Skip to content

A Chocolate-Covered Tee-Pee

It would quite unfair if I didn’t pay homage

to my special ethnic heritage for this theme’s:

I know the blonde hair and super pale skin

make you instantly think:

“She must have American Indian blood in her!”

It’s as if you know me…

This fact always throws people off

but the truth is, I really do

have a good portion of Red Cherokee blood

running through my veins.

So in honor of my heritage and Thanksgiving,

I wanted to do a fun food project

that represents another side of the Thanksgiving table:

The building of a chocolate-covered tee-pee

Watch how it magically turns from a simple foundation

into a fully decorated tee-pee:

(fireplace not included)

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • 1 GF ice cream cone (cut out triangle for tee-pee opening and a small opening on the top)
  • 1 Dr. Lucy’s cookie for the base
  • GF pretzels
  • melted vegan chocolate chips
  • vegan icing, various colors
  • 1 small slice of strawberry for flame in the fire
  • handful of cacao nibs for sprinkling

DIRECTIONS:

  1. First, coat cone with melted chocolate. Place 2 pretzel sticks in the top hole and allow to set.
  2. Coat cookie with chocolate. Use chocolate as glue to set cone on top of cookie.
  3. Place pretzel bits in formation of fire logs and set strawberry on top (using choco as glue) .
  4. Using icing, make patterns on the tee-pee.
  5. Sprinkle with cacao nibs for dirt.
  6. Eat or just adore.

It’s almost as if I can feel the warmth

of the tee-pee fire hitting my skin…

35 Comments Post a comment
  1. These kid-friendly recipes are fantastic. Thanks for sharing, Cara!

    November 7, 2012
  2. Lets toast some vegan marshmallows on that bad boy of a fire! 🙂
    This is such a fun idea. It looks kind of time consuming though. How long did you spend on this?

    November 18, 2011
    • I have a year’s supply of Dandies so I will bring the marshmallows! It probably took 30 minutes, Isobelle. It wasn’t too bad really… I think the fireplace was the biggest pain in the butt of all of it.

      November 18, 2011
  3. Laurel #

    I first thought, ‘Oh, that teepee needs a fire.’ But you delivered, as always, I shoulda knowd.
    Ha-li-he-li-ga
    You be happy.

    November 18, 2011
    • Girrrrrrl, I gotcho covered!

      November 18, 2011
  4. Sue #

    I’m starting to think those Cherokees really got around!

    November 18, 2011
    • It’s funny how many blondies are claiming Indian blood huh? Makes you wonder… ha!

      November 18, 2011
  5. Kahyoot! And my husband is a tiny bit Cherokee, too. His great-itty-great-great grandmother, I think. Did the Cherokee live in tee-pees?

    November 18, 2011
    • I have no idea, Brooke. I’m totally typecasting here.

      November 18, 2011
      • Dude, I’d pay money to live in a tee-pee made out of an ice cream cone covered in chocolate… The chocolate would keep it water tight, right?

        November 18, 2011
        • We should totally build one big enough to live in. I can almost feel the strawberry flame keeping me warm at night…

          November 18, 2011
          • A Chocolate Tee-Pee Haiku Of Love (The first Haiku I ever Wrote…)

            Strawberry flame on
            Makes me feel loved and hungry
            Cotton candy smoke

            November 18, 2011
            • You need to go on vacation. Either that or consider a career in poetry 🙂

              November 19, 2011
              • Vacation it is!!

                November 19, 2011
                • Oh. I thought for sure poetry would be the first choice…

                  November 19, 2011
  6. haha…it *was* funny…since we both knew you were lying

    November 18, 2011
  7. That tee pee is adorbs. But it’s kinda like you’re rubbing in the fact that I forgot to buy ice cream cones last night.

    November 18, 2011
    • I got a message from your family last night that told me to do so. They were very angry. So was I. *sticking my thumb to my nose*

      November 18, 2011
      • Don’t lie. “Lies do not become us.” I’m the only one that eats the gf ice cream cones.

        November 18, 2011
        • HAHA. Sorry. *head down in shame* I thought it would be funny but you are right. Lies are anything but a laughing matter…

          November 18, 2011
  8. Nice job on the tee pee! Looks yummy and too cute to eat!

    November 18, 2011
    • Yeah, I’m thinking it’s more of a decorative piece more than anything 🙂

      November 18, 2011
  9. Cute!

    November 18, 2011
    • Kathy! Hi! Always fun to see your face, missy 🙂

      November 18, 2011
  10. I almost bought GF pretzels last night. Until I realized they were EIGHT DOLLARS A BAG.

    My boyfriend (err, ex?) claims to have Cherokee blood running through him, too! And he’s pale as a vampire. I think you two might be lying.. 😉

    November 18, 2011
    • Have you seen the GF Synder’s pretzels? They taste *just like* the real thing. I think those were only 5 bucks. ONLY 5 bucks, ha! Listen to that, as if that is a deal. And when you say ex-boyfriend, you aren’t talking about your current bf are you??? ARE YOU?? Because we need to chat if so…

      November 18, 2011
      • Ashlae #

        Whaaat? I didn’t even know Snyders made GF pretzels. I am going to hunt them down tomorrow. And eat the entire bag.

        And yes, the same boyfriend who gave me the name ladycakes. Now what am I going to call my freaking blog?

        November 18, 2011
        • I just found them a week ago at WholeFoods. And I ate them. ALL. In two days. They were *that* good.
          Son of a b, man. What the h-e-double hockey sticks happened???

          November 18, 2011
  11. you are so amazing at decorating your creations! the fire is freakin adorable!!

    November 18, 2011
    • Oh Caitlin, you are so super sweet to say so! Thank you much 🙂

      November 18, 2011
  12. Nina #

    This, is a work of ART!
    I love it!
    It’s amazing how a few strategically placed pieces of pretzel and a bit of strawberry can be transformed into a fire.
    Brilliant. 🙂

    November 18, 2011
    • Thank you so much, Nina! I wasn’t sure if it looked like a fire initially but I am so glad to hear you think so. I think my ancestors would be proud 🙂

      November 18, 2011
  13. Babs #

    Love this!!!

    Another great & creative idea!

    Don’t know where you come up with these, but keep them coming!

    November 18, 2011
    • Yeah, I don’t know either… he. Love you bud. I like having your comment everyday. When you get back home, you know that I will be expecting this to carry on…

      November 18, 2011

Leave a comment