Skip to content

A Feast Among Friends

3 days remaining to get

as many ideas of:

as possible!

How about sinking your teeth

into these

Indian and Pilgrim-shaped mini sandwiches:

It’s a Friendship Feast.

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

Pilgrim Sandwich

  • 2 slices GF and vegan bread, use 2″ round cutter for each
  • 1 orange mini pepper (for hat)
  • 1 piece shredded carrot (for hair)
  • 1 olive (for eyes and hat buckle)
  • 1 red mini pepper (for mouth and hat belt)
  • 1 tb Daiya cheese
  • Earth Balance

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

Indian Sandwich

  • 2 slices GF and vegan bread, use 2″ round cutter for each
  • 1 thin slice of orange mini pepper (for head band)
  • 4 olives (for hair and eyes)
  • 1 red mini pepper (for feather and lips)
  • 1 tb Daiya cheese
  • Earth Balance

Now if you will excuse me,

I have a trip to pack for!

My Thanksgiving plans just got exciting.

Not only am I visiting a dear friend of mine,

I also get to meet up with new ones.

I can hardly contain myself…

37 Comments Post a comment
  1. Haha… Love these creations! And nice photos! 🙂

    November 21, 2011
    • HIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIII!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thank you for stopping by–I always get all excited when I see that you were here 🙂

      November 21, 2011
  2. Jan #

    http://www.hark.com/clips/fjrqfbxjkd-us-of-a
    sound clip. . .

    November 21, 2011
  3. Jan #

    is this a movie of yours?

    November 21, 2011
    • Is what a movie of mine? You know you are dealing with a blonde here…

      November 21, 2011
      • Jan #

        yeah that was a bit vague huh! a fish called wanda. . . kevin kline goes on a tirade about the brits. alex had it as a ringtone at one point. searching for soundclip. . . .

        November 21, 2011
        • HAHA!!! Can we watch that again while I am there???

          November 21, 2011
  4. Jan #

    Indians? so 1984 cara . . . native americans, please. ingenius, as per usual.
    I missed my morning FAB post, i could have been smiling at this all day! cant wait for ourrrrr friendship feast. . . .muah muah!

    November 21, 2011
    • They are my people. They don’t mind it if I call them Indian. It’s an “inside” thing you wouldn’t get…
      Friendship Feast! Friendship Feast! Wow, that surprisingly replaces “Darkest Sketch” quite nicely.

      November 21, 2011
      • Jan #

        oh you Indians are soooooooo superior. . . .
        you know where you would be without us?

        November 21, 2011
        • Yeah, probably ALIVE and conquering North America still, you bastards! haha

          November 21, 2011
          • Jan #

            hmmm kinda walked in to that one. . .

            November 21, 2011
  5. You’re leaving us..? 😥

    I hope you have a wonderful trip! And – Cara, you’re like a food artist, I swear! You’re so creative with these themes.

    November 21, 2011
    • No, my fluffy cloud, I’m not leaving yet. I like to pack early 🙂 But when I go, I will sprinkle little surprises for you along the way (and not the kind that my old cat used to do you once I would get into my bed for the night and find her surprise, aka URINE all over my comforter). Oh no, a much better surprise 🙂
      And thank you about the food artist thingee. I like that combo of words, actually. Oh and guess who I am meeting up with on my trip? I will give you one hint: It’s not Madonna. Wish you lived in Colorado also!!! 😦

      November 21, 2011
      • HA! haha. Man. I spilled my kombucha a little from laughing. You made me waste kombucha! I know all about those surprises. Except I don’t have cats, only dogs. But I’m glad to hear there will be surprises (*sprinkles fairy dust*)

        aw..you’re meeting Ashlae? You’re going to listen to Madonna and bake things without me!? haha. Okay I’m over it. But I wish I lived in Colorado now too. That’s really cool that you’re meeting up! If you listen to Madonna, play “Lucky Star” for me 🙂 I guess I really like the sky.

