Skip to content

Pie for dinner? Yes please!

When I was overweight, I used to eat until my stomach  hurt.

That was my cue to stop eating.

I was so out of touch and not in-tune to my body that I had to rely on pain as my indicator.

Over the years, I have had to teach myself how to understand my body’s signal to put my fork down.

Since then, my belly and my waistline have thanked me.

Last night, however, I seemed to have forgotten everything that I have learned.

But hey, if you made this dinner, I promise you that you wouldn’t know when to stop either!

Maybe not the prettiest crust but don’t let it fool you. This has some of the best flavor I have yet to taste in a pot pie!

Perfect for a chilly, fall dinner.

Perfect for an empty, hungry belly.

Vegetable and Bean Pot Pie Recipe

Makes 4 fun, delicious individual pot pies

INGREDIENTS

For the pie crust:

  • 2 c. garbanzo/fava bean flour (or your favorit GF flour)
  • 2/3 c. tapioca starch
  • 2/3 c. potato starch
  • 1 tsp xantham gum (*optional–I didn’t use it and it turned out fine)
  • OR you can just use 3 cups of your favorite GF flour mix + 1/3 c. for filling
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2/3 c. shortening
  • 2/3 c. ice water

DIRECTIONS

  1. Combine flours, salt, xantham (if using) and baking powder in a large bowl until mixed thoroughly.
  2. Add shortening and stir until it is mixed into flour. You might need to get those fingers dirty and mix with your hands.
  3. Add the ice water in 1/3 c. at a time. You want it to just combine into the dough in order to make it stick together.
  4. Form into a ball. Divide into 4 balls. Flatten, cover and chill while you prepare the filling.

For the filling:

  • 3 c. vegetable broth
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 4 Tbs Earth Balance margarine
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 1 tsp dried thyme
  • 1/3 c. flour (reserve from crust mix)
  • 1/4 c. hemp milk (or other non-dairy milk)
  • 3 carrots, chopped, blanched
  • 5 stalks of asparagus, cut into 1″ pieces, blanched
  • 1  1/4 c. frozen peas
  • 1 can Great Northern beans, rinsed and drained
  • bunch of fresh parsley
  • Salt to season

DIRECTIONS

  1. First, allow the bay leaf to infuse into the vegetable broth by simmering the 2 together in a small saucepan.
  2. Saute your onions in the butter. Allow to sit for a good 12 minutes, stirring occassionally.
  3. Add paprika, thyme and flour into the onions. Stir until well mixed. Cook for 5 minutes. Add milk.
  4. Take the vegetable broth (bay leaf discarded) and add into the onions mix; along with the remainder of the ingredients (carrots, asparagus, peas, beans and parsely).  Bring to a boil and then simmer on low heat for 10 minutes.
  5. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.
  6. Roll out the dough in individual pieces by using wax paper on each side.
  7. Place the filling into large, individual oven-safe ramekins. Place the dough on top of ramekin by keeping the bottom lined with wax paper and slowly transferring it over. Pinch the edges in order to ensure that the dough is in place.
  8. Take a knife and place a few slits through the top. Brush with olive oil and bake for 40 minutes or until top has browned.
  9. Season with salt if needed.

I dare you to NOT eat all of it…

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. I can’t wait to try this! I think my kids would love it since they used to love chicken pot pie! 🙂

    January 6, 2012
    • This is seriously one of my favorite recipes ever. In fact I was just thinking about making it tonight 🙂 Thanks for the comment, Nikki! xo

      January 6, 2012
  2. Would love to have pie for dinner! Thanks for sharing the recipe 🙂

    September 23, 2011
    • You got it, Shannon!

      September 24, 2011
  3. Kevin (my boyfriend) would LOVE this. When he travels for business he has chicken pot pie or steak, no matter what. Sliding a couple of beans in his day means misson accomplished in my books!

    September 22, 2011
    • That just made me laugh! Kevin is a-okay in my book 🙂

      September 22, 2011

Leave a comment