Skip to content

Kumquats are no longer for sissies.

I am going to admit that I am was a kumquat virgin.

This past Saturday was my very first experience tasting this miniature fruit

(do I also admit that I had to spit it out immediately because it was so sour? Hmmmmm, looks like I just did).

So when I realized that I just bought a basket of kumquats and I wasn’t all that crazy about eating them as is

(thank you Greg for making me buy things at the farmers’ market that I didn’t plan on getting),

I needed to do something with these albeit adorable, yet soured mini-orange dopplegangers.

So why not drench them in a sea of sugar water???

 *Cheers and applause*

Sugared Up Kumquats

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 basket kumquats (I believe it equated to approx 2 cups worth), cleaned
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1 c. sugar

DIRECTIONS

  1. Place water and sugar into a small sauce over medium heat and bring to a boil. Decrease heat to simmer and add kumquats.
  2. Make sure they never get to a boil; just a nice simmer and cook uncovered for 20 minutes.
  3. Allow to cool and place into a jar and refrigerate.

These little sweet, yet citrus-y delictables make a tasty little treat alone or topped on:

  • Yogurt (non-dairy)
  • Ice Cream (non-dairy)
  • Oatmeal
  • oooorrrrrr…. Pureed as a spread or flavoring as seen below. Wait for it…wait for it….

**CUPCAKES!!!***

I know you thought that I had given up on baking (I did too), butlet me tell you what I realized today in the kitchen.

Baking gluten and dairy free really has given me a new perspective on resiliency and stamina.

I made the sugared-up kumquats, a cake and 2 batches of cupcakes today.

Any time prior to going gluten-less,

I would have never done such a thing all in one day. I would have just read that on paper and have been exhausted.

But I find myself driven to actually understand the elements of gluten-free.

My patience and determination to persevere has changed. I am a little different as a person now.

I refuse to give up.

 It’s simply not an option anymore.

And eventually, no matter what it is:

baking, relationships, a talent, a new subject to learn–

it all comes together.

Even when you think it never will. It has to…eventually.

And maybe it won’t last forever, ultimately there are always new things to learn and understand,

but if you stick with something and refuse to throw the towel in, something works out.

Like THIS:

 Chocolate Quinoa Cupcakes with a Kumquat Buttercream Frosting

Chocolate Quinoa Cupcake Recipe

Modified from Bob’s Red Mill recipe on the package

Makes 12 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 1/4 c. Quinoa flour
  • 1/3 c. cocoa powder, unsweetended
  • 1/4 c. Earth Balance
  • 1/2 c. hemp milk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla
  • 2 Tbs silken tofu, blended or 3 tsp Ener-G egg replacer + 4 Tbs water, mix until frothy
  • 1/4 c. coconut milk yogurt (or other non-dairy yogurt)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Combine milk and butter in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Remove from heat and whisk the cocoa in until fully combined and smooth. Set aside to cool.
  2. Mix sugar, flour, salt, baking powder and soda together in a separate bowl.
  3. Combine egg yolks (or if using egg replacer), cocoa/butter mixture, vanilla and the yogurt till well mixed. Pour into flour mix and until just combined.
  4. Beat the eggwhites just until stiff peaks begin to form but make sure that you do not overdo it (you don’t want these puppies dried up eggwhites). Fold into the batter til combined.
  5. Place into cupcake liners. Bake at 375 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until cooked through.

***Please understand this, though. This recipe does call for quinoa flour. No other flours. Or starches. Or xantham gum. This is exactly what I have been looking for BUT if you do not like the taste of quinoa, use a different flour blend. Because guess what? It will taste a bit like quinoa while it is still warm (though as it cools, it becomes more masked). And it works GREAT in the cupcake.

The texture is crumbly and moist like normal wheat flour. JUST what I have been looking for!

I ate the entire thing!!! And I NEVER do that with the baked goods I make! 

Kumquat Buttercream Frosting Recipe

This will be enough to frost 6 cupcakes

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 c. shortening
  • 3 Tbs. Earth Balance
  • 3 Tbs. Better than Cream Cheese
  • 3 c. powdered sugar
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 4 Tbs pureed sugared-up kumquats (Take 1/4 c. of the sugared fruit, place in blender and puree)

DIRECTIONS

  1. With a hand mixer, blend all ingredients in a bowl.
  2. Place in a plastic baggie (for those of us who are not saavy on baking utensils) and chill 30 minutes.
  3. Cut one of the corners of the bag (a 1/2 ” slit) and pipe the frosting on top of the cupcake.

 Top the cupcake with frosting, crushed pistachios and a whole, sugary kumquat.

Enjoy the blend of chocolate and citrus flavors in your mouth.

And the sheer satisfaction of determination.

9 Comments Post a comment
  1. Rose #

    One word: scrumtrulescent.

    October 6, 2011
  2. Mom #

    How is it you never had a kumquat? I ate (still eat) them any time I can find them. Sometimes you can find they’re pretty sweet -okay, that’s relative. It’s making my mouth pucker just thing about them 🙂

    October 2, 2011
    • Because you raised me on Fruit Loops and Poptarts that’s why. Those were the closest to fruit flavors I ever came to. hahaha. Just kidding mom 🙂

      October 2, 2011
  3. Woah! First timer here on your blog and I’m in love! Definitely going to try these cupcakes.

    PS What kind of a camera do you use?

    September 8, 2011
    • Thanks Sarah!!! I’m so glad to hear that you are making yourself comfortable over here. Please do try the cupcakes–I hope you will like them as much as I did! About the camera, this is a funny answer. I seriously use a Sony point-and-shoot. I got it 4 years ago for Christmas and once I started this blog, I realized that I didn’t have the money for a fancy camera. So I work with what I have. Picnik.com and Photobucket.com are my best friends 🙂 xoxo, Cara

      September 8, 2011
  4. Ooooh, these look amazing! I actually don’t mind eating my kumquats as-is. But if I MUST put them in cupcake frosting, I must… Thank you for a cupcake recipe!!!

    September 8, 2011
    • You will LOVE them candied and pureed. I am a new fan! Hope you like them as I much I did…

      September 8, 2011
  5. Marjorie #

    Wow! That is a pretty cupcake! Can you mail me one so I can taste it? 🙂

    September 8, 2011
    • Ha!!! You got it, Marjorie. Or how about I hand deliver you one? Even better…

      September 8, 2011

Leave a comment