks without him

and with each passing week, I am reminded

of how much he grounds me

and how much I deeply feel his absence.

Without him, I let myself go:

I eat worse.

I eat less.

I mope around.

I shower less.

(he will appreciate that one!)

How funny that I would create these beauties today:

because all I want to do is crawl into one of these ships

and sail away to where he is right now.

(((Sorry for such the sappy post today, friends.

I’ve officially become one of those girls)))…

So as you continue to read

about how I built the Mayflower in a day,

I will try to figure out a way

to put my body into this miniature-sized creation

and set adrift onto the sea…

Okay, so I have become lazy today

with my directions on how to assemble these Mayflower treats.

I’m on strike.

I will become more alive once my better half comes home.

So that means you all have to suffer me

for another 3 weeks…

I almost fit…

*sucking it in*

48 Comments Post a comment
  1. Babs #

    Finally got a chance to get back to the hotel and read your post 🙂

    I’m Sorry the last few days have been so rough for you…but a few more weeks and things will
    be back to normal again…So dry your eyes lil girl.

    See you before you know it 🙂

    ♥ Bzzzz

    p.s. LOVE the sail boats…let’s jump in and sail away 🙂

    November 22, 2011
    • I will be building a big enough ship to fit us both (especially my gangles) Love you buddy! xo

      November 22, 2011
  2. The Sister #

    It’s about time Greg makes an honest woman out of you. Lol. That was Dad talking through me. Oh sissy! Sucks to be away but remember what Mom always says: absence makes the heart grow fonder. Of course none of us ever believes that crap which is why Jessica says, absence makes the fart go Honda. Hope you can at least laugh today! Love you!

    November 22, 2011
    • How dare you say that mother is a liar! See, this is why I am the favorite and you so aren’t…
      Thanks for the belly laugh. I got a kick out of that one. Freaking Jessica…

      November 22, 2011
  3. ahh.. hang in there.. the days will soon be gone! those ships are super cute.. sending u some happy hugs! i usually watch crazy cute puppy videos the whole day when i am down..:) or bother my fluffy pom with extra cuddles, who atfer 15 minutes of smothering, figures my mood and promptly hides in his crate.. some cuddly mood lifter he is.

    November 22, 2011
    • BAHAHA! That made me smile, Richa. Thanks for the laughs. I think it makes it 20x worse when the hormones are at fault too… blech! 🙂

      November 22, 2011
  4. So sad 😦 I’m assuming Greg is someone you’re dating? (I’ve never seen you mention him before) but this is kinda like a romantic movie..

    Lover goes away, you get sad, don’t shower, eat less..and make boats out of chocolate and pretzels.. then bam, three weeks fly by and he’s back.

    Maybe not.
    But I sure do hope that you feel better and that you can see he’ll be back in no time whatsoever. You’ll probably be wondering what you got so worked up about three weeks from now! Or maybe not. I can’t predict the future.

    Gee, I’m really no help! But, like the greeting cards usually say – feel-better-soon!

    November 22, 2011
    • Greg is the name of my dead cat….

      No really though, Greg is a man (I hope) that I met online 3 months ago and have yet to really meet. He spends most of his time down in his mother’s basement, playing video games–I just love a man with ambition. But from the sound of his voice, I just know that we connect and know he’s the one for me…

      Okay, okay, I will be serious, Greg is my boyfriend that I have been with for the past 5 years. Oh, and please do us all a favor and go into the greeting card business, Isobelle!! I would pay $5 for a card like your comment!!!

      November 22, 2011
      • haha! That’s sweet. 5 years is a long time.

        Funny thing – greeting cards are part of the project I’ve been working on. And it’s really not a surprise. I’m just trying really hard to get things done so that I can focus on photographing everything well enough. I was going to share the end product on the blog. I’m opening an etsy shop with my art and prints. Ashlae was kind enough to buy a print from me and now I’m on a roll! 🙂

        November 22, 2011
        • Do you have anything to browse through yet? I wanna see! I wanna see! How super amazing this is!!!