        November 21, 2011
        • You *do* have a thing with the sky. I love it! And you better not get over us baking without you that quickly. No, that was too anti-climactic for me–I do not approve! Be sad with me because how FUN would that be??! Boooo! I’m sending kitty over to you now to “surprise” you. Eeeeew, those are horrible memories, really…
          P.S. Sorry about the kombucha spill. Truly. *hanging head in shame* I owe you a jar now…

          November 21, 2011
          • Oh, I’m not really over it. I’m just trying to convince myself that I am so that I feel better. I’m squeezing my eyes together right now to prevent the tears from falling. I can be climatic for you if you want..

            NOOO! TAKE ME WITH YOUUU! ( sad classical music begins as I run in slow motion towards..the door? where are you again, LA? Sorry, I don’t have the brightest memory). Anyway..YOU CAN’T DO THIS TO MEEE!

            I only dribbled a little on my chin. But every drop counts! Every drop! (i’m super addicted now).

            November 21, 2011
            • Seriously. I heart you. You make me laugh so hard!!!

              November 22, 2011
  6. Hahaha, more great designs 🙂

    November 21, 2011
    • xoxo Thank you! 🙂

      November 21, 2011
  7. Cuuuute! At first I thought the black olives were jelly beans and was like, jelly beans and grilled cheese? Really?!

    I like that they’re both Daiya grilled cheese sandwiches… some sort of message about how we’re all just people on the inside, even if some of us have braids made out of olives and some of us wear hats made out of peppers.

    Have a wonderful trip!! We are leaving for Oregon for Thanksgiving tomorrow afternoon and uh yeah, I haven’t packed yet.

    November 21, 2011
    • Ohmygoodness Nikki, you had me laughing so hard! You are getting existential on me and the Daiya cheese, though you do make a remarkably valid point. Yes, that is exactly what I was thinking while creating these sandwiches 🙂 Have fun in Oregon!! Enjoy being far, far away from work…

      November 21, 2011
  8. Laurel #

    Aw… these are so you, u wo du hi (Cherokee word for “beautiful” and pronounced: oo wo doo hee. I just want those little guys to feel comfortable so they don’t eat each other before I get to!
    Have a wonderlous trip.

    .

    November 21, 2011
    • Laurel, do you have some Indian blood in you or is that just because you live in an Indian town? haha. I want them to feel comfortable too–they are getting along so nicely. And people said there was tension between the two… What do our history books know anyway? 🙂

      November 21, 2011
  9. Cute little sandwiches!!! I especially like the olive braids, hehe 🙂
    Eeeee—I’m thrilled about your upcoming trip!!!!! I can’t hardly wait!

    November 21, 2011
    • MONDAY! Woo-hoo!!! Blogging friends become real life friends 🙂

      November 21, 2011
  10. Olive braids. Who would have thunk it? You of course 🙂 So cute. Have a safe and wonderful holiday, my friend.

    November 21, 2011
    • Thank you GiGi!! What are you Thanksgiving plans this week?

      November 21, 2011
  11. Brooke #

    Sooooo sweet! So cute I almost can’t believe it! Except then I remember which site I’m looking at and I’m all, “ok, I can believe it…” 🙂 hope you have fun on your trip!

    November 21, 2011
    • ha. Thanks Brooke 🙂 Hope *you* are having fun on your trip as well! P.S. I can’t stop eating kolaches and shortbread cookies…

      November 21, 2011
  12. i love the native american’s hair and the way you were able to make braids! you are so cute! what kind of bread do you use?

    November 21, 2011
    • Yeah, I was stuck for awhile thinking about how to do the braids 🙂 There is a bakery close to where I live that sells a GF and vegan oat loaf that is actually really good.

      November 21, 2011
      • oh wow, that’s awesome. i am so totally jealous!

        November 21, 2011
        • I am realizing more and more that this is a very uncommon feature to live near. Each time I hear this, the more I am grateful for this bakery! Are you still able to find GF/vegan bread around?

          November 21, 2011
  13. Oh these are adorable, almost too good to eat.
    *grabs one and shoves it in her gob anyway*
    Enjoy *munch munch* your *nom nom* trip
    🙂
    xxx

    November 21, 2011
    • Hey, hey, hey, make sure you chew your food! I don’t wanna have to do the heimlich maneuver… 🙂

      November 21, 2011

Leave a comment