Skip to content

A corny post.

One week until Thanksgiving!

I don’t know about you but I am ready

to stuff my face with:

So I’m definitely not your typical kind of girl.

When it comes to receiving gifts, I love to ask for practical things

rather than gifts of glitz and glam.

Unless it’s a gift card to Anthropologie.

Now that I think about it,

a girl does need more clothes, right?

Sounds practical to me!

So when I got this incredibly huge slab of  200 year old wood

from my most wonderful boyfriend for my birthday,

I was beside myself!

(((he knows me so well!)))

Making its debut appearance in these photos!

Whenever I drive, I’m always scanning

people’s trash cans, work sites, or turning my head for garage sales

 in search for scraps of wood that I can use

when photographing food.

It’s a habit I cannot seem to break.

So what better way to introduce this incredible piece of wood

than to pair it with an equally

incredible food?

Cornbread!

But not just any cornbread…

Corn-on-the-Cob Bread.

I love how the flaxseed meal gives the appearance of flecks of pepper.

I found this pan at Cost Plus World Market

http://www.worldmarket.com/product/index.jsp?productId=11769090

and knew that it would be mine…

(another essential need in any girl’s life!)

Here’s a recipe card for Gluten-Free and Vegan cornbread:

Place corn holders into each corn-on-the-cob bread pieces.

Your Thanksgiving guests will be delighted to see that

their favorite bread is cob-ified.

Giggle as you watch them attempt to eat their bread

with the holders intact.

Isn’t that wood just gorgeous?

I cannot wait to make a table out of it!

And what about those cornbread cobs?

Is it appropriate to adore your own work? haha.

44 Comments Post a comment
  1. a piece of wood for your birthday! it seems funny, but I KNOW how excited you had to be for that!! 😀 and even better that he knows it. it is beautiful!

    I had a n old cast iron pan that was corn-shaped… I either lost it or it is in a box in my mom’s garage… I loved that thing! I never had cute holders like those though, they were the plastic corn shaped variety 🙂

    November 19, 2011
    • Oh, now I know what to give you for your birthday… 🙂

      November 19, 2011
  2. Maddy #

    Oh! That looks so good! Do you think it would work just using muffin tins?

    November 17, 2011
    • Absolutely Maddy! You could put the holders into the regular sized muffins and it would still look adorable 🙂

      November 18, 2011
      • Maddy #

        Great thanks! This will without a doubt be on my Thanksgiving table! Bob’s red mill GF flour mix?

        November 18, 2011
        • That would totally work nicely for cornbread, however I have found this brand called Authentic Foods: Feather Light Blend that I like a lot and used for this recipe.

          November 19, 2011
          • Maddy #

            Thanks so much for your help! 🙂

            November 19, 2011
            • Of course, Maddy! Hope you like it 🙂

              November 19, 2011
  3. This is such a weird coincidence. How did you know that I would be smoking a corncob pipe while reading this? Did your boyfriend make you walk the plank when he gave you the amazing gift? Bahaha. Did you draw that fork on the recipe card too? OMG! This beautiful post just made me swallow my tobaccey. PS Ross plates are so great.

    November 17, 2011
    • Don’t swallow it GiGi! It ruins the bowel movement cycle, so I hear… HAHA!! you make me laugh so hard!

      November 17, 2011
  4. I see those cast iron corn bread pans at flea markets all the time. I just never put it together that the result would be. this. cute. Ahhhdorable. 🙂

    November 17, 2011
    • I want to go to said flea markets with you 🙂

      November 17, 2011
  5. eeeeeehhhhh…. corn on the cob bread… dor…

    November 17, 2011
    • Bob. hehehe. I like that better 🙂 I especially love the “dor”–I used to say that but it sounded a little more drawn out like: “Doooooooorrrrrrrrrrr” ha

      November 17, 2011
  6. Corn on the bob bread. Awesome. Love the little holders! And your wood is awesome. And speaking of props, I like those plates, too! 🙂

    November 17, 2011
    • Ross is seriously my go-to for fun plates!

      November 17, 2011
      • Loves me some Ross! Second-hand stores are great, too.

        November 17, 2011
  7. Ahhhhhhhhhh!!! These are too fun and cute for words! What a great idea!!!! I’m the one that needs to come live with you for a month or so and follow YOU around the kitchen…I need to soak up some of your playfulness and creativity!
    Ps you would make THE BEST mom 🙂

    November 17, 2011
    • Don’t say stuff like that Nora. No kids for another million years for me!!! 🙂 How about we take turns learning from each other? I will bring my notepad and piece of chalk. hehe

      November 17, 2011
      • HA! Well it’s true – just so you know 🙂 Kids are a far distance away for Chris and I too!
        Sounds like a plan, I have my notebook and sharpened pencil ready!