          November 22, 2011
          • No, not yet. Ashlae had just seen a photo on one of my blog posts and demanded that she buy it. You know how she is… 🙂

            December 1st is my end date, hopefully. But that date is there just so I don’t procrastinate like I usually do. And I don’t think it’s very amazing. I would rather just give my work away. I feel odd selling it.
            But I’m having a hard time paying for school and my hours got cut at work because our screen printing company isn’t doing so well, so I don’t have much choice.

            Just a little while longer to wait, I promise! 🙂

            November 22, 2011
            • Boooooooooooo! I hate waiting. And yes, Ashlae is bossy 🙂 You really should get used to selling your stuff because you are very talented and anyone would want to buy it off of you. It’s a hard concept to accept but own it, sister. Waiting until December 1st….

              November 22, 2011
  5. oh, dear, I hope these next three weeks go SO FAST. so sorry you’re blue, I wish Basil and I could just show up at your door right now! Basil would be wagging and wiggling! and so would I 😀

    November 22, 2011
    • Don’t tease with thoughts like these, Kris. ((I’d like to see you wag and wiggle though–hahah!!)) Thanks for the encouragement…I’m already feeling better! Here’s to a speedy 3 weeks and to becoming next door neighbors 🙂

      November 22, 2011
  6. Kenyers #

    Sad face 😦

    November 22, 2011
    • You know what isn’t a sad face? That AMAZING book you sent me!!! Greg’s mom said, “Whoever sent you this is such a thoughtful person!” I think she couldn’t be any more right!! THANK YOU! I love it, and *you*. xo

      November 22, 2011
  7. Ahhhh! You won! I am so glad! Over-excited! You were my MoFo-favourite all the time (you knew anyway!)!

    Congrats! Have a nice trip and happy Thanksgiving 🙂

    (just wanted to be the first to congratulate)

    xo

    November 22, 2011
    • Oh Cara, you spoil me with your sweet words! Thank you so much *bowing* I feel so honored that they would give me a Mofie and even more honored that you would say that Fork and Beans is your favorite. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. xoxo, Cara

      November 22, 2011
  8. Laurel #

    I’ll bet I can make those candy ships without instructions. No worries. My heart aches for you that Greg will be gone another three weeks but think about the exciting Christmas you’ll have. My husband and I were separated for 9 months and it was torture – the crying, the daily phone calls with nothing to say but you didn’t think you could go on without the sound of his voice. Did I mention the crying? Well, be that as it may you are working through your sorrow creatively and we’ve all been blessed by it. Enjoy every second of your trip and seriously, when you get back, don’t tear your hair out, Greg likes it the way it is. He told me so. ❤ ❤ ❤
    xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxox

    November 22, 2011
    • Ugh, yes those phone calls are all too familiar! But NINE months, Laurel??? What was going on at that time to be separated for 9 long, horrible months? Did Greg also tell you how much he *loves* it when I don’t wash my hair too? hehehe Thanks for the love, Laurel. xoxox, you are always filled with so much encouragement!

      November 22, 2011
  9. Awww. Big big hugs. Many years ago now, I was on an internship on the opposite side of the country from Josh for 9 weeks and by the end of it, I pretty much sounded like this. On the one hand, ow my heart. On the other: how great is it that you have someone you love so much in your life? Pretty great.

    More hugs. I hope the next couple of weeks go by fast for you.

    And hey, no one is holding your lack of instructions for your candy ships against you.

    November 22, 2011
    • You are so right, Nikki! I have to remember this on those days I am with him and I wanna ring his neck, that without him in my life, I am one miserable wretch 🙂 (And thank you for not punishing me for the instruction-less instructions) hehehe
      Are you all packed for your trip? What a fun getaway for you…

      November 22, 2011
  10. Awww, that is so hard. Nothing hurts worse. Hang in there a day at a time,a moment at a time. You are a beautiful spirit. He’ll be back soon, in the meantime sail away, sail away!

