Skip to content

It’s a dead man’s party.

To officially kick off my month long celebration of Halloween,

I thought I would start with a platter of:

This is the perfect starter for any Halloween party.

Gross out your guests as they feast on:

Brains.

Fingers.

Eyeballs.

Blood.

Yet as grossed as they might be, they will find these appetizers refreshingly delicious.

Never before have you heard your friends say,

“I am really enjoying the way these fingers taste!”

or

“I’m sticking with the brains!”

or even,

“I didn’t know eating eyeballs could be so good for you!”

(and hopefully this will be THE only time you hear it).

This platter is so easy to make too!

Here are the simple steps to follow:

CUCUMBER EYEBALLS:

WHAT YOU’LL NEED: 

  • Cucumber, sliced in big chunks, patted dry
  • Green olive, sliced
  • Tofutti cream cheese
  • natural red food coloring (made from beets)
  • toothpick

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Apply a glob of cream cheese in the middle of the cucumber and stick the olive on top.
  2. With a toothpick, carefully dip into food coloring to make lines that look like veins on the eyeballs.
CARROT FINGERS:

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • 1 bag baby carrots
  • small cutting knife

DIRECTIONS:

Carefully use the knife to cut out 3 lines in the middle of the “finger” for knuckles and carve out a fingernail at the thinnest point of the carrot.

CAULIFLOWER BRAINS

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • 1 head cauliflower, cut into florets, patted dry
  • natural red food coloring (beet-based)
  • toothpick

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Using the toothpick, dip in coloring make squiggly lines for the brains.
TOMBSTONE CHIPS:

WHAT YOU’LL NEED:

  • 1 bag corn tortillas
  • vegetable oil

DIRECTIONS:

If you have a tombstone cookie cutter, this will come in handy. I didn’t so I just hand carved out one and used it as my base. 

  1. Cut out tombstones from the tortillas.
  2. Heat oil in skillet on medium heat until hot. Place tortillas, batches at a time, into skillet and cook for 5 minutes, or until crispy. Drain oil on a paper towel.

Place all your ingredients on a platter with a salsa-filled skull bowl and enjoy!



65 Comments Post a comment
  1. Randi #

    These look fab! Wondering if could make the night before for a luncheon? Wasn’t sure if blood would “spread” during fridge time……

    October 24, 2012
    • Hi Randi! I think it would probably be best if you do the coloring the day of. Prepare everything else the night before but then give yourself 10 minutes before you need to leave to do the coloring. Good luck! xo

      October 25, 2012
  2. so, having a little trouble achieving the fantastic beet food coloring you have pictured. any hints? did you use anything to thicken it up, or just blend/food process the beet and go? i really love your blog, thank you so much for sharing your journey… we are a vegan household and take great joy in seeing more and more veg inspired peoples. you’re creativity is truly making a difference, thank you again for sharing!

    October 15, 2011
    • Wow, Melissa–that just brought a huge smile to my face to hear that! I so appreciate your support with this insanity others call creativity and cannot tell you how happy it makes me feel to know that others are getting a kick out of something I just love to do 🙂 Thank you just doesn’t cut it with sweet words like that…
      This is where I found the beet-based food coloring: http://www.seelecttea.com/index.php/food-color.html
      I have heard that some colorings are different and not all are made out of crushed beetles. I believe cochineal and carmine (carminic acid) are what you want to avoid if this is important to you. Red dye #40, however, is not so you could totally go with that one. Hope this helps Melissa! Best of luck, xoxo Cara

      October 15, 2011
      • Hey Cara,
        Just wanted to give you a heads up that the link above is broken.

        December 27, 2012
  3. Sarah #

    Awesome stuff! Makes me wanna host a Halloween party! 🙂 One question — is there a reason the red food coloring has to be beet-based, or is it just a personal choice? I’d like to just be able to use the stuff I’ve got on hand which is not beet-based.
    Thanks for the fun ideas!

    October 7, 2011
    • Thanks Sarah! If you do throw a Halloween party, I wanna come 🙂 hehe. About the food coloring, use whatever you want, definitely! I put that up there to stick to the vegan dress code…

      October 7, 2011
  4. erin #

    Great stuff! I’m always looking for cool/cute snacks to serve the kids. Your stuff is just what I was looking for.

    October 4, 2011
    • I’m so glad to hear it, Erin! I hope the kiddos like these snacks more than us adults do 🙂

      October 4, 2011
  5. Ok, now I have to plan a halloween party so that I can make some of these. These are adorable!

    October 4, 2011
    • If you do, you MUST invite me 🙂 I love a good party…

      October 4, 2011
  6. I’m loving all of your spooky posts. This is super cute. I want to eat some fingers!

    October 3, 2011
    • Words to live by: I want to eat some fingers! haha. I love it 🙂 Thank you Amber for the kind words…

      October 3, 2011
  7. Incredibly cute and creative!

    October 3, 2011
  8. super cute! i’m excited to bring these to a halloween party!

    October 3, 2011
    • I hope they all get a kick out of them at your party, Caroline!

      October 3, 2011
  9. those cauliflower brains are off the charts. so cool!

    October 3, 2011
    • They are pretty fun to make! Thank you 🙂

      October 3, 2011
  10. You are welcome, Cara. Yes, splurge on a delicacy, no less!