        November 17, 2011
  8. Ha! I love it! Both the corn on the cobs (and those evil looking corn cob holders… are they just tiny steak knives?!) and the slab of wood. This whole post is delightful to the eye!

    November 17, 2011
    • I grew up on the corn-shaped, yellow, plastic-y holders as a kid so when I asked G’s mom if she had any and she brought these out–I couldn’t believe my eyes. I have never seen nice corn holders before, not to mention ones that look like tiny steak knives, until I met these 🙂

      November 17, 2011
      • We definitely had the yellow plastic corn-cob ones when I was a kid and I looooved them… as a kid I thought that was so clever, you use them to eat your corn and they’re SHAPED like corn!

        But I’m kind of in love with these tiny knives too. You could arm a very small militia with them.

        November 17, 2011
        • haha, Like if a whole bunch of dolls wanted to attack, they so could use these holders.
          I’m not going to lie, I kinda got a little sad when I saw she didn’t have the corn-shaped holders. But these definitely grew on me. It’s like they are holders for the wealthy, or something 🙂

          November 17, 2011
  9. oooooh, reclaimed wood is the best (but an anthro gift card is totally acceptable!). and, i can’t believe you figured out what to do with one of those corn cob pans. it seems so obvious now…

    November 17, 2011
    • I’m definitely discovering how amazing it is–I keep looking at it in adoration and wonder what kind of life it had 150 years ago… (I’m a total sap)
      Are you and I going Anthro shopping soon? …. Eh???!

      November 17, 2011
      • ah! if i wasn’t on the opposite coast i would so be there for some shopping. well, probably window shopping mostly, but still!

        November 17, 2011
        • For some reason I thought you were westcoast! Why am I thinking this?? <–crazy, that's why…

          November 17, 2011
  10. Amazing, amazing, amazing, amazing, amazing, amazing.

    (nothing left to say)

    November 17, 2011
  11. Kelly C #

    Those are super cute! Love the wood as a background too. It gives a really nice warmth to your pictures! Definitely not bad t adore your own work, yours is totally adorable!

    November 17, 2011
    • Phew, thank you 🙂 Maybe it’s not so much my work that I am adoring now that I think about it but the fact that someone decided to make a pan in the shape of corn cobs! It makes anyone’s food adorable…
      And the wood *does* give a nice warmth, you are so right! xo

      November 17, 2011
  12. Now I have to go find a corn cob pan.. definitely something every kitchen needs! This is brilliant!

    November 17, 2011
    • forgot to mention.. I LOVE the reclaimed wood! It looks absolutely awesome! My husband is going to be making a harvest table for our dining room out of reclaimed barn wood this next year.

      November 17, 2011
      • Tell your husband to stop by over here and make us a table as well! 🙂 Take pics of it when it’s finished–I would *love* to see it!

        November 17, 2011
    • Isn’s that pan the best? I passed out when I saw it from cuteness. People and their clever ideas! xo

      November 17, 2011
  13. I wood love a slab like that too!
    And your corny cobbingtons.
    xxxx

    November 17, 2011
    • It’s so good to see your face! I have missed you, Jeni! Are you going to be writing up some cleverly written posts any time soon? I miss your humor…

      November 17, 2011
      • Ah Cara – you’re so sweet. I’ve just started a new job and it’s rather demanding, 10am til 9pm 7 days a week! However a girl still needs to eat so I’ll definitely be posting something soon.
        xxxx

        November 18, 2011
        • Ohmygoodness! You are a hard-working woman. What job is it, if you don’t mind me asking? Thank you for still stopping by and commenting despite being so tired. Now I feel even luckier to see your face over here… 🙂

          November 18, 2011
          • The job I’ve just started is technical website support for an online newspaper, I am a website designer by trade, and no, I don’t mind you asking at all. I just strated my new job at the end of MoFo which was rather good timing ‘cos I don’t think I’d have managed MoFo otherwise which would be a crying shame. I’ll need to start prepping for next year right about now me thinks.
            xxxx

            November 19, 2011
            • That would have been a hot mess! Good thing you are preparing in advance for next year. I would be sooooooooooo sad to not read your posts. Hope you are enjoying the new gig! xo Do something fun this weekend.

              November 19, 2011
  14. Babs #

    Wow, I know you said you were gonna do something cool with the board, but these cobs are amazing!

    It looks like a real corn on a cob, well at least from my iPhone 🙂

    Enjoy your 200+ year old piece of barn wood 🙂

    Love this post even if I can’t eat it 😦

    Maybe just a bite 🙂

    November 17, 2011

Leave a comment