    November 22, 2011
    • Now I am singing Enya’s “Sail Away” in my head 🙂 Thanks GiGi–you too are a beautiful spirit and I am so happy that we have crossed paths! xo

      November 22, 2011
      • Me too! Thank you!!! Safe trip, and vegan hugs!

        November 23, 2011
  11. It’s terrible to be away from the one you love, and two months is a long time! On the bright side – in a week, it will only be two weeks until you’re together again! And you’re doing an amazing job with your blog while he’s away. You’re creating some really inspired and adorable stuff!

    November 22, 2011
    • Thank you so much Cadry. That is so sweet of you to say and it was such a nice thing to hear, truly. xoxo

      November 22, 2011
  12. Awww! Cara I’m so sorry that Greg is still gone and that you had a rough day 😦 I wish I could give you a big hug!!!! I can’t imagine how hard that must be, no need to apologize at all– you have a right to have bad days, that’s only human!!!!! You are more than halfway there, he’ll be home in three weeks and you are gone for one of it- I hope it goes by quickly my friend. Love to you!!!!

    November 22, 2011
    • Well you *can* give me a big hug, actually…on Monday!!! 🙂 Thank you so much for your sweet encouragement. Man, bad days suck but I am so grateful for people like you in my life! xo

      November 22, 2011
  13. Jan #

    😦 sniffle…come cuddle.

    November 22, 2011
    • Be there tomorrow!! I wanna watch (in no specific order):
      A Fish Called Wanda
      animalsbeingdicks.com
      Arrested Development
      Archer
      Robot Chicken
      The IT Crowd

      November 22, 2011
  14. Awwww…:( But the widdle boats are cute!

    November 22, 2011
    • At least I got that going for me, indeed 🙂 haha. How is the vacation going so far, Brooke?

      November 22, 2011
      • If I have to drive to the grocery store again, I’m going to swear and scream and stamp and be really annoyed…

        November 22, 2011
        • What is the count currently?

          November 22, 2011
  15. Oh, lady! I am sorry you’ve had to be so long without your other half. Three weeks is nothing – you’re almost there!

    I’ll wipe your tears on Friday 🙂

    November 22, 2011
    • You better not let my tears soil my fangs! 🙂 P.S. Did I mention how EXCITED I am???

      November 22, 2011
      • Haha, stop that nonsense! I’d rather be a vampire than a real life bobble head. I CANNOT WAIT – AHHHHHHHH!

        November 22, 2011
        • You don’t have a bobble head Ashlae!!! haha. When we meet up, we both are going to be self-conscious about the fangs and bobble head that we won’t even hear what the other is saying…

          November 22, 2011
  16. I’ll be thinking about you today and hoping you feel a little better.

    (If it helps at all my book is on its way to you. At least you can be distracted by it for a bit!)

    November 22, 2011
    • You should have seen how I just perked up. I think that is all it took, Kathy. I can’t wait for your book! Eeeeee! I’m going to make everything in it… hehehe

      November 22, 2011
  17. missing someone is always such a heartache. i hope you feel better soon 😉 and i love your mayflowers- the rice chex flags are adorable 😉

    November 22, 2011
    • Aw, thank you so much Caitlin! So glad our blogs have met 🙂

      November 22, 2011
  18. Missing someone we love is the worst ache ever.
    ((((HUGS))))

    November 22, 2011
    • It totally blows, doesn’t it? Thanks for the hug though Jeni, that made me feel a little bit better 🙂

      November 22, 2011
  19. Nina #

    Oh Cara, that you could feel so low and still create something so beautiful.
    Directions shouldn’t be complicated and I think even I can follow these ones.
    Take care, and if you have a bath at your place, indulge!

    November 22, 2011
    • Haha. Thanks Nina, for making me feel better about the lack of directions 🙂 I was feeling a little guilty. And a bath sounds heavenly right now… xoxo

      November 22, 2011

Leave a comment