Skip to content

Vegan Caramels

It has officially begun…

Halloween season has started in this household and I couldn’t be any more excited!

To celebrate the kick off, what better way to say “Hello Halloween!” than to start with some vegan caramels.

I thought you’d be pleased as well.

First let me say that if you want some super delicious coconut-y caramel with a hint of salt, order some from Allison’s Gourmet.

They are rich, creamy, with a touch of coconut that is a sure contender to the regular non-vegan caramel.

(I’m sparingly eating mine like it’s a ration of war).

But because of its high cost, I thought I should try to make my own… (plus I want to make caramel apples this season! Who doesn’t??!)

I searched high and low to figure out how to veganize caramels and I found that most sites offer the same recipe so I couldn’t go wrong.

Vegan Caramel Recipe

Adapted from this recipe from Dog Hill Kitchen (which was taken from The Glad Cow Cookbook).

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 c. coconut milk (or non-dairy milk of choice)
  • 1/2 c. brown sugar
  • 1/2 c. Earth Balance
  • 1/4 c. light corn syrup
  • 1/4 c. agave
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Throw all the ingredients for the caramel (EXCEPT the vanilla extract) into a saucepan and melt on medium heat. Stir continuously. Once mixture begins to boil, add candy thermometer. Leave alone without stirring until it reaches between 270-290* F (beginning of hard ball phase).
  2. Remove from heat and stir in vanilla.
  3. Pour onto parchment paper-lined 8×8 pan (or your choice, depending how thick you want your caramels to be).
  4. Allow to cool for 10 minutes. Chill in fridge 30-ish minutes or until set.
  5. Cut into squares or rectangles with kitchen scissors, wrap in wax paper and store in fridge.

I’m going to keep messing around with this recipe.

It’s a great base and I think it is really decent but for my taste buds, it needs an extra “ooompff”, you know what I mean?

Regardless, I’ll take it! These will be great coated on some apples, for sure!

DID I MENTION THAT I LOVE THIS SEASON???!

eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

6 Comments Post a comment
  1. allisonriverssamson #

    I’m thrilled that you enjoyed and mentioned our caramels, Cara! Thank you. So glad you are capable of rationing too. At Allison’s Gourmet, we recommend eating sweets sparingly and saving up for the very best, which are made with care using simple, all-vegan, organic and fair trade ingredients. We’ll be waiting for you. 🙂
    Of course if you’re up for the task of making your own, I’m all for that–time in the kitchen is a great source of goodness and joy. It is in my life, anyway!

    October 18, 2012
  2. Wow; very creative and fun! Perfect for the upcoming Halloween holiday. I think I’ll try making these for the trick or treaters!

    September 18, 2011
    • Hopefully you won’t be eating all of them before the trick or treaters arrive. I’m having that problem, myself… I guess I will have to make more 🙂 Hope you like them too!

      September 18, 2011
  3. mhmm! yum!

    September 18, 2011
  4. kenyers #

    my address is 10701 dot dot dot.
    I’ll take a handful please…….YUMMMM!!!!!

    September 17, 2011

Leave a comment