Skip to content

Vampires have feelings too, you know.

Might I even say that some are overlooked as jokesters.

Simply misunderstood creatures.

But aren’t we all?

So in honor of that fun-loving Vampire who loves a good razzie,

this week, we shall focus on:

Hopefully you didn’t miss the Creepy Crudites platter

 because after you’ve hooked your guests on veggie body parts,

it’s time to move on to the freaky fruits.

Your guests will be 100% [A] positive enjoying their feast on

these Vampire Mouths:

Aaaawwww, how cute. Their tongues are sticking out. 

And you thought that Vampires were stereotypically out for blood.

Shame on you!

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

Makes 4 mouths

  • 1 red apple
  • handful of almonds (always have backup for mistakes)
  • 1 strawberry, sliced thinly
  • considering adding lemon juice to keep from spoiling? Mine got a little brown during its lifespan…
  • 1 sharp, small knife.

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Cut apple into 4 slices.
  2. With a small knife, carve out a top and bottom lip. Make sure not to cut too far because you want to make sure that the apple is still in tact.

 

 

I feel like I need to insert an after-school special here folks.

Kids, this is your mother speaking.

Knives are sharp objects.

Please administer with care and precaution.

There. I feel better.

They should look like this once you are finished:

3.  Carefully, slice the almonds in half. It turned out that I could only save one side when doing this so I needed 2 almonds per mouth.

4.  Gently, I repeat, gently place the almonds into the top portion of the mouth until it sticks without holding it. Use your knife to carve out a little tiny hole if needed.

5.  Place strawberry slice inside mouth to resemble a tongue.

 

Okay so maybe stereotypes exist for a reason. These bites were looking for more than just a good time. 

Hey, these little creatures are so versatile too!

You can eat them

AND

You can pose with them in a picture.

 

The ghost on my shoulder spooked me out so that it made even the hairs on top of my head stick up.

P.S. No, my hair doesn’t normally look like that.

P.P.S. Okay, yes it does…

 

 

24 Comments Post a comment
  1. Tea #

    HAHAHAHAHA you are adorable

    October 22, 2012
  2. Ooooh, perfect!!!

    October 30, 2011
  3. Lana A #

    These are adorable. Do you mind if I post a link to this on a raw vegan community website?

    October 22, 2011
    • Thank you Lana. Of course you can post a link to that website–thank you SO MUCH for asking first, I really appreciate that 🙂 xo

      October 22, 2011
  4. Mo #

    I love that last picture!

    October 14, 2011
    • Haha. Thanks 🙂 It was one of my favorites too–glad you like it, Mo!

      October 15, 2011
  5. Too damn cute and they look pretty easy to do. Don’t really celebrate Halloween here but who needs an excuse for a little bit of fun? 😉

    October 4, 2011
    • Australia doesn’t celebrate Halloween??? The horror!!! I think you should start up the trend 🙂

      October 4, 2011
  6. These are so fun and creative! I love them!

    October 3, 2011
    • And they will love you Isobelle 🙂 Thank you so much xoxo

      October 4, 2011
  7. Haha! And I thought this was gonna be a post on the upcoming Twilight movie! 🙂 Hilarious 🙂

    October 3, 2011
    • Okay, that IS hilarious! I just saw the trailer yesterday and turned to Greg, eyes a’rolling. But deep down I was thinking, “We so are going to have to see that.” Even though the last one was terrible…

      October 3, 2011
  8. What a clever and cute idea! It’s like a healthier (and tastier) version of wax vampire lips.

    October 3, 2011
    • HA! I didn’t even think of that; I love that! I used to eat those lips as a kid (gross!)

      October 3, 2011
  9. Those are great! I think I will have to sub whole pumpkin seeds for the almonds since my vegan peeps are allergic.

    October 3, 2011
    • Eek! Allergic to almonds??? Noooooo!!!! That should be illegal. I have a pecan allergy but if it were to almonds, I would be so sad 😦 You can even use sunflower seeds and change the vampire theme to a zombie theme with jacked up teeth 🙂

      October 3, 2011
  10. You stole my Halloween heart. ❤ I love your apple mouths, such a fun idea. 🙂

    October 3, 2011
    • Aaawwww, see? Us Halloween creatures have emotions too 🙂 Glad that I could tug at yours… Isn’t Halloween THE best???!

      October 3, 2011
  11. So cute!

    October 3, 2011
  12. LOVE them! And I love your freaky eyes too!

    October 3, 2011
    • muahahaha… I thought I would turn up the creep factor a notch 🙂 Thanks, Jeni!

      October 3, 2011
  13. sooo clever! i love it!

    October 3, 2011
    • Thank you so much Caitlin!

      October 3, 2011

Leave a comment