Skip to content

We’ll make great pets. And pasta salad.

Pet peeve #1: Rude people.

I grew up learning about manners. Heck, my dad gave me a book that was 5 inches thick for Christmas one year called, “Miss Manners.” (He also gave me mouse traps, a fake arm and a pair of Star Trek glasses that year so maybe that book isn’t saying much but it sure sounds as if I read it and followed its directions).

Truthfully, manners really was huge in my household growing up. I was always told to say “Please,” “Thank you,” and “Excuse me.” My parents taught me to respect others.

So I am always boggled by the manner-less. I don’t understand their rudeness.

It infuriates me really.

The world would be a better place if we all learned a few manners. And ate some pasta salad.

So while you tell me what your pet peeves are, I will tell you that pasta salad will be on your dinner menu tonight.

I know, shocker that it isn’t soup, right???

Guess what? Mother Nature read my last letter and replied. Here is her response:

Dear Cara,

If I give you warm weather will you promise to stop writing me letters?

Love, M.N.

Make this dinner and everyone will be thanking you and asking for seconds, please.

Which one is gluten-filled and which one is gluten-free? Can you tell the difference?

Garden Pasta Salad Recipe

Serves 4

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 c. cooked spiraled pasta
  • 1 c. diced tomatoes
  • 1/4 c. chopped cucumber
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • fresh basil, chopped

DIRECTIONS

  1. Gently toss all ingredients into a bowl.
  2. Add dressing. (recipe below)
  3. Serve.

Man, these recipes are too easy! 🙂

Dressing Recipe

  • 1/4 c. olive oil
  • 1/4 c. red wine vinegar
  • 1 Tb sugar
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • fresh thyme, chopped
  • fresh oregano, chopped

Whisk all the ingredients together. Done. Boom.

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Viv #

    The one on the right is Gluten-Free?

    September 10, 2011

Leave a comment