    October 3, 2011
  11. Freakishly clever. I love vegan eyeballs 🙂 Bahahaha. Great and ghoulash post.

    October 3, 2011
    • Who doesn’t dine on occasion on a vegan eyeball? I mean, you gotta splurge a little right? hehe. Thank you GiGi!

      October 3, 2011
  12. Oh my god.. this plate would be perfect for my Halloween party later this month… I love how you use simple list of steps for non cook like myself:)

    October 3, 2011
    • Ooooh, a party! I wanna come 🙂 hehe. You will be getting compliments to the unchef for this one!

      October 3, 2011
  13. Wow. Seriously creative and delicious. Halloween is my favorite holiday, we’ll have to make these. Thanks for sharing.

    October 3, 2011
    • Ahhh, it is my favorite too (hence my tendency to go overboard with this month!) Glad you like the platter 🙂

      October 3, 2011
  14. This is amazingly adorable! I noticed this on Find Vegan tumblr a while back, Brilliant!!

    October 2, 2011
    • Thank you so much! I am so glad that you were as entertained by it as I was 🙂

      October 3, 2011
  15. I haven’t seen these ideas before; so fun! Looking forward to your theme.

    October 2, 2011
    • Thank you Jenny! I look forward to hosting this Halloween party for ya 🙂

      October 2, 2011
  16. These are so awesome!

    October 2, 2011
    • Thank you Celyn 🙂

      October 2, 2011
  17. You are awesome!!! I love these snacks 🙂

    October 2, 2011
    • Oh Leslie, you are making me blush–thank you!

      October 2, 2011
  18. I love it! So creepy and cool looking! You have some awesome ideas, I need to follow your blog 🙂

    October 2, 2011
    • Thank you Elisabeth. I’m so glad that you like what you see here 🙂 Come follow, yes! ha

      October 2, 2011
  19. Oh my! My birthday is Halloween, and THIS party food makes me smile ^_^

    October 2, 2011
    • Then we are going to throw you the best birthday Halloween bash online, Becky!

      October 2, 2011
  20. Mo #

    How adorable is this?! I love it!

    October 2, 2011
    • Thank you so much Mo! xoxo

      October 2, 2011
  21. The nail on the carrot fingers makes it so creepy! My work makes a big deal of Halloween, so I’m keeping an eye on you.

    October 2, 2011
    • Stick with me, Molly Jade, I will be your Halloween guru 🙂

      October 2, 2011
  22. Mom #

    Who could ask for more….This looks like a party – what a imaginiation, sooooo cute!

    October 2, 2011
    • It must run in the family…

      October 2, 2011
  23. That is a party I want to go to! I think the cauli brains are my favorite, but it is tough to choose from so many amazing options. I can’t wait to see what else you do.

    October 2, 2011
    • I think it the brains are my fav too! I guess I should now actually have a party, huh? ha! Thank you for the comment!

      October 2, 2011
  24. So cute!! I’ll have to do this- all but the eyeballs, I’m not a fan of olives, nor do I care much for vegan dairy products, but I love the fingers and brains!

    October 2, 2011
    • I’m with you on the vegan dairy products! I use them sparingly–they are just nice to know you have that option, you know? 🙂 ha. Enjoy the brains and fingers. hehe

      October 2, 2011
  25. Awesome! Can’t wait to see what other Halloween goodies you’ll come up with.

    October 2, 2011
    • I am losing sleep already with ideas 🙂 It’s already driving me nutso but I love it. Thanks for the comment love, Sara! xoxo, Cara

      October 2, 2011
  26. These are so AWESOME!!!
    Happy MoFo’ing
    🙂

    October 2, 2011
    • Thank you Jeni! Happy MoFo’ing to you as well 🙂

      October 2, 2011
  27. Okay, that platter looks awesome. Love the cauli brains!

    October 1, 2011
    • Those are fun, aren’t they? Ha! They are fun to make as well. Thank you so much for checking them out, Andi!

      October 1, 2011
  28. This is awesome! I’m doing a horror movie themed MoFo, i’m going to keep my eye on your blog so I can link to some of your recipes.

    October 1, 2011
    • I love that idea, Katie! I will keep my eye on your blog as well…. Can’t wait to see what you have a’brewin’ 🙂

      October 1, 2011
  29. jd #

    Yoza, those are DEFINITELY creepy! Love it.

    October 1, 2011
  30. Vivian Cutler #

    Wow!!! How did you do that lettering? So Very Cool!!!

    October 1, 2011
    • From my best friend picnik.com!

      October 1, 2011
  31. Vivian Cutler #

    So Very Creative!!! What a Great Way to Start off October!!!! I am Ready Now for Halloween!!! Love All of these Dishes!!! Wonderful Job!!! Hugs Viv

    October 1, 2011
    • I’ve been ready for Halloween since last month; I can’t stand it! I’m peeing my pants with excitement 🙂

      October 1, 2011
  32. so cute!! and creative. Bravo.

    October 1, 2011
    • Thank you Kathy!! xoxo

      October 1, 2011
  33. the sister #

    ohmygauw!!!! dude! could you be any more creative????? sheesh. you should get paid for this….here’s five bucks. i’m broke. wish it was more!! love you sissy!

    October 1, 2011
    • I actually owe YOU money so save your 5 bucks 🙂 haha. Thanks sissy! You are the best 🙂

      October 1, 2011

Leave a comment